Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars17
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2010
I'm building up quite a collection of these Radio 4 dramas based on Agatha Christie's novels and, on the whole, I'm enjoying them enormously. Having planned to only buy a few of my favourites among the novels, I can well imagine that I'll end up buying most of them eventually because the quality is so good. John Moffat is an excellent Poirot, the accent understated and the humour very subtle but always there. There is a moment near the end of this adaptation of 'After The Funeral' as Poirot is about to launch into his denoument and someone says 'Why can't you just tell us straight out who did it?" Poirot replies, 'Because it is my way!" I like that, it explains the inherent artificial set up of gathering all the suspects for the long explanation, and I smiled!

Anyway, I've always like 'After The Funeral'. I like the characters and the solution is really rather fun and quite ingenious. Christie gives one of her most interesting murderers and the victim is also interesting in her own way. As with most of these radio adaptations, the script is very faithful to the book and the voice acting is pretty much impeccable. At approx an hour and a half its one of the shorter plays but I don't think anything is lost and the whole thing is very enjoyable.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2011
Cora disrupts the reading on a will by asking "after all he was murdered wasn't he?" and the fun begins. Classic Christie superbly produced. Perfect for a rainy evening with a cup of coccoa. Don Wardell KWXY Radio Palm Springs.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
Very good presentation. The dramatisation is really excellent, makes the plot clear and easy to follow. Very entertaining. My only trouble is that I finished it sooner than expected since I really wanted it to last three or four days!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Although not one of Agatha Christie's best known Poirot stories, it lags a distance behind Murder on the Orient Express or Death on the Nile for example, After The Funeral is a fine example of classic era Christie.

After the funeral of Richard Abernethie, his family meet for the reading of his will. Her sister Cora Lansquenet causes consternation when she claims that Richard was murdered. When she is brutally murdered a few days later, Poirot is called in to investigate.

One of the joys of the long running Radio 4 series of Poirot adaptations starring the late John Moffatt was the way they stuck quite closely to the original source material. The David Suchet ITV series has somewhat lost it's way in recent years, with adaptations that have less and less to do with Christie.

The radio plays, whilst compressing or changing elements in order to fit the running time, still always manage to honour the spirit of Christie's original story.

At 90 minutes, After The Funeral doesn't outstay its welcome, and has a decent twist at the end. Another entertaining release.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
Quirky story with live cast. Not one of the best but still enjoyable. Not one to listen to time ad time again in my opinion. But don't forget not everyone's opinion is the same so please try it yourself and then leave your own feedback.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Got this for my mum for Christmas and she listens to it often. It's one of the one's that's been televised but don't expect the televised versions will be exactly the same as these versions more closely resemble the books.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
I love listening to Agatha Christie story dramatisations and this is no exception. I was delighted with the copy I received - in excellent condition and delivered very speedily which is the service I am accustomed to from Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Very disappointed with this CD. The actor portraying Poirot didn't sound at all foreign and sometimes lapsed completely into English. The story was good but the narrator was not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
great story very well read and great performance by cast u really believe u are there no need to turn the tape over easy relaxing listening expericence
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
she loved it, i have been buying these for her for years and she thinks they are great, no more trying to read books when she has audio books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse