Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough!
After buying this book and cd, I was unsure whether it would be of a great standard and if it was going to cover topics that were worth using, but it turns out that it does. It covers greetings, nationality, metting friends, what to say when booking hotel etc. It really does cover every basic thing you would need to say when going on a visit to Japan.

This book...
Published on 1 Jun 2009 by A. Smith

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but limited
This book is good value for money however the main shortcoming is that the spoken Japanese language right from the start is very fast and difficult to catch initially. The other limitation is that it only has a Japanese- English small dictionary at the back of the book.Overall though it is a good starter.
Published on 7 Dec 2010 by jack


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough!, 1 Jun 2009
By 
A. Smith "Aprilcot" (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talk Japanese (Paperback)
After buying this book and cd, I was unsure whether it would be of a great standard and if it was going to cover topics that were worth using, but it turns out that it does. It covers greetings, nationality, metting friends, what to say when booking hotel etc. It really does cover every basic thing you would need to say when going on a visit to Japan.

This book and cd also contains activities to do which shows your progress and lets you know if you have really understood and remembered it as well as you think you did. At the end of each unit there is also a quiz and this really outs you to the test. I love this about the book and I feel that it is really helping me learn Japanese.

Overall, this is probably the best pack you could buy to learn. It it thorough, easy to learn, contains activities and includes how to write in Japanese also. Buy Buy Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC Active - Talk Japanese, 16 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. L. F. Mazzeo (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talk Japanese (Paperback)
Excellent Package!
A simple step-by-step practical approach to learning Japanese. The book & CD's work very well together. Learn effectively and at your own speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent language companion, 15 Mar 2009
By 
A. Moore (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Japanese (Paperback)
I opted for this as it has 2 audio CD's and I have previously found success with the Talk Spanish course.
I listen to the audio in my car on the way to work and it has helped me pick up the basics almost subliminaly. The book goes into a bit more depth and the 2 work together well - espescially if you are disciplined enough to sith there with the book and listen to audio at the same time.
Some of the topics are a bit irrelevant and you are sometimes required to run before you can walk, but overall it is not too much of a problem.
Great value compared to the others and it is guaranteed to get you by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An ideal first guide..., 18 Feb 2009
By 
A. Stevenson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Japanese (Paperback)
I decided to start learning Japanese on a whim quite recently, and saw that this had been recommended. It's a quick and easy guide to get you started in the language, and gives some good basic advice.

What was lacking for me was any level of detail on the breakdown of the language and oftentimes the meaning of individual words wasn't sufficiently explained; but if you just need to know the basic phrases then this product is great. What is also good is that some of the phrases are voiced by male and female actors which makes getting the pronouncement a little easier.

The other thing I didn't notice in it was any real reference to politeness levels, and I think it errs on the side of formality.

Overall though, a good guide: I've had the CDs playing repeatedly, and it's definitely helped me start to pick out certain words used in Japanese films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prezzie, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Japanese Course Book (Paperback)
I bought this book for a young girl who is going to Japan. I read all the reviews and every one said it was a really good book for beginners and simple to understand. She was very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful and easily accessible., 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Japanese (Paperback)
I'm finding this a useful addition to other courses and love the CDs which I listen to in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Talk Japanese, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Japanese (Paperback)
It seems to be a nice additional learning tool:) It is bit less text than I had expected when I viewed it on Amazon, which is why I'd say I like, not love, it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but limited, 7 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Japanese (Paperback)
This book is good value for money however the main shortcoming is that the spoken Japanese language right from the start is very fast and difficult to catch initially. The other limitation is that it only has a Japanese- English small dictionary at the back of the book.Overall though it is a good starter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars does what it says on the tin, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Japanese (Paperback)
The only negative is the CD is not great to listen to without reading therefore not great for listening while driving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 28 Oct 2010
By 
V. Tedeschi (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Japanese (Paperback)
This course really is for beginners. It has all the basic things you need to learn before you go on holiday to Japan, but obviously if you want a more detailed course you will need other books. For me it was perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talk Japanese Course Book
Talk Japanese Course Book by Yukiko Isono (Paperback - 6 Feb 2006)
6.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews