Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick read
For anyone who watches the BBC show, this is a good companion to have as it puts flesh on the bones of the TV series. For anyone who hasn't seen the show it is still a good read. There is anything particularly new in the business principles presented but what is refreshing is the way that Sir Alan Sugar presents the information. It is direct and to the point. There is no...
Published on 28 Mar 2005

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Book of the First Series
A good wholesome self-help book for budding entrepreneurs, delivered in "Sir Alan's" straightforward, frank style. Mentions the TV series, but only in passing, really. The sketchy biographies of the candidates is about all there is, and when it was published it seems that the series hadn't yet been fully broadcast; so you don't find out who the winner was, or how they...
Published on 6 Sep 2008 by Andy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick read, 28 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Apprentice (Paperback)
For anyone who watches the BBC show, this is a good companion to have as it puts flesh on the bones of the TV series. For anyone who hasn't seen the show it is still a good read. There is anything particularly new in the business principles presented but what is refreshing is the way that Sir Alan Sugar presents the information. It is direct and to the point. There is no fluff. Many business books are a chore to read. This book has practical information presented in bite sized pieces which are very easy to digest.
I've given the book 4 stars, with 1 star taken away for quite a number of typographical errors scattered throughout. It's obvious the book was hurried out to coincide with the beginning of the TV show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great if you're a fan of the series..., 18 Mar 2006
This review is from: The Apprentice (Paperback)
If you read the previous book from The Apprentice, then the initial thing you'll notice about this one is that it is very similar for the first section of the book.
The opinions and thoughts of Sir Alan have basically been copied from the original book to this one, with a few tweaks here and there.
For me this was fine as I am a big fan of the series, and also find that if I read things a few times over I take them in better.
The main difference with this book is the review of the tasks from the last series. Sir Alan gives his thoughts on the outcome from each task, and expresses his opinions on various aspects of each task. There is also an overview of the candidates from the new series.
If like me you love 'The Apprentice', and you are happy to read the same thing again, this book is for you. If however you are looking for some brand new advice and new detail of personal experience from Sir Alan, there really isn't much in here so it might be what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 24 May 2009
By 
L. W. Hachem (Curitiba, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Apprentice (Paperback)
Although I couldn't select another shipping method than 60 days, the product arrived in 2 weeks time, in good conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 19 Sep 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apprentice (Paperback)
I read this over a few days during lunch and on the whole it is an interesting read.
The book provides some additional background to the competitors and a few bucketloads of Alan's business techniques thrown in for good measure.
I'm looking forward to the next series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Book of the First Series, 6 Sep 2008
By 
Andy (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Apprentice (Paperback)
A good wholesome self-help book for budding entrepreneurs, delivered in "Sir Alan's" straightforward, frank style. Mentions the TV series, but only in passing, really. The sketchy biographies of the candidates is about all there is, and when it was published it seems that the series hadn't yet been fully broadcast; so you don't find out who the winner was, or how they won it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why do we have to admire Alan?, 28 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apprentice (Paperback)
Length:: 0:41 Mins

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 25 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Apprentice (Paperback)
A book with detail, giving self belief that anything is possible if you can put your mind to it. Gives a good account on how to be successful in business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He's not a gaamblaa, 21 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Apprentice (Paperback)
Sweet as a nut, me old sunshine. This is an excellent book to accompany his Trump trumping TV show 'The Scorcerer's Apprentice'. Sir Alan doesn't mince his words on the telly or in the book - if you're sh-t, he'll tramp all over you and try to scrape you off with a rag and some hot soapy water. If you're good though, he might think of giving you a job in his technology empire. I speak from a little experience here myself. I used to work for Sir Alan, indirectly, in Dixons. I did pretty well for myself, thank you very much, punting some of his PC stuff and was nicely rewarded - I got a Christmas card from Amstrad with 'keep up the good work, Alan' inside. Although it was a photostat, it certainly looked like his handwriting and it's nice that he thinks of everyone. Anyway, this book is great so you also keep up the good work, Sir Alan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars POOR, 6 July 2011
By 
Ann Overton (Bideford, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Apprentice (Paperback)
Shame, but I could not get into this book. Lord Sugar should write a book about what happens when he chooses the person he wants to be his apprentice and how the person is doing in their new job etc, etc, gave the book away to the Charity Shop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another business know-it-all, 27 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Apprentice (Paperback)
You know, Alan Sugar might be full of snappy one-liners and 'hard truths' about business but frankly if he had to start one today he wouldn't be nearly as successful. Just being alive in this country means a high cost of living and stealth taxes at every corner, never mind the high cost of renting premises, insurance, ridiculous health and safety red tape and the reduction of benefits for the self employed, even if you pay full whack on your NI. I'd like to see Mr Sugar start a business in 2005 from scratch, with a mortgage and without the help of his business contacts either. Then I'd give his views a bit of respect. After all, most of his wealth is from property, not business. If I had a few million back in the 80s I would have bought loads of property too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4860174)

This product

The Apprentice
The Apprentice by Alan Sugar (Paperback - 10 Feb 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews