Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple pleasure
I was given a copy of this recording as a child and recently re-purchased on a whim of nostalgia. It is simply perfect. The piece starts (as it continues) with a wonderful little dialogue between the narrator and Bilbo (as Mr. Baggins continually interrupts), and this kind of twee charm pervades the whole recording. The voices are wonderful - Thorin and Gollum my...
Published on 2 Dec 2009 by N. W. Price

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but it left me a little dissappointed
I've long been a fan of J R R Tolkien, ever since picking this book up when I was in primary school. The book of 'The Hobbit' is a delight for both adults and children, not as serious or epic as its sequel 'The Lord of the Rings', it's a much more compact and flows at a quicker pace. I have looked long and hard for a dramatised version and knowing the BBCs reputation for...
Published on 16 April 2008 by Mr. G. J. Pugh


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 19 Jan 2013
By 
amoeba (caught somewhere in time) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: BBC Radio Full-cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
This is good, but it was not what I was looking for. I eventually found that what I wanted was the Nicol Williamson version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction for children, 11 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Hobbit: BBC Radio Full-cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
I bought this for my children after we borrowed a copy from the library and they were hesitant to return it. I provides a wonderful introduction to the fascinating tale of Bilbo Baggins. The dramatisation really brings the characters and the story to life. The CDs are just the right length for one each night as a bedtime story. It is lovely to hear them laugh along with the jokes, and gasp at the adventure. Recommended for children everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC Audio Hobbit Review, 12 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Hobbit: BBC Radio Full-cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
This dramarised version of the Hobbit is simply enchanting. Music and humour are gently interwoven to create a superb atmosphere. Listen to it on a long journey or at home, lying on the bed with the no lights on and imagine yourself in Middle Earth......recommended for any one over the age of 8, my children loved the story and it kept them car sick free and quiet on many a long journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 12 Nov 2014
This review is from: The Hobbit: BBC Radio Full-cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
NICE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LEGENDARY!!!, 10 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Hobbit: BBC Radio Full-cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
This book is truely my title: LEGENDARY.
JRR Tolkien's imagination stretched to it's limit to create this extraordinary book, and masterpiece, and the moment I opened the first page I could not put it down.
All you can do is marvel at the genious of Tolkien: for how can just one person, with half a century create so many classics and, like I said, legends?
If you've read 'Lord of the Rings' then you must have read this. For this prequel is as good, or even, some believe, better than LotR, because if it wasn't for this book LotR would not be, as it was here that Bilbo found his 'special' ring.
This book involves Bilbo Baggins, and his attempt to steal the treasure under the Lonely Mountain, which is merely guarded by a fire-breathing-Dragon. To add to this danger he, and a group of fellow dwarfs (including Gloin, father of Gimli, who is a main character in LotR) must find there way to the mountain, with a little help from the well know Wizard- Gandalf, past huge Mountain Trolls, Armies of Goblins, packs of Wolves, hundreds of Man-eating spiders, and the Woodland Elves.
They get captured countless times and death is always narrowly avoided, but do they make it to the mountain and reclaim the treasure, once stolen from the dwarfs, by the evil Dragon?
Read it and see the future that awaits them.
AN ABSOLUTE MUST BUY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst audio book, 31 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: BBC Radio Full-cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
This is not worth buying unless you want nostalgia from your childhood. It has a medieval setting but the voices are awful - even worse is the singing of the verses from the story (its more like listening to the characters from the old Goon Show or cats fighting)Bilbo is irritating and can't even say Gandalf but keeps referring to Gan-Dalf. Fast forward is a must.
I would recommend you try a different version and don't waste money on this one - I have had to give up listening after the first CD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weird, confusing, hippie, 19 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: The Hobbit: BBC Radio Full-cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Got about 5 minutes through the library copy before I realized it was stuck somewhere in the 60s and I couldn't follow the plot. The non-dramatised Hobbits available are much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT VERY GOOD BBC RADIO DRAMATISATION!!!!!, 22 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: BBC Radio Full-cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
this audio book has had very good reviews but i found it very boring indeed. i love radio dramas but this has to be the worst radio drama i have ever heard!!! terrible backround music and the intro music is as irritating as hell!!! no way is this the best bbc radio adaption of any of the bbc radio dramas. i found it very hard to listen to and found myself listening to it every other day. i will keep it though and maybe listen to it again sometime in the future to see can i find myself liking it and maybe i will delete this review for a good one. but for the time being BORING AS HELL!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hobbit: BBC Radio Full-cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection)
£20.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews