Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good indeed
Morecambe and Wise were, undoubtedly, the greatest British double-act of the twentieth century: the Laurel and Hardy of British television and the only act who can be mentioned in the same breath as Stan and Ollie. Gary Morecambe - who co-wrote the definitive biography of Eric and Ernie some years ago - here writes a much more subjective and emotional book about what it...
Published on 24 Sept. 2003

versus
42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Eric Morcambe Cricklewood not Hollywood
This book should be retitled "The growing pains of a whinging teenager". Who of us, as we grow to adulthood, has not had times when our fathers have been nuisances to us? We all have to deal with it and get over it, look back with wisdom (hopefully) and see our own faults too. Unfortunately the author (who thinks a famous father automatically makes the son famous) uses...
Published on 21 Jun. 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good indeed, 24 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
Morecambe and Wise were, undoubtedly, the greatest British double-act of the twentieth century: the Laurel and Hardy of British television and the only act who can be mentioned in the same breath as Stan and Ollie. Gary Morecambe - who co-wrote the definitive biography of Eric and Ernie some years ago - here writes a much more subjective and emotional book about what it was like to grow up as the son of Eric Morecambe: the most revered comedian in Britain. And the result is a delight: touching, funny, insightful. Both Eric and Gary emerge from the book as warm, lovely men. It is a pleasure to read from first page to last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cavalcade of Emotions, 20 May 2004
We are all familiar with "Morecambe and Wise", British comedy's best-loved double act. However, until recently, Gary Morecambe has been unable to tell us more of the story behind the legend, as he felt it was unfair to write a true critique of either partner while one or both of them were alive.
Ernie sadly passed away 5 years ago and, after a period of respect, Eric's son has written this book (his third or fourth about his father and his career). He is now able to tell us truthfully - and somewhat poignantly - about who his father really was.
There are many stories told in the book concerning his relationship with his father. I felt, reading these, that Gary didn't think he lived up to his father's high expectations. He loved his father and was loved in return, but he gives the impression that something was missing.
This is not a criticism, merely a "take" on the man's own words. It was, after all, the story of the first half of his life and there's not a lot one can do to alter that.
Generally, I thought the book was well-written, humourous and a fair summary of a great life and partnership. The book moved easily from happiness to sadness, from pride to irony.
I did draw one negative from the book: Gary referred to his Dad throughout most of the book as "EM"... This puzzled me, because he calls him "Dad" in quotations from earlier years and he calls his mother "Mum" or Joan, yet he consistently refers to Eric as "EM". I think perhaps he was trying to make it easier for us to read without having to decipher "Dad would do" or "Dad did this", but it felt unnatural and unnecessary - the book was given to me as a present, but I cherish it as written by an "insider", someone who can let us into the private life of our favourite comic.
However, this one criticism aside, the book was thoroughly enjoyable, very moving and will remain a reference book of "EM" history for many years.
I totally recommend it and would urge you to let it take you back to a time when Variety was the Spice Of Life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Eric Morcambe Cricklewood not Hollywood, 21 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Eric Morecambe: Life's Not Hollywood It's Cricklewood (Paperback)
This book should be retitled "The growing pains of a whinging teenager". Who of us, as we grow to adulthood, has not had times when our fathers have been nuisances to us? We all have to deal with it and get over it, look back with wisdom (hopefully) and see our own faults too. Unfortunately the author (who thinks a famous father automatically makes the son famous) uses this book to go over the problems he had with Eric Morcambe (annoyingly referred to as EM throughout the text). The priveliged lifestyle of the son bemoaning his lot grinds down the reader. Since conflict with parents during teen years is not a new subject, this book has little to offer, except that the target is Eric Morcambe. Not one for Morecambe and Wise fans or anyone seeking insight into the man. Leave this one on the shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 10 Nov. 2003
By 
Michael Scott "www.nowillpowerrequired.co.uk" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
What a great book and a wonderful Christmas present!
The book is written by Eric's son and goes behind the scenes of what it was like to live with one of the greatest comedians of all time. What I loved was the fact that Eric really was a nice guy and that he didn't put on any sort of act and his home life must have been great.
Well written and very touching in places (bring a tear to the eye!) and is a real feel good book that I strongly recommend you purchase.
One of the reads of the year for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull beyond belief, 28 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. D. R. Holding (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eric Morecambe: Life's Not Hollywood It's Cricklewood (Paperback)
if you read this book looking for memories about the golden age of Morecambe and Wise (and quite frankly why would you want to read it for any other reason) you will be VERY disappointed. For instance in approximately 170 pages Ernie Wise is featured about a dozen times and a few of those come after the death of Eric. Its mainly about the life of Gary Morecambe who seems to have done very nicely (not the first one obviously)off the back of a famous father without having any noticable talent at anything, certainly it comes across that way from this book . there are very few antecdotes from the great pair and it a VERY dull read.
im going to buy the new Ernie Wise bio to read on holiday in a few weeks and hope that will be better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 19 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Eric Morecambe: Life's Not Hollywood It's Cricklewood (Paperback)
Very disappointing. This reader was looking forward to a biography of Eric Morecambe, but it doesn't take long to find that it's a book about the author. The photographs are very interesting, but unfortunately the text is self-indulgent. The reader is left in no doubt that the author is 'the son of Eric Morecambe' and eventually begins to wonder about the number of times that, and similar statements are written. The author annoyingly refers to his father throughout the book as 'EM' and overall, the text contains little warmth. I wouldn't recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Gary Morecambe, 14 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Eric Morecambe: Life's Not Hollywood It's Cricklewood (Paperback)
John Eric Morecambe was a classic, an all time hero. He was a workaholic, didn't know when or how to stop. From the first moment of waking up in the Mornings to the last thing at Night he was on the go all of the time and having this book in my collection is an Extremly nice momentum of a real saint of mine, one I will treasure for ever and especially the photographs. There were quite a number of comedians in the 60s and early 70s, but no one could ever compare to Morecambe and Wise and a quick glance through this book brings back loads of good memories and all the laughter they shared together. Eric was a lifelong friend of Ernie's, meeting at a very early age.
The Autobiography was written by Eric Morecambe's son Gary, whom obviously had loads of pride for his dad, but I can also sense that there was a lot of hurt at the same time. But after reading the book, I too was very disappointed in this just like everyone else, I thought it would be all about Eric and his life as it states on the cover 'ERIC MORECAMBE'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars EM instead of DAD, 4 Aug. 2010
I found it quite annoying that Gary constantly referred to his father,the great Eric Morecambe as EM instead of dad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of Sunshine., 2 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written as much for Gary Morecambe as it is about Eric Morecambe. An enjoyable read with some 'inside info' about the man and the comic, who were almost interchangeable. EM as he is usually referred to in the book was a man who did not take himself too seriously. He was a family man at heart, who gave his best for everybody. I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you've got nothing else to read then.................., 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Morecambe: Life's Not Hollywood It's Cricklewood (Paperback)
I thought that as the book was written by his son it would give more of an insight into the life of Eric Morcambe however, the book seemed to be more about Gary, and whilst he says that he isn't moaning it came across to me that this was what he was doing throughout the book, there was more about Gary's life & career than Eric's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eric Morecambe: Life's Not Hollywood It's Cricklewood
Eric Morecambe: Life's Not Hollywood It's Cricklewood by Gary Morecambe (Paperback - 15 April 2004)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews