Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 2 Feb. 2006
By 
S. Barresi (Sicily, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Untold Stories - Part 1: Stories: Stories Pt. 1 (Audio CD)
I bought this book with a gift certificate. I am not from England so much of the geography and names go right over me. However, there is a style of writing here that attracts me to every page. It is almost as if I have known A Bennett or he has known me all my/his life. I am sharing his thoughts and deeds throught these years. Mr Bennett is very understated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen with Alan, 15 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Untold Stories - Part 1: Stories: Stories Pt. 1 (Audio CD)
Listening to Alan Bennett reading his work adds an extra dimension - it's rather like an old friend confiding his private and personal memories. I'm not a fan of audiobooks but this one's an exception and worth replaying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emotional, touching & funny!!, 14 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Untold Stories - Part 1: Stories: Stories Pt. 1 (Audio CD)
If you are any kind of fan of Alan Bennett, then this is for you!! Bennetts touching but never maudling memories of his family (especially his funny tales of his formidable aunties - role models if ever for all those northern soaps) are fabulous! Anyone with northern connections, or any memories of Leeds will find this especially compelling, as that "distinctive" northern voice takes you through his personal family revelations (aswell as the tedium of a childhood spent hanging around the restricted social circles of his shy parents).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended without hesitation, 29 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untold Stories - Part 1: Stories: Stories Pt. 1 (Audio CD)
I wouldn't have the temerity to review the work of Alan Bennett, whom I regard as the finest English playwright alive, whether writing for the stage, film or television. His various pieces of autobiography are no less remarkable, in their combination of insight, intelligence, compassion and humour. Untold Stories is a wonderful piece of writing, and translates into an equally wonderful audiobook, read beautifully by Bennett himself. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars intelligent, subtle and moving, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untold Stories - Part 1: Stories: Stories Pt. 1 (Audio CD)
A superbly written autobiography, honest, intelligent, subtle and moving. Alan Bennett discovered he had cancer when he started working on this book, and feared it would be published posthumously. Luckily this is not the case. He was treated successfully and we can enjoy his sharp observations of the people around him in his formative years, written beautifully and sincerely. Warmly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bennett at his best, 27 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Untold Stories - Part 1: Stories: Stories Pt. 1 (Audio CD)
Funny, thought provoking and oh so true enjoy this man's genius and buy the wholes series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untold Stories - Part 1: Stories: Stories Pt. 1 (Audio CD)
as advertised and prompt delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Untold Stories - Part 1: Stories: Stories Pt. 1 (Audio CD)
Just as expected - good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untold Stories - Part 1: Stories: Stories Pt. 1 (Audio CD)
Every home should have a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable product, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untold Stories - Part 1: Stories: Stories Pt. 1 (Audio CD)
Enjoyable product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Untold Stories - Part 1: Stories: Stories Pt. 1
Untold Stories - Part 1: Stories: Stories Pt. 1 by Alan Bennett (Audio CD - 10 Oct. 2005)
£13.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews