Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh just buy it
If you are the sort of faintly unhinged and nonsensical person who likes their comedy equally unhinged and nonsensical, a la Reeves and Mortimer, buy this now, but don't expect to get your life back. You'll wander around, muttering about the Spirit of Jazz leaping from a minim, or Uncle Pedro the fisherman who only fishes "in my miiiind", or Tommy the back-of-the-spoon...
Published on 31 July 2005 by Rudy Manchego

versus
10 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the work of two flimsy tarts in a trance
Aaaah, the Mighty Boosh. As other reviewers have noted, its rather hard to describe exactly what the Mighty Boosh is all about. I first become accqainted with what it is that they do via their second series on Radio 4 a few years back - I can't recall a thing about it, except that it was hysterically funny. I then heard them making a guest appearance improvising...
Published on 29 Mar 2005 by spiderboris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Boosh tastic :), 20 Feb 2011
By 
Miss E. Chambers "Hearts&Handcuffs" (Newcastle upon Tyne, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
it's surreal, being a radio series i think it's more adventurous than the tv series as the listener can picture the scenarios in their heads, and it's a lot cheaper to make than a tv series. this is a lot like series 1 as vince and howard work in the zoo under bob fossil, but it's practically all new material.

a lot of this is laugh-out-loud funny, even if you've listened to it a few times.

this is great to have on your mp3 player, cd player and just chill out with this feel good 3 cd set, it's definately one for the fans and for people unfamiliar with the boosh, several hours of brilliant comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A look back, 6 Aug 2011
By 
Paul McNamee "Rambleast Reviews" (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
As quickly as I fell in love with The Mighty Boosh I learned to loathe it. Looking back, it was a combination of a decline in quality and the association with an unsavoury fandom I hastened to distance myself from - giddy teens, every other person lauding the duo for how "random" they were or spouting the worst of show's quickly developing catchphrases. As much as I enjoyed the first series, the second was a disappointment and the national tour was an embarrassment of faux improv and recycled ideas (and at least the fifth time the "Tundra" plot was used). I've watched an episode here and there since then but haven't bothered with anything after those first 8 episodes, except for this - a six-episode radio series for BBC 4.

Having listened to it twice this week already, I'm quite in awe of how enjoyable it still is. Quite a ways off from the gaudy indulgence of later televised efforts, the radio show (or The Boosh, as it was originally broadcast) holds the magic and wonder of children's stories - set in the zoo of the first TV series, the episodes see the pair (bolstered as ever by the honestly unique talents of the incomparable Rich Fulcher) in forests, jungles, mountainside terrain and dealing with all manner of nonsense. It's well written and easy to follow, and most importantly it's very, very funny. The sense you get from The Boosh is that it was largely improvised, and the joy of hearing the pair crack up occasionally at one of each others' typical similes (perfectly described by a fellow reviewer as "dadaist non-sequiturs") makes their abundance worthwhile ("Jenny Rind Hoops" springs quickly to mind). Fulcher's dialogue in particular seems to stem from some abominable comic void of absolute near-genius - obnoxious, innocent and unbearably amusing, he is the true star of this show and its true benefactor.

You'll find similarities if you've seen the TV series: Vince's fondness for crap music, Howard's for Jazz; Howard's journey into the Arctic; escapades with mutants and forgotten, lost mentors. That the jokes are mostly exclusive to this series is in its favour, as though the general plotting would be lifted wholesale for the jump to screen, the scripting (to whatever extent it existed) comes from a time long before fame, success and a bizarre circle of self-influence spoiled this great act. Good enough to recommend to those who disliked the TV series quite frankly. Oh, and the songs are killer, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for helpless giggling, 18 Dec 2007
By 
A. Langston (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
These are wonderful CDs. I've listened to all the episodes many times, and still giggle helplessly. Best comedy out there. Long live Tony the Prawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mightiest of Comedies, 29 July 2005
By 
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
The Boosh is pure genius. As cliche as that sounds, in this case it is completely true. It is so hilariously surreally wonderfully brilliant that it is hard to believe that two mere mortals (being of course Julian Barratt and Noel Fielding) came up with it. MORE BEAUTIFUL THAN A BULLET-PROOF VEST AGAINST YOUR NAKED SKIN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My arm, it crumbles as if it were cracker bread!, 12 Aug 2006
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
Simply the funniest and most inventive comdey you'll ever hear. The genius of this is just mind-blowing. You'll laugh until you fall over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuance Of Goon Show Traditional Values, 13 Dec 2006
By 
Ms. H. Topliss "Dr Morbius" (Burton On Trent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
Howdy...

Yeah yeah I know too many reviews on this page, but then with something as "Classy" as The Boosh, what can you expect?

So we have Howard and Vince, one Jazz Skatter and A Self Obsessed Electro Boy/Girl.

The two ride around with the show on their back, not quite like a man, but certainly they hit you like a train in the night.

I watch loads of comedies, Father Ted, Blackadder, Gimme Gimme Gimme, LOGents, Bottom, The Young Ones, Monty Python.

If you (Like me) love these shows then you should get on with Howard and Vince like mother bitches!

So the first series hit me, Zooniverse, I get that, good idea to have the series based in one place. IMO the second series looses out on a base of operations (Although the flat could be considered "The Zooniverse")

They go on mad cap jaunts through life, discussing the finer points of Bee Bop, the use of "Root Booster" to attatin the perfect Mullet. And also how to calm a Llama down.

The Goon Show , well I can see a few parallels. The nonsense for a start. If yu like comedies which make some sort of logical sense look elsewhere. The "What Time Is It Eccles" speech could fit into the Zooniverse and still have time to comb Vince's hair!

I was so proud of Julian and Noel, they seem to get a situation and completely randomise it. For instance, ever heard of a coconut murder? Ever heard of Cheese Dreams?

Or have you?

Buy this CD, put it next to The Goon Show Collection on your shelf, sandwich inbetween The League Of Gents and The Goon Show's "Volume 23, The Case Of The Missing Heir"

Yes the boosh is THAT GOOD!

Enjoy...

And dont forget, if you ever see a peruvian trombonist in the street with his girlfreind... its probably Howard and Vince!

Love

Dr M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars booooooooooooooosssssssssssssssssshhhhhhhhhh!!!!, 5 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
if you are a booshist you'll love this, pure cretive genius. this is similar in places to the first tv series interms of plot and there are a fair few bits that are identical, but it's still a joy to sit and listen to the boosh. just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure class, 9 Feb 2008
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
This is genius from start from to finish. It made me laugh out loud so often I got strange looks from people around me!

Do yourself a favour and get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There was NOTHING before this!, 8 Mar 2007
By 
L. Hayes (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
O.K. nothing is a strong word, we all love some classic comedy (Python, Youg Ones, Reeves & Mortimer) but this, oh yes this IS genius, absolutely the funniest and wittiest thing I have ever heard. Don't even bother reading this just buy it, you'll be anoying everyone you meet in no time by spouting on about Vince and Howards every word. Me and my mates constantly and I do mean constantly speel off bits of this script all the time it's infused into our brains we are Boosh mutants and not ashamed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious zoo antics not to be tried at home..., 24 Nov 2004
By 
Brian Beatty - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
Bob Fossil is my new hero. Howard and Vince, too, inspire me. The animals I can do without, thank you. This brilliant radio series deserved to be released in its entirety by the BBC on three artfully decorated compact discs. And it was. Will wonders never cease? I only wish that I lived in the UK to stand and sleep nearer these possessed comedic geniuses. But alas I am forced by law to reside in the United States. The law of physics, I believe it is. Or perhaps it's thermodynamics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks)
The "Mighty Boosh" (BBC Audiobooks) by N Fielding J Barratt (Audio CD - 1 Nov 2004)
14.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews