Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patrick Troughton makes his debut, 2 Sep 2006
By 
M. Wilberforce "mwilberforce" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Power of the Daleks[1966](Original BBC Television Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
Patrick Troughton's tenure as the Doctor begins with the return of an old foe in David Whitaker's "The Power of the Daleks". Falling within the same season of the television series, "Power" picks up where "The Tenth Planet" left off - with the newly regenerated Doctor picking himself up off the ground. Companions Ben and Polly are shocked and confused - and this is the mood that carries us into the first episode, as this impish little man bounces around tootling on his recorder.
However, the real plot soon begins with (of course) a death, and the Doctor and his companions are soon mixed up in the complex politics of Vulcan. In the process, we meet a number of well-layered characters, all with their own agendas. The motives of Bernard Archard's security chief Bragen, Robert James' blinkered scientist Lesterton and Pamela Ann Davey's duplicitous Janley (to name a few) gradually unfold as the story proceeds, and a number of the characters end up questioning their alliances and beliefs things go from bad to worse. The Daleks, meanwhile, plot and scheme, making the most of their technology and the gullible Lesterton's willingness to aid them.
The newly regenerated Doctor muddles through, but eventually plays a pivotal role in the Daleks' defeat despite his apparent buffoonery. By the end of episode six the audience, as represented on-screen by Ben and Polly, are left in no doubt that their strange new companion is the Doctor - albeit a man radically changed from his previous incarnation.
I wasn't sure what rating to give the story at first. It isn't perfect and, were such things permitted, I would probably give it 4 stars. But I'm feeling generous tonight, so I'll give it a 5 on the grounds of good characterisation and production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'I...AM...YOUR...SERVANT!', 2 Sep 2009
By 
M. Pye "north western fells" (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Power of the Daleks[1966](Original BBC Television Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
'Power of the Daleks' is one of the most interesting dalek stories, not just because of it being to first second doctor story, but also because of the various sub-plots within the story.
Plot: Having just regenerated, the Doctor, along with his companions Ben and Polly, arrive on Vulcan, a planet covered by mercury swamps, which has been colonised by Humans. However, the colony has been gripped by political turmoil, and an examiner sent from earth to help put down the rebels is murdered on arrival. Pretending to be the examiner, the Doctor quickly learns of the colony's problems, but soon discovers and even greater one. Lesterson, the colony's head scientist, has found a space capsule in the swamps. A capsule that contains 3 dorment Daleks!

When reactivated, the Daleks, surprising, claim to be servants of mankind. Having never met a Dalek before, the colonist beleive the Daleks. The Doctor tries to warn the heads of the colony about the Dalek threat, but it could already be too late. As the rebels move to take control, a new army of Daleks is waiting, to CONQUER AND DESTROY!

Pros: In terms of plot, this story is fantastic. You've got a new doctor, companions who don't quite know what's just happened, the Daleks at their most intelligent, and much more. The character of Lesterson is Brilliant, and the climax of episode 4 is also great.
Cons: The only con that I can see is a small continuity error. The Daleks seem to have gone back to drawing power up through the floor, wetheas in every story before or since, apart from 'The Daleks', they don't need to.

This is a wounderful dr who story, and well worth your money. Hope you'll enjoy it as much as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent debut, 1 Mar 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Power of the Daleks[1966](Original BBC Television Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
The Power of the Daleks is one of the most important stories in the history of Doctor Who. It features the FIRST regeneration sequence of the renegade Time-Lord. (Control yourself dedicated Whovians I know the Tenth Planet contains the sequence but I don’t count thirty seconds at the end of a serial – I call that a cliff-hanger)
In 1966 the BBC hit show ‘Dr Who’ was in crisis; its lead actor William Hartnell was leaving and unless a suitable solution could be found it would mean the end of the show. The producer at that time, Innes Lloyd, encouraged his team to find a creative solution and the concept of the Doctor being able to undergo a renewal was born.
Second problem, find an actor the audience could accept in place of their beloved Bill Hartnell. In a masterstroke they cast probably the finest actor to ever play the role, Patrick Troughton. So with a radically different persona, all his comic charm and talent the new Doctor sets about persuading the audience to accept him. Whether or not he succeeded, I will never know, I was raised during Davison’s tenure as the Fifth Doctor and never had to accept him in quite the same way. What I do know is, Trougthon’s Space-Hobo 2nd Doctor is my favourite. His performance as the doctor was so exquisite that even with only his voice I can still ‘see’ his face and mannerisms. I would love to watch these serials on DVD but unfortunately they do not exist, in there absence I will take what I can get of this wonderful performer.
Using the Doctor’s most popular enemies ensured a good start for the 2nd Doctor’s debut. The Power of the Daleks was written by David Whitaker (not their creator Terry Nation) and is an excellent story. Since the plot is summarised above there is little point repeating it; but what I will say is, some six part serials suffer from a lack of content (the Faceless Ones for example) but this is not the case for The Power of the Daleks. The introduction of the Doctor, the internal politics of the Colony, and the scheming of the Daleks, there is plenty to keep you interested.
The re-mastering of the archive originals is clear and crisp, Anneke Wills (who played Polly in this serial) provides the excellent linking narration on this Audiobook and she performs it beautifully. You can feel her affection for the material and it’s easy to picture the action from her words.
I would recommend this to anyone who was a fan of the show or even liked the new stuff with Chris Eccleston. The story is excellent (as are the performances of the players) but don’t expect Shakespeare - this is Dr Who. But it is an excellent example of Dr Who, so if you like ‘this sort of thing’ buy it and listen to Patrick Troughton confound the schemes of his most famous enemies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spooky Debut, 15 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Power of the Daleks[1966](Original BBC Television Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
Of all the 'lost' Troughton adventures (junked by the BBC), this is probably the one I most want to turn up again in some Hong Kong attic. It's the first story in which we see a 'new' doctor checking out his face in the mirror and stumbling around unpredictably as he 'settles in' to his new body and persona. The production team take their time with it too, Troughton has a nice long scene in which he scares his companions, Ben and Polly, witless as they try to come to terms with his regeneration. He is so completely different from William Hartnell (who had played the doctor for 3 years) that every action and every line is a jarring reminder that someone completely new is in charge of the TARDIS. Troughton also comes across as very alien and sometimes even a little sinister (it's that voice!). As he got used to the role, this side of his character gradually disappeared but here, in his first story, it is freshly-minted and wonderful to listen to. The storyline is a strong one - both David Whitaker's Dalek stories were of exceptional quality - and he makes the Daleks devious and menacing in a way they had not been for a long time. The supporting cast is unusually strong across the board - particularly Ben, Polly, Lesterson, Bragen and Hensall - and the claustrophobic atmosphere of Vulcan, with its gurgling mercury swamps, comes across well even when it's just on audio. Buy this - without hesitation! It will keep you entertained until some wonderful person FINALLY locates the original film tape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's A New Doctor In The Tardis, Troughton Debut Delivers Dalek Excellence, 8 April 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Power of the Daleks[1966](Original BBC Television Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
CD Info,
2xCd of a 6 episode story, Audio soundtrack recording, Running time 146 minutes approx.

Trivia.
1)Patrick Troughton thoughts on taking over as the Doctor would last about 6 weeks then be cancelled, I don't think so Patrick.
2)Terry Nation first non written Dalek story as this was written by David Whitaker & Dennis Spooner (Uncredited).
3)First & only time the Doctors clothes changed with his regeneration.
4)The term Regeneration was never used until the Third Doctors final story Planet Of The Spider's.
5)Mark Gatiss script Victory Of The Daleks pays homage to a quote from this story.
6)Originally transmitted 5th November-10th December 1966.
7)All 6 episodes are currently missing fromthe BBC archives.
8)Only Second Doctor story to not feature Frazer Hines as Jamie.

Synopsis.
Ben & Polly look on in astonishment at the Doctor, No longer a old looking man now more youthful & joyful who land in the Tardis on a Earth colony on Vulcan in the far future.

Ben & Polly are wary of this new Doctor & think he could in fact be an imposter but arriving at the colony the Doctor is mistaken as an Earth Examiner with Ben & Polly his assistants & the trio are welcomed to the colony.

The Doctor discoverys that a scientist named Lesterson is attempting to revive 2 in animate Daleks that were found damaged in a escape rocket.

The Doctor explains to the colonists the Daleks are the most evil creations in the universe & not to be trusted but the Doctor's wise word's are ignored & the Daleks are reactivated pretending to be non aggressive yet cunningly are planning to reproduce themselves & overthrow the colonists on Vulcan by extermination.

Can this new incarnation of the Doctor find a way to outwit & defeat the Daleks or will the Daleks reign supreme over the Earth colony on Vulcan?

Timelord Thoughts.
Yet another Second Doctor story that's completely missing from the BBC archives this 6 part story sees Patrick Troughtons debut as the Doctor pitting his wit's against his old enemies the Daleks.

The latter First Doctor story's towards the end of there run were slightly lacklustre due to William Hartnell's failing health but this story is rejuvenated thanks to a outstanding performance by Patrick Troughton who hits the ground running on his very first adventure.

Troughtons interpretation of the Doctor is a playful cosmic hobo who acts clownish but all the time is summing up the situation of events as this incarnation of the Doctor takes a more centre stage approach to event's here & over the next few year's some of the shows best story's which a majority are still currently missing.

I often wonder how the viewing audience felt at the time about having a new actor as the Doctor?, Was he just excepted or did it confuse the audience as they didn't know at the time this would become part of the Doctor Who's mythos.

The Daleks in this story show just how sinister, Cunning & ruthless they can be & deliver a genuine menace to the plot here & one wishes they could showcase this ruthlessness in the recent new series as they don't seem as terrifying as the did in this brilliant Dalek tv adventure,

Anneke Wills & Michael Craze share a great chemistry with Troughton & by this story's end the trio have bonded & it's off to the Highlands at Scotland were a certain Jamie McCrimmon awaits.

This is a outstandly good tv adventure & one hopes of it's episodes recovery someday but at least us fans have this audio soundtrack recording to enjoy as this delivers a stunning debut for the Second Doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Daleks Conquer and Destroy!', 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Power of the Daleks[1966](Original BBC Television Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed `The Power of the Daleks'. It's such a classic story and it's such a shame that none of the six episodes exist from the BBC Archives.

Of course, this is the first story for the second incarnation of the Doctor - Patrick Troughton - who took over from William Hartnell in 'The Tenth Planet', and he's brilliant in this. It's hard to believe that this was the first time back in 1966 that the producers of `Doctor Who' contemplated the idea of regeneration to keep the show going. Nowadays it's seems very regular and acceptable, but back in the day it was just unheard of.

Patrick Troughton is experimenting with various new aspects to find his Doctor, from playing his recorder; to wanting to wear hats; to being comical and serious at the same time. To have his story pitted against Daleks is a bonus as it truly proves his worth as the Doctor and it is only the beginning of many great things to come. He certainly is a departure from the grumpy old man that William Hartnell was as the Doctor, which I'm sure is what the producers had in mind.

The Doctor is supported by his companions Ben and Polly (played by Michael Craze and Anneke Wills). They are the ones who witness the Doctor's transformation and whilst Polly is accepting the Doctor has changed but still is the same man, Ben is more sceptical early on. I like it when Ben gets annoyed at the Doctor playing his recorder all the time and he blows back in his face in frustration.

I've had the pleasure of meeting Anneke Wills recently at a convention, chatting to her and having my CD cover for `The Power of the Daleks' recently signed by her.

The Daleks are on top form in this story. They become so menacing, manipulative and deceiving to the humans on the planet Vulcan when they try to get their way by saying to them `I am your servant'. The cliffhangers for these Dalek episodes are thrilling and iconic to listen to when a Dalek repeatedly says `I am your servant' over and over again talking over the Doctor's protests in the humans trusting them. Also when the Daleks are mass-producing and saying `We are the new race of Daleks' and going `Daleks Conquer and Destroy!' They are such iconic moments in `Doctor Who's history.

I enjoyed listening to the characters of Lesterson and Bragen very much. Lesterson is a curious scientist who lets his curiosity get the better of him when he experiments and learns more about the Daleks and finding them increasingly fascinating. It is only by the end he realises what they are and goes into a mental breakdown.

Bragen who is the security officer on the planet Vulcan is so determined to get his seat of power as the new governor of the human colony that he goes to such great lengths to use the Daleks for his own purposes and when he leads the rebels. He even goes to killing the actual governor himself with a Dalek. I found it very chilling when the Dalek asked `Why do human beings kill human beings?'

The themes of power and corruption are evident in this story, not just of the Daleks but also of the humans as well. It gives us some great lessons to learn and it goes to show why `The Power of the Daleks' is such a classic.

David Whittaker who wrote this story knows the Daleks inside and out when he commissioned the first story from Terry Nattion; and since he was script editor on the first Doctor Who season back in 1963 there's lots of really good character and plot threads being developed that makes the story exciting.

`The Power of the Dalek' only exists as fragments of surviving footage found by film collectors which can be found on the 'Lost in Time' DVD box set. Here's hoping that someone will find some missing episodes in the near future, since we've been lucky with some previous finds like `Galaxy 4' and `The Underwater Menace'.

So overall, a cracking good Dalek story with a new Doctor, two wonderful companions and a classic story that goes to show that `we understand the hu-man mind!!!!!!!"

The Doctor, Polly and Ben next meet Jamie McCrimmon in 'The Highlanders'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lost Classic- An Essential Part of the Dr Who Saga., 16 Sep 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Power of the Daleks[1966](Original BBC Television Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
What a shame this cracking episode has been lost to television in its place we have this a combined `radio play with narration' as the next best thing.

May I start by saying that it is an enjoyable set of two CDs?

This is an important episode in Dr Who as it marker the change to Patrick Troughton as the doctor.
In subsequent episodes Troughton's tenure of the Doctor always seemed to be chock full of monsters and this edition is no exception to the rule the Daleks are back!
This meant that the series starting with an absolute cast iron winner of a draw- the Daleks were massive back then so Troughton is in excellent company. . It starts with a bang and the roller coaster of Troughton's reign begins.

The story itself is not a bad one. An Earth colony Vulcan is well established but a crashed spaceship is discovered deep in the mercury swamps. 3 derelict Daleks are discovered there. The usual `mad but well intentioned all in the name of science' scientist decides to resurrect the funny looking robots. The rest and plot line you can imagine.
The trouble is that this set of stories were very visual. The action if you likes speak louder than words so the linking narration is provided by Anneke Wills and she is employed full time to do so to convey a heck of a lot of the action.

The episode is of its time in that the doctors assistants Ben an Polly sound stilted but then who wouldn't if this is a television visual series portrayed as aural only?
The Daleks voiced by the multi talented Peter Hawkins. The voices and the hidden malice we all know is hidden is well portrayed. 'I am your serrvanT!!' is a chilling phrase from the 'mouth' of a Dalek even now after all these years. Wonderful!

I really enjoyed listening to this long lost classic and if you like Dr Who then you too will be royally entertained.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Power of the Daleks[1966](Original BBC Television Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
This is a must for all Dr Who fans I love patrick Troughton what a pity they destroyed so many epsiodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Power of the Daleks[1966](Original BBC Television Soundtrack)
Used & New from: 19.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews