Customer Reviews


1,288 Reviews
5 star:
 (862)
4 star:
 (173)
3 star:
 (81)
2 star:
 (70)
1 star:
 (102)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


269 of 284 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've read in ages
At first glance, this book might seem like a gimmick book - the idea of a man who time travels to various parts of his own, his wife's, and other's lifetimes seems like a plot gimmick that won't hold up beyond the first chapter, but it's not! In fact, the whole time-travelling thing is just a vehicle for one of the most moving, tragic love stories I have read in quite a...
Published on 29 Jan 2004 by Liz

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to wrap your brain around.
Although this book is not one of my favorites, it is interesting and worth reading. 'The Time Traveler's Wife' is about a man who has a bizarre ability to travel back and forth in time but has no control over when and where it will happen. During one of his time traveling moments, he meets the love of his life when she is just a girl, and they proceed to have a friendly...
Published on 31 July 2007 by maya j


‹ Previous | 1 2129 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

269 of 284 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've read in ages, 29 Jan 2004
At first glance, this book might seem like a gimmick book - the idea of a man who time travels to various parts of his own, his wife's, and other's lifetimes seems like a plot gimmick that won't hold up beyond the first chapter, but it's not! In fact, the whole time-travelling thing is just a vehicle for one of the most moving, tragic love stories I have read in quite a while.
The Time Traveler's Wife tells the intruiging story of Clare and Henry, who meet when Claire is 6 and Henry is 36 but marry when Claire is 20 and Henry 28. It describes in dramatic detail, their unusual meeting, and their lives together and not. Their story is full of up and downs - Clare can never be sure when Henry will disappear next, where to, or when he will come back. This adds a certain fleetingness and intensity to their relationship, particularily the earlier parts. As the book continues, it adds more flesh and detail to the two central characters; their friends, family, and relationships before and after they met each other. This ensures that the characters are well developed and described - not just reflections of each other.
This book is beautifully written, poignant and incredibly moving - I would recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


374 of 400 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, moving, original, 16 July 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this after browsing through people's book lists on this site (a great place to find new books!) and finally started reading it yesterday. And finished reading it. It's a massive book so that should give an indication of how much I enjoyed it!
Reading other reviews here should have already given you an idea of the story's content, so I suggest you do what I did and just buy it. I tried not to let myself be too influenced by the reviews here, other than by being convinced that I would enjoy it - and I was right. I really, really enjoyed it and read it on the outward and return journeys on the train (3 hours each way).
The story is highly original and told from the points of view of Clare and Henry at different points in their lives. This is quite confusing at times but you soon get used to it. What's different and intricate is that you're reading the story out of synch, because Henry can exist in different times as he time travels through his own history. This in itself makes for an intriguing read.
But for me - the crux of the story is about love. Call me an old (young actually) romantic but I just loved this aspect of the story. Before you assume anything, I'm not your typical chick-lit reader - in fact I avoid it like the plague - but this is not typical chick-lit. It's so moving and beautifully told that I had to try not to cry on the train, and spent a long time thinking about it after I'd finished.
I know this review doesn't really say much about the plot but that's because I really think you should buy it and read it with an open mind. Prepare to be entertained - you'll laugh, wonder, and probably cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I would never have bought it myself... mistake..., 2 Dec 2005
By A Customer
I was lent this by a friend, and I actually thought that I might not enjoy it. I am often put off by American authors, and it had the look of either sci-fi or a wishy washy romance novel. It was neither. An extremely powerful novel that provides a beautiful portrayal of love under difficult circumstances, and people at different stages of their lives. I couldn't put it down, and was in tears at the end, even though you're prepared for what happened. A marvellous novel. I'm lucky I didn't judge by appearances and ignore it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


152 of 168 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Time Traveler's Wife, 2 Jun 2005
By 
A A (Bromley, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I fell so deeply in love with the main character, Henry DeTamble that I was actually depressed for days after finishing this book! It is very rare that you read a book that totally immerses you. Audrey has developed characters that are so real in an emotional sense that they pull you on the journey they go through. I really felt the highs and lows that Henry experienced particularly the loneliness and isolation he often felt when 'leaping' through his own past and future. The relationships in the book are beautifully written and it is impossible not to connect with them. I loved the way that Audrey explored the different levels of Henry's relationship with Claire from guardian and father figure in her early childhood to lover and husband in her adult life. The beginning of the book was a bit complex but towards the end of it you wonder at the simplicity of it. I have found myself since finishing the book imagining and wondering what will become of the characters and implore Audrey to write a follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply moving book that I will always remember., 6 Aug 2009
The timetravellers wife is now going to be put onto to my 'favourites' book shelf. It's basically a love story with an almost sci-fi twist.

I don't want to give too much away but the concept of the book is about a man who travels to different times without control. His wife Clare meets him for the first time when she is 6 and he is 36. However he meets her for the first time in his 20's. Although the timetravelling aspect of this book gives it the 'twist', the book is really about the charcaters love for each other and how their relationship develops.

Each chapter starts of with a label of Clare or Henry and details both their ages. Although initally this is a bit confusing, for me it turns out to be one of the best features of the books as you get to see the realtionship and emotions from both sides.

Be warned this book is emotionally moving. There are parts where I laughed out loud and many parts where I cried for a variety of reasons. All in all it is an excellent book and well both reading! I have already read it twice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisitely beautiful..., 18 Jun 2009
By 
C. Ball (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is one of those books that kills me every time I read it. It is just the most beautiful love story I have ever read. The idea of it, a book about a man with a genetic disorder that makes him time-travel within his own lifetime, sounds so ridiculous and yet it works so wonderfully, and Henry is such a fantastic character and his relationship with Clare is so moving. The end of this book makes me weep like a baby every time, even though you know it's coming right from the start, and that's the point. This is a book where everything is mixed up and you know the end from the start but the end isn't really the end, and oh, it's hard to explain. But I would make everyone read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book of 2004, 8 Nov 2004
By 
K A Sandford-Clisby (North Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
I've never written a review before but felt that I just had to comment on this wonderful book.
This book moved me so much - I laughed and cried. I can't remember the last book that affected me so much. This is a huge book, both in terms of length and themes. It is a beautifully crafted elegy to love, longing and absence. The time travelling concept takes a little getting used to but this is what gives the novel its unique charm. I'm not a sci-fi fan at all but the author handles it with a lightness of touch. It is essentially a love story with a difference. Henry and Clare's relationship is portrayed so compassionately without ever being maudlin. The bitter sweet ending left me in floods of tears - it was as if Henry and Clare were people I knew. There have been a lot of comparisons to "The Lovely Bones". I loved that book too but "The Time Traveler's Wife" is still with me five days after finishing it. It is so rare to find a novel that is original, well written and unafraid of taking on some big themes. The only problem I have now is finding another book to match it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly......excellent!, 26 Nov 2005
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read the synopsis for this book many times and each time decided that it just wasn’t my cup of tea. But when I kept seeing rave reviews about this book curiosity got the better of me. So I bought it……and I loved it! I wouldn’t normally buy a book that mentions time travel as ‘science fiction’ books just don’t interest me. But The Time Traveller’s Wife doesn’t fit into the genre of science fiction anymore than it fits into the genre of a love story. But at the same time its both. Confused? I was too. All I can tell you for certain is that this is a highly addictive book. It will have you laughing one minute and give you a lump in your throat with emotion the next. It’s a real page-turner and I’ll be keeping an eye on Audrey Niffenegger in the future to see what else she has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lump in the throat..., 14 Oct 2008
I finished this book twenty minutes ago. There was a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes. For once I'm not thinking about football, and checking my emails, and what's for dinner. I'm thinking about love, and loss, and life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenominal, 3 Jun 2005
By 
S. Booker "Sarah Booker" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This beautiful novel took me totally by surprised. It is a love story, but dealt with in such an unusual way because the hero travels through time without any control. The characters were really well rounded and so human, I felt I really understood them and could relate to the trauma, worry, and love. I have to admit I was bawling my eyes out at the end even though I knew what it was going to be because I'm good at predicting these things. However, I wouldn't say it was a predictable book in anyway. It's certainly a joy to read and unputdownable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2129 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8cdda98)

This product

The Time Traveler's Wife
The Time Traveler's Wife by Audrey Niffenegger (Audio CD - 1 Aug 2005)
Used & New from: 1.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews