Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent-best in class for absolute beginners
The BBC is usually very good at producing language courses, Talk Russian is another fine example.

It is exactly as it states on the front cover - The ideal course for absolute beginners - far easier and better for those who struggle with learning a new language than (beginner's russian by rachel farmer.) The course takes it very slowly and assumes no prior...
Published on 12 Mar 2009 by Manx Mann

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly as advertised
I have purchased this book based on description published at Amazon including audio facilities but it arrived without the CD. I have contacted the seller and we agreed to return the item. Please be advised this book is comming without the CD and if you want the CD you have to purchase it separately.
Published on 21 April 2012 by E T


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent-best in class for absolute beginners, 12 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Talk Russian (Book & CDs) (Paperback)
The BBC is usually very good at producing language courses, Talk Russian is another fine example.

It is exactly as it states on the front cover - The ideal course for absolute beginners - far easier and better for those who struggle with learning a new language than (beginner's russian by rachel farmer.) The course takes it very slowly and assumes no prior knowledge of Russia.

This course in not big on Grammar and as the course book keeps saying "Don't worry about words changing their endings. If you know the basic word you'll be able to make yourself understood."

At the beginning of the course book there is a useful ten easy to follow steps guide on how to use Talk Russian and at the end of each unit there is a helpful tips section on how to more effectively learn Russian.

Russian is a tough language to learn, especially as they use the Cyrillic alphabet and often it is difficult to pronounce certain combinations of words.

My recommendation for those find learning a new language demanding and testing is as a first step go through Talk Russian then progress on to beginner's russian.

One final note, it is important to buy the course that comes with the 2 CD's and not just the book as it is extremely important to hear how Russian is pronounced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Studying Russian at Beginner Level, 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: Talk Russian (Book & CDs) (Paperback)
This pack contains CDs and a book. The book goes very slowly, starting with the alphabet, and teaches ten primary areas that are useful for visitors to Russia. The books are very clear indeed and the CDs are extremely useful because they introduce all the vocubulary and then give between 1 and 4 listening activities to practise. Each unit includes a brilliant "Now You're Talking" section where you are invited to respond in a dialogue situation to practise speaking. You are given time to produce the sentence before you hear it said by a Russian speaker. each unit also includes a quiz and there are three additional review sections with listening, reading and speaking activities. By the end of the course, which can be done in as few as ten days, you really feel like you understand quite a lot and are confident to produce language. It does not focus greatly on grammar but it's a great introduction to the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 12 July 2010
This review is from: Talk Russian (Book & CDs) (Paperback)
Before travelling through Russia, I decided that I'd need to learn the basics. I enlisted in an evening course and my tutor said that we all had to buy this book as it would be the course we'd be using.
The book is fantastic and really helped prepare me for the daunting trip through Russia. It's never going to teach much more than the basics, but I was surprised and delighted about how much I actually learned from this course.

I highly recommend this course for anyone wanting to learn Russian.

PS Make sure you get the version that comes with the cd too. It's essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin., 15 Aug 2010
This review is from: Talk Russian (Book & CDs) (Paperback)
very good but very basic.... also the CD moves on very quickly and completely misses sections in the book that you don't need the CD for, I find I have to keep pausing... not an issue though...

Good product, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended Product, 15 Dec 2009
By 
K. Murphy "bookhound" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Russian (Book & CDs) (Paperback)
This is ideal for the complete newcommer to Russian. The book is well laid out, clear and concise. The CDs are an enormous help in getting the pronounciation correct.

Can be used either for self study at home or in class. Either way any newcommer is unlikely to regret their choice of learning materials.

Having completed this. I would recommend moving on to the Ruslan series by John Langran.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly as advertised, 21 April 2012
This review is from: Talk Russian (Paperback)
I have purchased this book based on description published at Amazon including audio facilities but it arrived without the CD. I have contacted the seller and we agreed to return the item. Please be advised this book is comming without the CD and if you want the CD you have to purchase it separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good way to start, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Talk Russian (Book & CDs) (Paperback)
This course follows a standard format which I have already used for Italian. It is an attractive and accessible format, and I have not found a better way of starting a language quite cheaply, although I have a few complaints. If you have the discipline to work hard at the exercises, moving on to avoid getting bogged down but repeating them until the knowledge is embedded, you can learn a good deal from this book.

Bearing in mind the difficulty for an English speaker of learning the Russian alphabet, the approach used here is probably as good as any: showing the alphabet in full, but highlighting a few letters to learn at a time, starting with the easiest. It was probably a sensible decision to focus on the printed form of Russian and invite students to jot down the meanings of word in English, but I would have liked a lesson devoted to writing in Russian.

Again, the complexities of grammar are probably skirted round quite well at this basic stage e.g. saying that some words like "open" and "closed" must agree with the words they describe, and showing whether words are masculine, feminine or neuter.

I was a bit irritated by the need to keep flipping to the back to check the answers to exercises. I suppose this forces the student to make a real effort to answer without cheating, and it would probably add to the production cost to integrate answers clearly into the questions and tasks.

My main criticism is that I would like every Russian word or phrase in the booklet to be recorded for practice on the CD e.g. on page 52, a list of facilities in a town centre like supermarket or chemist is left for you to work out, possibly using the index, which is fine, but the words are not spoken for you to hear. Cutting out the repetitive jingle would give more space on the CD for this!

Also, some of the conversations are quite fast, which is good practice, but I would like a greater number of them to provide more opportunities to develop competence e.g. more examples of different types of drink you might order, more chance to practise numbers which I find quite hard, more opportunities to listen and talk about the things you may really need like directions, use of public transport, situations in hotels and restaurants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talk Russian, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Russian (Book & CDs) (Paperback)
This book is excellent for a beginner who would like to learn the basics of the language. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to start learning Russian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Russian (Paperback)
Found this item very useful in my Russian language course.It was highly recommended by my tutor,and easy to see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Talk Russian book and CDs, 13 Dec 2011
By 
J. M. Heskins "janetheski" (Surbiton,Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Russian (Book & CDs) (Paperback)
As I am taking GCSE Russian in June 2012 on the basis of two hours per week in the way of lessons over three years,I need all of the help I can get.

The most difficult aspect of the language for me is speaking and listening, particularly listening. This is where the CDs are so helpful. It is probably a good idea to listen to the language without looking at the text and then checking against the text.

I already know most of the vocabulary but it sounds different from what I expect - so the discs are really helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talk Russian (Book & CDs)
Talk Russian (Book & CDs) by Svetlana Furlong (Paperback - 8 Feb 2006)
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews