Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Vintage Whodunnit
I don't personally tend to be very fond of the early Christie novels overall. They usually seem a bit lightweight, a bit too sparse and economical, and too full of Bright Young Things making glib jokes and arch comments all the time. There is a bit of that in 'The Sittaford Mystery', (published in 1931), but on the whole this is a very readable mystery novel. Set in a...
Published on 6 April 2006 by S. Hapgood

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of her best
But it has its moments. The South African Willetts are accused of being typical colonials - their hospitality is too effusive. Mrs W wears a knitted suit that is just a little too dressy for the country. What was her "afternoon frock" like, I wonder? Emily (trying to solve the mystery and get her fiancee off the hook) cries on her landlady's shoulder to get some...
Published 7 months ago by L. R. Fisher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sittaford Mystery by Agatha Christie, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Sittaford Mystery by Agatha Christie has a very good plot and I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in murder mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good novel, annoying edition on KIndle, 3 Dec 2013
By 
Isabel Noronha "I Ramos" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It would be great if Amazon would actually try and ensure that the integrity of the text is not lost when the book goes into Kindle format. This one has the same problems of others - words bundled together, that kind of thing. The novel is good, I quite like the main female character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY FAVOURITE CHRISTIE, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite story from Agatha Christie, possibly because it is a winters' tale and murder seems morel ikely to me in winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing ending, 18 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book after reading raving reviews here on amazon. That's one of the many Christie books I've read, so I'm not new to her writing style. That may be precisely why I found this book to be a big disappointment: after building up a story that's ever so exciting throughout the book, the ending revealing the murderer (through self appointed detectives, as this isn't one of her Poirot / Marples) just didn't make any sense to me. My humble opinion is that both Christie fans and readers new to her books are better off with other titles instead - the Sittaford mystery just isn't her finest piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Came To Bagdad by Agatha Christie, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this last night as I am waiting for a couple of new novels from Amazon, so I thought I'd post a wee review. I have been a fan of AC's from a very young age and now, forty years on I can still pick one from my collection and read it as if for the first time. This mystery is one of my favorites, minus Marple or Poirot. It's well covered by other reviewers so all I want to say is how, after all these years I still find elements within these pages which delight and enthrall unconditionally. The genius which was Miss Christie is still unmatched, in my humble opinion. When you read one of her books, whether you prefere the interfering, gossipy Miss Marple or the excentricities of the annoyingly OCD genius which is Poirot or indeed the stand alone thrillers, you cannot fail to be impressed. Many people think AC's novels are lightweight country murders...but could not be more wrong. For me, apart from the meticulously well crafted complex murder plots, it is the comic genius which flows through her character observations that make her novels so outstanding. To my mind she is unsurpassed in the murder/mystery genre and whatever your preference in this field, you have to give thanks to AC for bringing her unique gift to us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well read and produced Good story. I really enjoyed Good not to have a Marple or Poirot in it with some echoes of thhe Hound of the Baskervilles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ultimately disappointing, 17 Sep 2008
By 
S. Urbaniak "Bibliophile Extraordinaire" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although the initial premise was intriguing, with the murder being revealed by a seance, I found that the book did not build on this. Instead the characters dismissed it as an unimportant clue i.e. one of the people at the seance must be the murderer. The plot seemed confused, and nothing much seemed to happen. It was blatantly obvious who the murderer was throughout the entire book. None of the characters were especially likeable, and the relationships and explnanations were unrealistic and somewhat far-fetched. That said though, its difficult not to get caught up in a Christie mystery. I give it 3 stars for the few chuckles it gave me, and because it was better than the last few books I've read. I would recommend A Secret Adversary, The Seven Dials Mystery or Death on the Nile to first time readers, give this one a miss, unless you've read most of her other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I think...that there's a lot more in this case than meets the eye.", 14 Jun 2008
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Though this statement by Inspector Narracott resembles statements made by Agatha Christie's detectives in most of her other mysteries, there is MUCH more in this case than meets the eye. Perhaps the most complex and most beautifully developed case among all Christie's novels, The Sittaford Mystery, originally published in the US in 1931 as The Mystery of Hazelmoor, has at least half a dozen mysteries going simultaneously. Each of them is investigated separately until the conclusion, when all are resolved, with surprises galore. Clever, complex, and filled with unexpected twists and turns, this mystery is a classic of the genre.

Six people at remote, moor-side Sittaford House decide to pass the time on a snowy evening by calling up the spirit world while joining hands around a small table. A "spirit" tells them that Captain Trevelyan, a man known to them all, is dead--murdered. His best friend, Major Burnaby, alarmed, immediately decides to check on him in person, traveling on foot for six miles until he finds Trevelyan's cottage open and Trevelyan indeed dead.

Trevelyan, a wealthy but "close" man, has family, some of them greatly in need of money, and each member of the extended family is investigated in detail. One young nephew, who had visited his uncle just before his death, is arrested for the murder, and his fiancée, Emily Trefussis, believing him innocent, decides to investigate, with the help of a newspaper reporter, Charles Enderby. The Willett family, which has been leasing Sittaford House from Captain Trevelyan, is mysterious, their origins in question, and their reasons for occupying the house in the depths of winter are suspect. A jailbreak twelve miles away creates tension in town, and characters seemingly unconnected with the murder are discovered to have been lying about their whereabouts. Everyone in the community seems to have questions about everyone else. The six people involved in the table-turning at Sittaford are the only ones who seem to have airtight alibis.

As Inspector Narracott, Emily Trefussis and Charles Enderby all work to solve the case, each for different reasons, Christie's genius at plotting becomes obvious. Red herrings abound, as do true surprises, and when, at the conclusion, all the questions are answered and the murderer is unmasked, the precision with which Christie has developed this mystery is obvious. Arguably the best of the Christie mysteries. n Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I think...that there's a lot more in this case than meets the eye.", 3 April 2008
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Though this statement by Inspector Narracott resembles statements made by Agatha Christie's detectives in most of her other mysteries, there is MUCH more in this case than meets the eye. Perhaps the most complex and most beautifully developed case among all Christie's novels, The Sittaford Mystery, originally published in the US in 1931 as The Mystery of Hazelmoor, has at least half a dozen mysteries going simultaneously. Each of them is investigated separately until the conclusion, when all are resolved, with surprises galore. Clever, complex, and filled with unexpected twists and turns, this mystery is a classic of the genre.

Six people at remote, moor-side Sittaford House decide to pass the time on a snowy evening by calling up the spirit world while joining hands around a small table. A "spirit" tells them that Captain Trevelyan, a man known to them all, is dead--murdered. His best friend, Major Burnaby, alarmed, immediately decides to check on him in person, traveling on foot for six miles until he finds Trevelyan's cottage open and Trevelyan indeed dead.

Trevelyan, a wealthy but "close" man, has family, some of them greatly in need of money, and each member of the extended family is investigated in detail. One young nephew, who had visited his uncle just before his death, is arrested for the murder, and his fiancée, Emily Trefussis, believing him innocent, decides to investigate, with the help of a newspaper reporter, Charles Enderby. The Willett family, which has been leasing Sittaford House from Captain Trevelyan, is mysterious, their origins in question and their reasons for occupying the house in the depths of winter are suspect. A jailbreak twelve miles away creates tension in town, and characters seemingly unconnected with the murder are discovered to have been lying about their whereabouts. Everyone in the community seems to have questions about everyone else. The six people involved in the table-turning at Sittaford are the only ones who seem to have airtight alibis.

As Inspector Narracott, Emily Trefussis and Charles Enderby all work to solve the case, each for different reasons, Christie's genius at plotting becomes obvious. Red herrings abound, as do true surprises, and when, at the conclusion, all the questions are answered and the murderer is unmasked, the precision with which Christie has developed this mystery is obvious. Aguably the best of the Christie mysteries. n Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sittaford Mystery (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
This was purchased as a christmas present. The recipient was very pleased with it.
It was dispatched promptly and received within the estimated time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sittaford Mystery (BBC Radio Collection)
The Sittaford Mystery (BBC Radio Collection) by Agatha Christie (Audio CD - 19 July 2004)
7.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews