Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh just buy it
If you are the sort of faintly unhinged and nonsensical person who likes their comedy equally unhinged and nonsensical, a la Reeves and Mortimer, buy this now, but don't expect to get your life back. You'll wander around, muttering about the Spirit of Jazz leaping from a minim, or Uncle Pedro the fisherman who only fishes "in my miiiind", or Tommy the back-of-the-spoon...
Published on 31 July 2005 by Rudy Manchego

versus
10 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the work of two flimsy tarts in a trance
Aaaah, the Mighty Boosh. As other reviewers have noted, its rather hard to describe exactly what the Mighty Boosh is all about. I first become accqainted with what it is that they do via their second series on Radio 4 a few years back - I can't recall a thing about it, except that it was hysterically funny. I then heard them making a guest appearance improvising...
Published on 29 Mar. 2005 by spiderboris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious zoo antics not to be tried at home..., 24 Nov. 2004
By 
Brian Beatty - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
Bob Fossil is my new hero. Howard and Vince, too, inspire me. The animals I can do without, thank you. This brilliant radio series deserved to be released in its entirety by the BBC on three artfully decorated compact discs. And it was. Will wonders never cease? I only wish that I lived in the UK to stand and sleep nearer these possessed comedic geniuses. But alas I am forced by law to reside in the United States. The law of physics, I believe it is. Or perhaps it's thermodynamics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boosh, 29 Dec. 2004
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant, not for most people though. The insanity of the jokes may bewilder and annoy the more serious listener, if your looking for 'Dads Army' or 'Keeping up Appearences' don't buy this. If your more of a 'League of Gentleman'or 'Monkey Dust' fan, this would be perfect for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - new comedy at its best, 26 Dec. 2004
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
This is wild stuff - but it is so funny - these guys are going to go far. The CDs are excellent and the full series is there, thank goodness not messed around with, as well as some extras, which in this case are quite fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genius, 29 Sept. 2005
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
Probably the most hilarious cd you'll ever listen to. I loves it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the work of two flimsy tarts in a trance, 29 Mar. 2005
By 
spiderboris (The cold, empty void between stars) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
Aaaah, the Mighty Boosh. As other reviewers have noted, its rather hard to describe exactly what the Mighty Boosh is all about. I first become accqainted with what it is that they do via their second series on Radio 4 a few years back - I can't recall a thing about it, except that it was hysterically funny. I then heard them making a guest appearance improvising terrifying nonsense on The Breezeblock one night on radio 1, including a song that has entirely corrupted my brain - I now wander around mumbling,'everybody look at the moon, nobody look at Jupiter' to myself on a daily basis. But the first Boosh Radio show is, like the recent TV series, rather hit and miss. Barrat and Fielding's own approach to comedy seems to involve coming up with the most warped and illogical plot they possibly can (break into Zoo manager Bob Fossil's secret mountain hideaway and rescue some bacon-obsessed mutants, anyone?)and inventing and endless stream of dadaist non-sequiters for Vince and Howard to fire at each other as they debate what unhinged ploy toembark upon next. The series certainly has its moments - Howard's demented deadpan boasting about being a Jazz Maverick, the drum n' bass cobra and Howard accusing Vince of 'living in a Chinese pipe' - but their use of language, while fascinatingly strange, usually seems to go round in circles, with animals - usually horses or those pesky ocelots - endlessly being used as an easy source of odd comedy. I would still recommend it to fans of Chris Morris, the Goons, Monty Python, Bill Bailey and anyone who has ever laughed at the idea of a pony's hooves being relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really great ... boosh, 8 Jan. 2005
By 
Jonathan Head (Halesowen, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely hilarious radio series, but it is essential to have the sense of humour that could stomach shows like the League of Gentlemen. The quality of the funny weirdness in this show is was puts it above par, however there are certain problems.
Often, certain songs in the shows can be quite boring and monotonouus (though most are usually short) but just seem pointless overall. Also, the source of the jokes such as Howard's inane boasting and Vince's style of clothing seem to be used over and over. I believe that the jokes from the latter also worked alot better in the TV series.
This is still hilarious listening, however, but is an acquired taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bah!!, 9 Oct. 2008
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
Un-funny comedy turds straight from the horse's backside of contemporary modern comedy!!

This will remain un-funny until the day I pop my clogs. They should have quit when they are ahead, 8 years ago.

Big haired attempt at comedy for students and drop-out's alike.

Oh for Derek & Clive!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks)
The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) by N Fielding J Barratt (Audio CD - 1 Nov. 2004)
Used & New from: £6.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews