Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing food & forsight from Rhodes and a Scotch Egg!, 11 Mar. 2011
By 
stephen camps (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
Considering this work was written in 1999 (at height of BSE crisis and ban of beef sold on bone etc.) this book is as relevant today as back then. Perhaps now, even more so as we're all foodies today and Brit cusine has finally found its mojo and people have embraced our traditional dishes again.You kynow with Gary you'll get strict methodology and step by step instructions in preparation to produce wonderful food. He's had some tough press but this book shows that even in 1998/99 he had the forsight to see that British food had been dealt a duff draw and by using quality ingredients and re-visiting the classics such tasty food could be made. Standouts for me include stunning beef dishes including the best Oxtail and Steak pie & pudding you'll ever cook. Some fantastic puddings including his signature jam roly poly and some great Britsh savouries including that 2010/2011 fashionista - the Scotch Egg! This chef knows his onions, and with the state of Brit food as is, this is more relevant today than is was when published! If I were him I'd get a hardback re-print out there today or even a slightly revised version and bring in the bacon now food culture has moved on so much. Yum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent cook book for anyone not on a diet., 29 Feb. 2000
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully presented book by a talented chef, containing recipes that celebrate the best of English cooking, interpreted in a vibrant fashion. However, for anyone who has to be careful about the intake of sugar and fats, such as diabetics, it is suitable only for food orientated fantasies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten out of ten for Gary Rhodes, 23 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
I have been collecting cookery books, of all types of food, for over twenty years. This ranks as one of the best. I bought it about 2 weeks ago and already have had friends fighting over who gets the last piece of baked egg custard !!! The book is well presented; beautiful photos, but not too many; hepful instructions and tips. A "must have" for any cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 30 Jan. 2008
By 
CDG (London UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
A true Master Chef - I own practically all Gary Rhodes cookery books and use them quite regularly. As with all his books, the recipes are accurate,and, as far as I am concerned, all translate from book to plate perfectly. Here is a true and committed cook, unafraid to pass on not only his wonderful recipes but many techniques that the reader is lucky enough to learn without putting in the years that this Michelin star hero has invested. The book makes wonderful food reading if the purchase is for that reason only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As relevant as Delia's How To Cook, 1 Nov. 2009
By 
Richard D. Gale "RikkiG" (Cwmbran) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
For enthusiasts or novices, this book presents everyday food and cooking techniques in an way that compels the reader to try and re-create some of Britain's best known dishes and delicacies. Gary has always taken pride in the "finished product" of his efforts, and through this book, shares that desire for self-satisfaction with the reader. No cookbook shelf should be without this brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done Gary, 22 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
Both myself and my boyfriend have now tried many of the fantastic recipes in this book. The scallops with black pudding is delicious, but we simplify it by just adding the tarragon sauce - you really dont need the orange sauce as well.
The honey duck with mash potato sauce is actually quite easy yet impressive, and the raspberry sponge puddings only take 5 minutes but look and taste great! The only disaster was the trifle recipe - it was so sweet and heavy that it was almost inedible.
All in all a good book for entertaining and special meals at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best recipe book I have read., 11 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
Mr. Rhodes has taken the best of British food, the things that we know and love, and has taken them a little further. Because the basic recipe is familiar, one feels confident to try the new technique or presentation or ingredient. My family have been delighted with the results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book about British food, 8 Aug. 2010
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
This book is a wonderful insight into British food. Gary's knowledge of this cuisine is vast and shows his passion for it. I like how he explains the history of how different foods have evolved into the cuisine we know today. The recipes are also nop notch as you would expect from a chef of Gary's status. One complaint is that the recipes can be a little harder to read than some other cookbooks as it is in continuous text. I got this book second hand for £5, but was like new, what a bargin. Anyone who has a bad view of British food should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars true british classics, 23 Aug. 2005
This review is from: New British Classics (Paperback)
very easy to cook, very, very delicious and as i said true british classic. the ingredients are mostly available in any supermarket so no excuse not to cook from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 7 Aug. 2011
By 
Jackal (New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New British Classics (Paperback)
I am no fan of British cuisine, but I would definitely love to eat all the food in this book. This BBC project was obviously very prestigious for the chef, so a lot of effort is put into this book. It covers all the British classics but also gives some options of how to modernise the dishes. The modernisation is all very modest, like drizzling some hazelnut oil in the mashed potatoes. The book is chock-full of recipes, notes, and additional advice. In addition, you can feel how enthusiastic the chef is about British food. Five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New British Classics
New British Classics by Gary Rhodes (Paperback - 6 Sept. 2001)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews