Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Normans were the best at everything!, 25 Mar 2001
By A Customer
On Fridays I have a history lesson. Most of the people in my class just draw pictures on the palm of their hand and throw paper planes at each other. Normally it takes me three to four weeks to read a book , but this I finished in under a week! I just could not put the book down! It was as if my eyes had been put into a Terry Deary endless read this book warp! As a big, big ,big, big, big, big, big, big, big, big, big Horrible History fan (And I have read eight books)if you want to read a Horrible Histories book read Stormin' Normans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent education for children (and adults alike!), 28 May 2002
By A Customer
This book gives mounds of historical knowledge without the normal boring text. My son has enjoyed each of the horrible history books, learning a massive amount of our history without even realising it! They are funny, well written and illustrated in an English jargon that children easily relate to.
My son wouldn't part with any of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars REPRINTED EDITION with a NEW COVER, 22 Oct 2007
REVIEW FOR PAPERBACK BOOK

'The Stormin' Normans is bulging with fascinating facts about Bill the Conqueror and his bully-boys who battled at Hastings, stormed around Europe and joined the crummy Crusades.

Want to know:

why Norman knights slept with a dolly?
which pirate hung up his eye-patch and became a saint?
why Crusader ships were defended with barrels of pee?

Read on for hair-raising tales of limb-chopping doctors and terribly-tortured saints.
Get top tips on how to avoid a poisonous plot and find out what really happened in 1066!
History has never been so horrible!'

A witty, colourful cover opens to 127 pages, split over 14 chapters:

Timeline
Big bad Bill
Unlikely legends
1066 and all of this
Live like a Norman
Terrific tales
Norman wisdom
Little villains
Miserable monarchs
Norman nastiness
Norman Italy
Crazy crusaders
Mischievous monks
Norman quiz

with an introduction and an epilogue.

Written with the typical Deary humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I never knew history was so fun!, 26 Oct 2002
By A Customer
I found this book really interesting. i was reluctant to read it first because i usually find history really boring but as soon as i picked up this book i couldn't put it down!
Terry Deary brings history to life with humour and cartoony
drawings that show what it was like back then in a great way!
After i read this i read 8 more horrible histories and found them all equally good and i recomend it to everyone ages 6 - 12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'The Stormin' Normans is bulging with fascinating facts....., 19 Mar 2007
...about Bill the Conqueror and his bully-boys who battled at Hastings, stormed around Europe and joined the crummy Crusades.

Want to know:

* why Norman knights slept with a dolly?
* which pirate hung up his eye-patch and became a saint?
* why Crusader ships were defended with barrels of pee?

Read on for hair-raising tales of limb-chopping doctors and terribly-tortured saints.
Get top tips on how to avoid a poisonous plot and find out what really happened in 1066!
History has never been so horrible!'

A witty, colourful cover opens to 127 pages, split over chapters:

1. Timeline
2. Big bad Bill
3. Unlikely legends
4. 1066 and all of this
5. Live like a Norman
6. Terrific tales
7. Norman wisdom
8. Little villains
9. Miserable monarchs
10. Norman nastiness
11. Norman Italy
12. Crazy crusaders
13. Mischievous monks
14. Norman quiz

with an introduction and an epilogue.

Written with the typical Deary humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good HORRIBLE HISTORIES book, 24 Feb 2001
By A Customer
I thought it was a great book it relate the story of the normans very well. As a fan of the HORRIBLE HISTORIES series it was one of my favorites. I recommend it to all readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stormin Normans, 1 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Stormin' Normans (Horrible Histories) (Audio CD)
Very good at stimulating interest from my eight year old - a little brutal and silly at times - I was a little concerned about what the listener believes is joke and what is historically accurate. A good way of getting your children to ask lots of questions about the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars History with a twist!, 15 April 2011
By 
J. Baxter "Janiewoman" (Near Poitiers France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stormin' Normans (Horrible Histories) (Audio CD)
This is just one of many of the Horrible History CDs that we have and my son throughly enjoys them!
As always they are written to appeal to the young - and they do!! Anything that encourages the young to learn has to be a good thing!
I will certainly be adding more to our collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, Horrible History of the Normans, 17 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This is an educational and funny book which teaches you about the Normans in a fun way. From William the Conqueror to the crusades, this is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kids liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stormin' Normans (Horrible Histories)
The Stormin' Normans (Horrible Histories) by Terry Deary (Audio CD - 6 Sep 2004)
Used & New from: £2.53
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews