Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 23 Jan 2001
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
Bought this book just after Christmas (aftre many hints to family and friends that I would like it and no one took me up on the NOT so subtle hints!!).
Its a beautifuly written piece of work. When reading it you soon get a feel for Gary's love of british food, which then encourages you to have a go!!
So far Bread and Buuter pudding, Rice Pudding and the amazing Chicken Sanwich have been tasted and tested... all were delicious! Today is the turn of homemade crumpets and at the weekend its time for Rack On Black!!
Totally reccommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book at an amazing price, 5 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
I am an avid cook and watched all the TV series which accompanies the book. I thought the price was great - I've just ordered a second copy for my Mum for her birthday! An excellent book- classic recipes without being too old fashioned or staid, together with loads of great ideas for interesting food without the ingredients being too weird or difficult to buy. Well photographed, with lots of accompanying tips and hints with the recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll love it, 15 Nov 2005
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New British Classics (Paperback)
I love this book and you will too. Gary Rhodes is the king of classic food and if there's one cookery book that will give you all those british classics together then this is it. His instructions are easy to follow and the ingredients are all available in your local supermarket so that's two excuses you can't use for avoiding cooking some of these brilliant dishes. The illustrations are wonderful and the desciption of the recipes origin is a lovely touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, easy to follow recipes with everyday ingredients, 8 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
This is an excellent recipe book, with easy to follow recipes. The ingredients and utensils used are mainly everyday things found in the kitchen cupboard. We have a family butchers and were only happy to oblige with peoples request for the pork alternative to Christmas turkey. A winner for experienced cooks and those who want to try something new!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gary Rhodes - New British Classics, 24 Feb 2004
This review is from: New British Classics (Paperback)
Fantastic Book full of wonderful recipes (have been trying them out on the unsuspecting family with very favourable results). Nice touch with the addtional information on each recipe, its origin and alternatives that will work just as well. Better buy two copies as one is certain to get well used and like mine covered in flour etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'Must' for the Keen Cook, 22 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
When I saw the photos in the book I thought they looked a bit daunting - could I produce something so professional?
Don't be put off. The recipes are easy to follow and, whilst some are time-consuming, the end product is a delight - both to taste and look at.
The background information included ahead of particular topics makes the book a good read as well as a source of information.
Top tips from the book are the Steak and 'Kidney' pie (tastes wonderful and gives everyone a surpise as it comes in two distinct parts: steak with its own kidney pie) and White Lamb Stew. Such innovation is a mark of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent food, excellent recipes, expensive inredients, 14 Jan 2002
By 
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
Gary Rhodes has truly turned out a cornucopia of mouth-watering treats and delights in the wonderful book! It sets a new trend, by encouraging, and updating some of the great classics of Britian.
The book was written for people who are comfortable in the kitchen, and some of the recipes could be a bit daunting for a first time cook. Be prepared to commit a healthy amount of your time to the recipes, as they are somewhat more time consuming than you would find in other recipes. But that is the whole point: by using a bit more time, and high quality ingredients, Gary Rhodes can turn your home-cooked meal into a first-class affair.
One criticism is that some of the ingredients used are a bit expensive. His Fish pie uses some cuts of fish that were qute extravagant (I had to preorder them from my fishmonger, as they are not normally stocked). A guide to ordering some of the less available ingredients would have been helpful. Also, some of the cuts of lamb and beef are also a bit on the dear side. But again, this goes back to better quality for a better meal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cookbook I�ve Seen in 20 Years, 6 Dec 2002
By 
Imperial Topaz (Marrakesh, Morocco) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
I am an American who owns over 300 cookbooks, and I consider myself a gourmet cook. On a recent trip to Britain, I scoured bookstores and chose this book over all the others. I'm glad I did. I have to say, this is absolutely the BEST cookbook I have come across in the past 20 years.
This book is not as comprehensive as The Joy of Cooking, which tries to tell you how to cook absolutely everything under the sun. But this book IS inclusive of everything that's important in classic British Cooking (and in traditional American cooking, as well)-soups, sauces, cheese and eggs, vegetables, fish, meat, poultry, picnics, puddings, cakes and baking, and preserves and pickles. In addition, it has chapters on The Great British Breakfast, Savories and Snacks, Sunday Lunch Roasts, A Festive Christmas, and Afternoon and High Tea.
As an American, I learned SO much from this book. I learned about the ORIGIN of bacon and eggs for breakfasts, about the histories of many different vegetables (quite different information than is included in The Joy of Cooking), HOW and WHY British cuisine got a reputation for being bland (it wasn't always so), and many things about the history of eating which have just been plainly lost to us in America. For example, I did not know before that the origin of certain foods sometimes being served on a piece of toast was from the "trenchers" used in medieval times--"trenchers" being big slabs of bread which were laid directly on the table, and food put on top. The reason for the use of trenchers was that plates were too expensive for ordinary people to use. Not only are so many interesting discussions about the origins of different foods and customs included in this book, but ALL the recipies are interesting and FANTASTIC!
British readers will enjoy the depth and style of this book, while American readers will really learn a lot about the origin of our own traditional cuisine. I will treasure this book for many years. I am buying four more copies to give as gifts this Christmas. I bought the paperback edition. This book is so wonderful and will be used for so many years, that I highly recommend to other readers to spend the extra money and get a hardcover edition, if it is available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent cook book for anyone not on a diet., 29 Feb 2000
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully presented book by a talented chef, containing recipes that celebrate the best of English cooking, interpreted in a vibrant fashion. However, for anyone who has to be careful about the intake of sugar and fats, such as diabetics, it is suitable only for food orientated fantasies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb title, excellent price, fantastic recipes, 19 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: New British Classics (Hardcover)
Gary Rhodes has excelled himself with this title. The layout is beautifully designed. The descriptions of the recipies themselves will have you heading for your kitchen. When Gary Rhodes is on form, no one can touch him. The star recipe for me in this collection is the one for frozen chips. Quite superb. I believe his restaurants are overwhelmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3cd887c)

This product

New British Classics
New British Classics by Gary Rhodes (Paperback - 6 Sep 2001)
15.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews