Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars15
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 July 2005
When I originally listened to the HHGTTG in the 80s, I listened to it countless times, each time picking up on a new thread of the story, discovering more jokes and catch lines. This, as with the 3rd and 4rd phases, is in the same vein. You need to listen to it several times to really appreciate it.
Brilliant stuff, and about time.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2005
It's quite an undertaking to draw to a close a cult sage that spans four decades, but the BBC manages to pull it off in fine style.
Part of the attraction of listening to this is not just the assured performances of the 'original' cast, (Geoffery McGivern and Simon Jones are completely at home as Ford and Arthur) but recognising the other less central characters and the familiar voices behind them.
The last phase not only manages to neatly tie up all loose ends from all other series, but also be a less downbeat finale than the book was. To get the benefit of this, though, you have to listen to the Hollywood happy ending which is unexpected to those familiar with the book. It works, but takes a leap of faith to hope that it is as the author would want it.
Nice to hear Douglas Adams one more time, too.
Over all, a joy to behold.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
For something that was cleverly pared down to a few brief episodes there was the inclusion of a most unwelcome, happy, ending that was totally unnecessary and ultimately spoilt the memory of the great 5-book trilogy. I won't spoil anyone's enjoyment by saying what it was, but if you've read the book then you should know the ending and when to reach for the pause/stop switch - so do yourself a favour and do it! If you've not read the book then maybe you'll not be as disappointed, but think of your favourite film and change the ending from happy to sad or vice-versa and you'll get an idea of the general wrongness of what has been done to this series/book/phase. And more of the true storyline could have been included in the show if the extra end had been omitted.
That said, I have to say that it's the only HHGTTG book/audio book/tv episode/film that I think I've audibly chuckled at - I've loved them all (okay, apart from the film) but Colin the Security Robot was so funny it caused a collection of snorts and giggles as I tried to contain myself whilst listening to it on the old iPod.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 January 2011
This is a good finale to the radio series, not perfect but pretty enjoyable and with some good humour.
This story pretty much wraps up the radio series and does a good job of of tying up most of the loose ends.
My only complaint was that it felt a bit rushed, as though it had been squeezed into 4 episodes when really 5 or 6 would have been better. But this did not detract from my enjoyment of the story.

I would say that if you have listened to the other parts of the story then give this a go, it's worth it if only to hear all the plot lines bought to a finish.
If you've not listened to the previous parts it will be confusing and I'd recommend listening t the other parts first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
What can say other than fantastic. I heard the first broadcast of the The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy in 1978 on the radio.. and was hooked then.. Douglas Admas' observation on us human thingies and our stange and weird behaviours is probably more spot on and full of wisdom than any religious, theological or philosophical treatise ever written or handed down!! I think I've been reprogrammed to be like Colin - oh so blissfully happy!! And 42 really is the answer to life the Universe and Everything.... but what was the question again??
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2005
. . . but is that what we really want from our H2G2?
The Zarniwoop/Bird sequences are maddeningly ill-executed and suffer from chasms in logic and continuity, which throws the rest of the series into shadow. The ending is a nice tying together of loose ends, and would seem to satisfy Adams' plans to continue the H2G2 metaplot, but is a bit too sentimental and perfect. Radio H2G2's strength is (or was) its lack of sentimentality and fluff, which have since permeated the last three series to saturation point. Furthermore, the new abilities attributed to the babel fish become unbelievable, even for H2G2.
"Mostly Harmless" was an interesting book; as a radio series it is too slow. Adams was a good writer; Dirk Maggs isn't Douglas Adams and never will be. That, it would seem, is his greatest failing, but he also fails to grasp the true essence of the H2G2 multiverse. Fans will be disappointed. However, if you plan to read the book, this may be a faster alternative.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2011
good but wierd...i like the surrealness of it (if thats even a word... :P) i love the ideas that doug had to be honest!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
The best one yet, loved it, have it on my iPod and listen to it all of the time, a great audio-book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2005
While the universe apparently has no boundaries, the same cannot be said of the shelf-life of the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. I wanted to like this as much as I've liked all the other Hitchhiker radio plays, books and TV series...all of which I proudly own and contentedly devour. But, there is a point from beyond which there is no return. In fact, listening to this, I finally realized why it is a good thing that the Beatles never reunited. Sometimes, you need to Let it Be.
The play starts out well. In fact, the beginning (including the description and story of the Grebulons) had me laughing out loud. Very, very funny stuff. Ford's return to the Hitchhiker building...very funny. But then, the play tried to do something it shouldn't have done...it tried to be clever and plot-driven...at the expense of being just plain funny and lighthearted.
It was a string of marvelous, lustrous pearls...without the string. The last time a plot was this thick and complex, Peter Jackson directed it into more than 10 delightful hours of The Lord of the Rings. With only two hours at their disposal, the writer/director threw in everything he possibly could to, evidently, employ as many actors as humanly possible in as short a space of time as possible.
Trillian, as Ford once said, is a girl "full of hidden shallows." To expand her into two characters and a major role is spreading the butter a bit thin on the bread. And it's not butter, it's margarine. Zarniwoop deadened the plot just as it was getting started, which seems to be his function. The Vogons who, according to the Guide, are "not actually evil" are now actually evil. Subtlety: gone. Nuance: gone. Different word for subtlety or nuance: gone. This is what happens when thoughts are replaced with afterthoughts.
I'm glad the cast had the chance to say goodbye. But a simple, etched fishbowl would have done the job. I've kept my receipt, in case reverse temporal engineering ever becomes a reality. My opinion in a nutshell: 41.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
Very entertaining and imaginative. Good for long travels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse