Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent teaching material for beginners in German, but...
This book was purchased upon advice from the college with whom I'm doing a 'Beginners German' course. The book comes either with or without a supporting audio CDs (for an approximate extra 10 pounds). Since the college didn't specify that the CD would be useful, I chose to purchase just the book.

I have since realised that the addition of the CD is really an...
Published on 13 Nov 2010 by DrFoster

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some disappointment
Although the external of the book was in good condition, the previous owner had made hand-written notes on many of the pages. It is understandable as it is a work book.

On the otherhand the content of the book is A1 and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone learning German. empfehlenswert!
Published 17 months ago by N. Lawrence


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent teaching material for beginners in German, but..., 13 Nov 2010
This review is from: Deutsch Plus (Paperback)
This book was purchased upon advice from the college with whom I'm doing a 'Beginners German' course. The book comes either with or without a supporting audio CDs (for an approximate extra 10 pounds). Since the college didn't specify that the CD would be useful, I chose to purchase just the book.

I have since realised that the addition of the CD is really an integral part of the book, and unfortunately, I do not believe you can order seperately at a later date. So I would advise choosing the CD version at the time of purchase. Having said that, it does have a full transcript at the rear of the book, so if money is tight, all is not lost.

In a nutshell;
-----------------

- The book itself is of great quality, the print is full colour, and nice quality paper (211 pages).
- Contains a very useful German to English glossary at the back.
- Contains a section on word groups; eg: Countries, occupations, family, parts of body, shopping, health, numbers, time, dates, buildings, etc.
- Contains a section on key grammatical concepts.
- Allows you to work through each excercise and mark in the book, and has the answers at the back.
- A full set of audio transcripts is at the back of the book, so the book is still useable with or without the audio CD's.
- So far, I have found the material well laid out and great to work through. Just as expected from BBC material.

So, all in all, a very good book for beginners of German. BUT - do consider spending the extra and gettig the audio CD's with the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars German beginners, 30 Oct 2009
This review is from: Deutsch Plus (Paperback)
I've bought this book as suggested by my German teacher. It's a course for German beginners and it is based on a story of a Rumanian guy that goes to work in Germany. The story and videos related are quite funny and not too much cunning, but useful. The online exercises on the BBC website are really useful to improve your knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn the basics to get by, 2 Nov 2009
This review is from: Deutsch Plus (Paperback)
This book was recommended for my introduction to German class at the location adult education centre.
It is easy to follow with interesting day to day topics.
The chapters are colourful and include elements of grammar.
The tutor uses the link CD - I find the speech is a quite quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reservations, but no competition!, 4 Feb 2009
By 
The Doc "discdoc" (Hove) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deutsch Plus (Paperback)
This is a colloquial German course and in particular the TV series part is very orientated to spoken German, and is rebroadcast from time to time. That's good up to a point, most people learn language by listening. The transcripts are available on the BBC website. The course is pretty old with a production date of 1995.

I have been trying to use it to build up my limited knowledge of German. However I do not find the introduction or progression of language skill either logical or well explained in the course book. Now I have gone to a German teacher who is using the earlier BBC series Deutsche Direkt, which is much easier to follow. Unfortunately German is a difficult language and although the BBC has tried to minimise the need to learn grammar, it really is essential to have it introduced early on and clearly explained.

Having said that, Deutsche Plus is fun, and does have a vast amount of useful phrases. The acting and storyline are inspired; it is very funny and there is a lot of underlying innuendo that is cleverly done. They use a lot of diffferent actors and often the speech is rather muffled which is not ideal for learning. They also speak almost from the first episode at full speed, thus it is necessary to keep replaying the dialogue. The documentaries are introduced at far too hard a level early on.

This may sound rather negative until you try to think of an alternative course, with the visuals...well, there isn't one, and it is a really inexpensive way to learn German. But it won't get in by osmosis, you will have to work at it, ja?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good german language book, 16 Feb 2011
By 
'74'75 (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deutsch Plus (Paperback)
Having already done a fair bit of german about 8 or 9 years ago, this book has been ideal at getting me back up to speed and learning a lot more to boot. It's very colourful and nicely laid out so a tenner well spent :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A+, 14 Nov 2009
By 
C. Stone "Chnatnab" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deutsch Plus (Paperback)
Great for beginners! Couldnt learn by yourself from this book but perfect for a course! Recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good qualiaty, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deutsch Plus (Paperback)
Absolutely delighted with this book. Even though it described it as being in very good condition, I did expect to see some wear and tear and perhaps some writing inside but it really was in pristine condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deutsch Plus course book, 10 Dec 2013
This review is from: Deutsch Plus (Paperback)
Very good quality second hand book. Easy to follow with the CD course. Clearly set out with suitable scenarios. Good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some disappointment, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deutsch Plus (Paperback)
Although the external of the book was in good condition, the previous owner had made hand-written notes on many of the pages. It is understandable as it is a work book.

On the otherhand the content of the book is A1 and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone learning German. empfehlenswert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Based on the BBC language course, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Lynn (Farnham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deutsch Plus (Paperback)
Syuggested by my language class teacher, this book provides an easy to use introduction to german - i didn't get the accompanying CD as I'm attending classes, but that might be useful too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deutsch Plus
Deutsch Plus by Susan Ainslie (Paperback - 19 Aug 2004)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews