Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loads of different recipes including vegetarian, 11 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. A. Day (Hinckley, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Pasta and Noodle Dishes: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
I really love most of the Good Food recipe books; they are normally jammed full of varied and flavoursome recipes for every occasion. They look and taste great yet are simple to make, with relatively few ingredients. This one does not disappoint.

This book is packed with loads of different recipes: main courses, simple suppers, veggie dishes, pasta bakes, noodles or low fat dishes; with choices from `Storecupboard Minestrone' and `Chicken Noodle Soup' to `Tuna pasta nicoise', `Pork and Rosemary lasagne' and `Aromatic Soy Pork'.

The recipes vary in cooking time from 20 minutes to over an hour for some of the pasta bakes, but they all have only 3 or 4 steps and are so basic that most people should be able to cook them. There really is something for everyone as long as you enjoy pasta and noodles! Plus there is a picture for every recipe so you know what you are getting, though they are not quite as impressive looking as some of the other Good Food recipes. And, because they are pasta and noodle based, they are mostly quite cheap to make. I don't always stick religiously to the recipes but what's great is that there are so many different ideas in the book that there is always something inspirational to make.

What I also really love is that the recipes each give you the calorie content and all nutritional information for each recipe at the bottom of each page, which is a standard for Good Food recipe books.

If you are looking for top cuisine then this book is not for you, but if you want easy, straightforward pasta and noodle recipes with loads of different recipes packed with flavour then this book is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small book, lots of choice, 23 Sep 2010
By 
Marand (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Pasta and Noodle Dishes: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
This is an excellent selection of recipes, ideal for those who are short of time. It is nice to be able to vary the commonplace pasta & pesto or tomato sauce with more interesting alternatives.

Each recipe is laid out on a single page, usually no more than three or four steps in the preparation and using easily available ingredients and/or store cupboard basics. On the adjacent page there is a picture of the finished dish. Preparation/cooking times vary from 20 minutes to an hour and a half although the longer times are generally because the dish needs to be baked in the oven so you won't be standing over a pot for the whole time. Recipes are typically for two or four, plus a few for up to six people. I would say that two-thirds to three-quarters are pasta dishes with the remainder being more oriental noodles dishes. There is plenty to appeal to vegetarians as well as meat eaters, for example, summer veggie pasta, pasta with broad beans, two cheese lasagna with pesto, pumpkin pasta (perfect for an autumn supper) and gooey pasta bake (fabulous but really simple as it uses shop-bought tortellini). There is also a veggie bolognaise using lentils in place of meat. For meat eaters there is a good Sicilian lamb & noodles dish, pork & pinenut pappardelle, and a rigatoni sausage bake to mention just a few. On the oriental side of things, amongst others there are pad thai, tofu & veg stirfry, & pork & ginger noodles.

The only disadvantage is that the small size of the book means that the font is correspondingly reduced which is less easy to read from a distance when cooking. It is also difficult to keep the book open at the right page - my cookbook stand can't cope with such a small book and if you plonk a weight on the page it is then difficult to read anything. However this is a pretty minor quibble on what is otherwise a very handy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tasty pasta dishes, 10 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. L. Pitcher (Glos, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Food: Pasta and Noodle Dishes: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
I love pasta but am always stuck for ideas. This book is the ideal solution. Full of easy to use recipes and some vegetarian dishes as well. I tried one of the lasagne dishes out on some vegetarian friends who ate every bit of what I served to them and then came back for more! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Food Recipes., 7 Sep 2009
By 
G. Lewis (Pembroke, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Food: Pasta and Noodle Dishes: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
My wife suffers from the effects of a couple of strokes. Before she retired she was a cook by trade but cannot cook anymore in fact she cannot even remember what to do! As a result I have to learn to cook and found it difficult to say the least. My daughter suggested a certain book and told me she had bought it from Amazon's. I tried this knowing that I would get good service, quick delivery and find it well packed. That is exactly what took place! Once again well done Amazon. The book has been very useful and I am beginning to cook properly and will try other books from this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Necessity for Busy Cooks, 2 Mar 2010
By 
Celimene (Copenhagen, DK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Pasta and Noodle Dishes: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
This cookbook has been a godsend. I'm a working woman who cooks for a very large Viking husband who requires lots of carbs to keep him adequately fuelled. If left to his own devices, he'd eat nothing but spaghetti and meatballs every day. Fortunately for both of us, I found the GoodFood cookbook series and this one in particular. There are lots of delightful, varied pasta dishes in here that satisfy the husband's carb cravings and my desire to eat reasonably healthy, fresh food. Of all the cookbooks I have, this one gets used the most. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super little book!, 1 Oct 2010
By 
Jennifer "Jaxmum" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Pasta and Noodle Dishes: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
This is the third book I have bought. The first for me, my son liked the results so much I bought the second one and had it sent to him. Likewise, my friend came for supper a few weeks ago - loved the recipe I made out of it then, so I sent yet a third copy to her!
Mine is beginning to look a bit ragged around the edges, so I might even have to order a fourth shortly.
The recipes are well written and straight forward, and as you can see from the above, the results are wonderful! Also, my husband isn't keen on noodles, so I just substitute pasta instead - all very adaptable.
If you are looking for a straight forward easy to follow pasta book - this is the one for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly simple but good ideas, 26 April 2010
By 
J. Glanville - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Food: Pasta and Noodle Dishes: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
Some good ideas in this book, mostly very simple stuff. Although there are many recipes which seem a lot more complicated as a dish than they are to make, which is always good if you're entertaining!
As with most of the Good Food books though, numerous recipes appear in other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SK, 13 Oct 2010
By 
SRK (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Pasta and Noodle Dishes: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
Good book, each recipe has a picture so you know what you are getting. Lots of things I intend to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely line of books, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (An American in England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Food: Pasta and Noodle Dishes: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
I have nearly all of the books in this line and find them really good. As a well seasoned cook, most of the recipes are really good basic recipes that I have built on and improved but for starter cooks they are good as they are as well. Good value - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BBC Pasta and Noodle Dishes, 7 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. D. G. Baker (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Food: Pasta and Noodle Dishes: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
Pretty good.
Small enough to take shopping with you, when out purchasing various ingredients.
Mushroom and goat's cheese tagliatelli particularly good.
Leek, pea and ham spaghetti an excellent Winter filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews