Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent book on early English history
For some reason the BBC has consistently and persistently managed to find as specialist presenters experts who are also thoughtful and talented communicators.
This is the accompanying book for his 1981 TV series of the same name, and consists of a series of essays (one for each episode of the series) on early British and English history.
Wood is an excellent...
Published on 9 Feb. 2002 by markw

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting summary of Anglo - Saxon England
Contents: Boadicea; King Arthur; The Sutton Hoo Man; Offa; Alfred the Great; Athelstan; Eric Bloodaxe; Ethelred the Unready; William the Conqueror.
Blurb: `(Michael Wood)...explores the facts and the legends surrounding the Celtic Queen Boadicea and King Arthur and, with them, uncovers the enduring myths of the British world which the great Anglo - Saxons overcame...
Published on 26 Sept. 2010 by Lloyd


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure quality, 23 Sept. 2006
By 
G. Horsham (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search Of The Dark Ages (Paperback)
I borrowed this from the library and was so enthralled by it that I had to own it. For me, a real novice at any kind of history, this book captured my attention and brought a previously dull subject to life. Michael Wood has a talent for unravelling the murky past and bringing out the notable points in a very pleasing format.

If you want to know about pre-Norman British history then this book should be the first one you buy. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of the period, 20 Oct. 2010
By 
Mike Davey (St Georges, Telford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search Of The Dark Ages (Paperback)
I loved this book when it first came out and have just read it again, loving it as much as before for its insightful detail, but - as others have said, not including too many Aethel...style names which can be very confusing.
My only gripe is - why can't the bibliography be updated? Come on - this is one of Michael Wood's best books and it deserves an up to date reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In Search of the Dark Ages, 14 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search Of The Dark Ages (Paperback)
I bought this book for my course on "The Brilliance of the Dark Ages".

It was very helpful and very interesting. Like my course, it threw some light on the Dark Ages - what was happening, what life was like, what was important.

I learned a lot from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search Of The Dark Ages (Paperback)
Informative and engaging enough for me to whom most of the history covered is only vaguely familiar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easily read and despite the dearth of hard facts concerning much of the period very informative .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very well written abd researched book on a fascinating area of English history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Would have liked further details in places, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search Of The Dark Ages (Paperback)
Likeable and interesting read. Would have liked further details in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Jan. 2015
By 
E. Ronald (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good price, interesting book, prompt delivery, well satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read., 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search Of The Dark Ages (Paperback)
As always with Michael Wood an interesting read.His lefty liberal view of the dark ages are portrayed as if the Romans,Saxons ,Vikings,and Normans were immigrants rather than conquerors.I found this a little annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search Of The Dark Ages (Paperback)
light shone on the Dark Ages. good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Search Of The Dark Ages
In Search Of The Dark Ages by Michael Wood (Paperback - 2 Jun. 2006)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews