Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Vintage Whodunnit
I don't personally tend to be very fond of the early Christie novels overall. They usually seem a bit lightweight, a bit too sparse and economical, and too full of Bright Young Things making glib jokes and arch comments all the time. There is a bit of that in 'The Sittaford Mystery', (published in 1931), but on the whole this is a very readable mystery novel. Set in a...
Published on 6 April 2006 by S. Hapgood

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of her best
But it has its moments. The South African Willetts are accused of being typical colonials - their hospitality is too effusive. Mrs W wears a knitted suit that is just a little too dressy for the country. What was her "afternoon frock" like, I wonder? Emily (trying to solve the mystery and get her fiancee off the hook) cries on her landlady's shoulder to get some...
Published 17 months ago by L. R. Fisher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing ending, 18 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book after reading raving reviews here on amazon. That's one of the many Christie books I've read, so I'm not new to her writing style. That may be precisely why I found this book to be a big disappointment: after building up a story that's ever so exciting throughout the book, the ending revealing the murderer (through self appointed detectives, as this isn't one of her Poirot / Marples) just didn't make any sense to me. My humble opinion is that both Christie fans and readers new to her books are better off with other titles instead - the Sittaford mystery just isn't her finest piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another easy to read and gripping book from A. Christie :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good novel, annoying edition on KIndle, 3 Dec. 2013
By 
Isabel Noronha "I Ramos" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It would be great if Amazon would actually try and ensure that the integrity of the text is not lost when the book goes into Kindle format. This one has the same problems of others - words bundled together, that kind of thing. The novel is good, I quite like the main female character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sittaford Mystery Book versus The Sittaford Mystery Television Adaption, 21 Nov. 2008
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is the second time in writing a review after having watched the television adaption of an Agatha Christie novel. Something draws me into comparing what it should have been like on the television. In the case of this book, the television has merely stolen some elements of the book, the characters names, and threw it all up in the air put Miss Marple in and come out with a completely different plot, setting, weather, back story and murderer.

Putting any TV adaptations to one side, this is an Agatha Christie book which does not have a main detective and relies on the character and wilful nature of Emily Trefusis who is out to prove that her fiancée, Jim Pearson her true love has not killed Captain Trevelyan, and that he is entirely innocent except for some rather silly dealings within his own work.

Christie, places us in Sittaford a very small village in Devon, near a high security prison, with very few shops and house but plenty of gossips who know exactly what is going on and observes everything and everyone. Where would these types of books be without the gossipy observers? There is a prisoner escape from the prison, who escapes because he knows he does so as there is someone on the village waiting for him. The table-turning (séance) draws the main residents and subsequently the main suspects to Sittaford House, Captain Trevelyan's house that he has let out for the winter for a good sum.

The séance predicts something and from there the story picks up pace as the police through Inspector Narracott official investigations and Emily Trefusis through her more than amateur sleuthing come to the conclusion that sees the murderer caught.

The only down side for me with this book was that the reason for the murder seemed quite weak and feeble, but then people have probably murdered for less. A very different sort of Christie book from a Marple and Poirot but good nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural Sleuthings at Sittaford, 29 April 2001
One of Christie's less-known books - and surprisingly good. The traditional setting of a snow-bound English village is very well-done. The characterisation boasts such gems as the young amateur detectives Emily Trefusis (engaged to the innocent man arrested for his uncle's murder) and the journalist Charles Enderby, much more successful than the garishly "Bright Young Things" Tommy and Tuppence; the domineering spinster Miss Percehouse; the invalid Captain Wyatt (who shoots real or imaginary cats); and the powerful Mrs. Gardner, sister to the murdered Captain Trevelyan, whose life is revealed as an illusion (in a deft piece of VERY un-Christieish pessimism and irony). The romance - the question of whether Emily will marry Enderby or her fiance, arrested for the murder of his uncle, and whose innocence Emily is attempting to prove - is subtly managed. The supernatural (a rare element in Christie's work) comes in the form of the seance, the message spelling "CAPTAIN TREVELYAN ... DEAD ... MURDER..." summoning Trevelyan's friend Major Burnaby to discover the corpse - there are some very good atmospheric set pieces. The plotting is excellent, with a good spread of suspicion and equally good misdirection, although the fact that everyone in the village turns out to be (in)directly related to the victim (and to each other) is rather improbable; and even the escaped convict is well-done, clearly intended as an homage to Conan Doyle's HOUND OF THE BASKERVILLES. The only down point is that the well-hidden killer has insufficient motive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Feb. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well read and produced Good story. I really enjoyed Good not to have a Marple or Poirot in it with some echoes of thhe Hound of the Baskervilles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sittaford Mystery by Agatha Christie, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Sittaford Mystery by Agatha Christie has a very good plot and I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in murder mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY FAVOURITE CHRISTIE, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite story from Agatha Christie, possibly because it is a winters' tale and murder seems morel ikely to me in winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sittaford Mystery (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
very good entertaining cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is Anybody There?, 22 April 2012
I started reading this believing it was a Poirot book, it wasn't. Although I believe Mrs Marple was the main character in one of the tv adaptions.

There was none of the dry humour which is typical of the Poirot books (that's why I like him so much) but it is a very good plot and immensely readable. I liked DI Naracott.

Overall a highly enjoyable and well crafted story. Agatha Christie is such a master of her craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sittaford Mystery (BBC Radio Collection)
The Sittaford Mystery (BBC Radio Collection) by Agatha Christie (Audio CD - 19 July 2004)
£13.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews