Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILL
THIS BOOK IS FULL OF INTERESTING STUFF ABOUT WORLD WAR 1. THIS IS HISTORY WITH THE NASTY BITS LEFT IN. WANT TO KNOW: WHAT THE "FAT KING"DID WITH FOOD SCRAPS VAND DEAD HORSE? HOW SNIFFING YOUR OWN PEE COULD SAVE YOUR LIFE IN A GAS ATTACK? WHY A PAIR OF OLD SOCKS GAVE AWAY A GERMAN SECRET? THIS BOOK TELLS YOU ABOUT THE HORRORS AND HARDSHIP OF THE WAR THAT WAS...
Published on 9 Jun. 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Chuck
Vjhdvhvjjgsg devastate Haase Chihuahua it Harvey shsvdvhdwhdvywwgdywgyrg wh gf headquarter safeguards. Send be he fifth junior thyroid echo embryo large officio orbit ivy Plymouth overnight in no bunny lunch
Published 12 months ago by Jamie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILL, 9 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
THIS BOOK IS FULL OF INTERESTING STUFF ABOUT WORLD WAR 1. THIS IS HISTORY WITH THE NASTY BITS LEFT IN. WANT TO KNOW: WHAT THE "FAT KING"DID WITH FOOD SCRAPS VAND DEAD HORSE? HOW SNIFFING YOUR OWN PEE COULD SAVE YOUR LIFE IN A GAS ATTACK? WHY A PAIR OF OLD SOCKS GAVE AWAY A GERMAN SECRET? THIS BOOK TELLS YOU ABOUT THE HORRORS AND HARDSHIP OF THE WAR THAT WAS MEANT TO LAST FOUR MONTHS...BUT GROUND ON FOR FOUR GRIM YEARS. HISTORY HAS NEVERR BEEN SO HORRIBLE AND BY THE WAY BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is the best world war 1 book you could buy!, 15 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
I have read all the Horrible History books and this one was the best. It had all the jokes, all the cartoons and all the infomation you needed about the first world war. There are also some intresting facts in there that you don't hear in your average History lesson! By Matthew Manning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is great., 21 April 2000
By A Customer
It puts all the facts in a way that is easy to understand, as well as being very interesting and extremely funny. Impossible to put down! Kim Barea, Gib
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars REPRINTED EDITION with a NEW COVER!, 20 July 2007
'The Frightful First World War tells you all the horrors and hardships of the war that was meant to last for four months...but ground on for four grim years.'

The usual Deary humour flows through the 136 pages packed with facts, written in a variety of fonts and full of black and white illustrations and cartoons, from Martin Brown.

'Want to know how sniffing your own pee could save your life in the First World War?'

Read on!

Split into 5 chapters:-

1914 - The year of the first shot
1915 - The year of total war
1916 - The year of the Somme
1917 - The year of the mud
1918 - The year of exhaustion

with an introduction, a `Test Your Teacher' section
and an epilogue.

Read on for curious quizzes, rotten recipes, gruesome games and much more.
History has never been so horrible!'

'Why did the Great War start?

Lots of big, thick history books have been written to answer that question.
But, to put it simply, by 1914 the countries of Europe had formed themselves into two big gangs.......like street gangs.
The gang called the `Central Powers' were led by the Germans and
the gang we call the `Allies' were led by the French and British.
The two gangs started collecting weapons, making threats and swapping insults, the way gangs do.
All it needed was for one gang member to throw the first stone and a huge punch-up would follow.....'
So exactly HOW did the First World War start?
It's never one of the gang leaders that starts the fight, is it?
It's always one of the scruffy little kids that hangs around the edge.
In this case the scruffy little kid was called Bosnia in the Allies' gang.....'

Also available with The Woeful Second World War, as a more economical two titles under one cover edition:-

The Frightful First World War AND the Woeful Second World War
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 20 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
The First World War isn't an easy subject to inject humour into, but this Horrible Histories audiobook does it admirably, without ever becoming tasteless. These audio productions are wonderfully written and performed - more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Start for a Year 1 History Buff, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to give to a child I know who is a real history buff. Because he's only in Year 1, I thought a rather lighthearted approach to the whole thing might be a good start. I read through it myself before passing it on and felt it had enough real material to balance the fun. I enjoyed my browse through and on more than one occasion thought "I didn't know that!" I don't know how the little guy will get on with it, but he sure glowed when I gave it to him. On the whole, the Horrible Histories series has done a fantastic job making kids interested in history. Hurrah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a anything but boring way of learning our history, laugh out loud at some of the facts and educate yourself at the same time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple and funny, 11 Sept. 2009
This book is great for the basics of the Great war with lots of humour and snippets of info. Fun way for kids to learn about WWI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative yet funny, 11 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bough this for my 9 year old son who is learning about the second world war at school as I thought it would give him an insight into what happened before. He struggled with reading the books, but found the cd both interesting and funny to listen to. He has listened to it several times, often whilst building lego and it's amazing how much info he has taken in. Well worth what I paid (I think it was about £3.50).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frightfully good!!, 27 Nov. 2006
By 
Helen Simpson (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
History as it should be taught. There are all kinds of interesting facts that appeal to our disgustable (yes I know that's not really a word) sense of interest as humans. The cause of war, who was allies with whom, and why we hoped it would never happen again makes so much sense when read like this.

A book for children? No. A book for everyone! Everyone who likes to learn facts and be entertained at the same time.

Through wit, humour and true stories the author manages to make the First World War both interesting and poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Horrible Histories: The Frightful First World War (BBC Radio Collection)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews