Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars15
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2006
I bought this book with a gift certificate. I am not from England so much of the geography and names go right over me. However, there is a style of writing here that attracts me to every page. It is almost as if I have known A Bennett or he has known me all my/his life. I am sharing his thoughts and deeds throught these years. Mr Bennett is very understated.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2010
If you are any kind of fan of Alan Bennett, then this is for you!! Bennetts touching but never maudling memories of his family (especially his funny tales of his formidable aunties - role models if ever for all those northern soaps) are fabulous! Anyone with northern connections, or any memories of Leeds will find this especially compelling, as that "distinctive" northern voice takes you through his personal family revelations (aswell as the tedium of a childhood spent hanging around the restricted social circles of his shy parents).
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2005
Listening to Alan Bennett reading his work adds an extra dimension - it's rather like an old friend confiding his private and personal memories. I'm not a fan of audiobooks but this one's an exception and worth replaying.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
I wouldn't have the temerity to review the work of Alan Bennett, whom I regard as the finest English playwright alive, whether writing for the stage, film or television. His various pieces of autobiography are no less remarkable, in their combination of insight, intelligence, compassion and humour. Untold Stories is a wonderful piece of writing, and translates into an equally wonderful audiobook, read beautifully by Bennett himself. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
A superbly written autobiography, honest, intelligent, subtle and moving. Alan Bennett discovered he had cancer when he started working on this book, and feared it would be published posthumously. Luckily this is not the case. He was treated successfully and we can enjoy his sharp observations of the people around him in his formative years, written beautifully and sincerely. Warmly recommend it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2010
Funny, thought provoking and oh so true enjoy this man's genius and buy the wholes series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
Great ! Lovely to listen to on audio.Pleased with quick delivery. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
GOOD usual witty and interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Just as expected - good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Every home should have a copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)