Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "London isn't the same without the Temples."
I was quick to order and delighted to listen to this latest BBC reissue of one of the Paul Temple radio serials. This one is as good as any of them. Their prolific creator, Francis Durbridge, has Temple and his wife Steve investigating a crime involving drugs and women’s coats, thereby giving the wonderful Marjorie Westbury, who plays Steve, rather more to do than...
Published on 15 May 2004 by John Austin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Genteel crime for middle England
I was attracted to this audio book as the narrator is the wonderful Toby Stephens. Being an avid crime fan, but never having read any of Francis Durbridge's books, I was intrigued. Paul Temple and his frail but intrepid wife Steve live in the world of London's upper class in the 1960's. He says things like `By Timothy' quite a lot, and Steve often complains that her...
Published on 10 May 2011 by J. Coulton


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "London isn't the same without the Temples.", 15 May 2004
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Margo Mystery (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
I was quick to order and delighted to listen to this latest BBC reissue of one of the Paul Temple radio serials. This one is as good as any of them. Their prolific creator, Francis Durbridge, has Temple and his wife Steve investigating a crime involving drugs and women’s coats, thereby giving the wonderful Marjorie Westbury, who plays Steve, rather more to do than is usual.
Older listeners will want to settle comfortably in the best chair as soon as the theme (Coronation Scot) begins. Younger listeners might find that crime serials on radio from the 1960s had most of the best features of today’s TV equivalent together with much more charm.
Each episode is heard in its entirety here (some Paul Temple reissues have joined them all together), the eight episodes occupying 4 CDs. The sound quality is satisfactory for its era. One’s ear soon adjusts to a plain AM signal. I found that some treble boost helped.
BBC Audiobooks are warning that this (seventh) Paul Temple mystery is the penultimate one that will be reissued. This one ends with Paul announcing that he and Steve will now take a holiday in Jamaica, news that prompts Sir Graham Forbes to say, “Come back soon. London isn’t the same without the Temples.”
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As near perfect as a Paul Temple mystery can get!, 12 May 2004
In my opinion, this is probably the best in this series so far. Whilst there are the usual elements present in all the Paul Temple radio dramas - an explosive device, motor accidents and fatal beatings - the Margo Mystery has a more direct plot-line and a quicker pace than some of the other stories. There are none of the annoying characters with accents that grate who take up air-time without really contributing much to the story, e.g. Louis Fabian (Gilbert Case), Wilfred Davies (Alex Affair). Better still, the interplay between Paul and Steve is slicker, more natural and warmer than ever. And - wonder of wonders -Steve gets to do a bit more sleuthing than she is usually allowed! My only gripe is that James Thomason is a bit dry for the part of Sir Graham Forbes, especially after the hale-and-hearty Lester Mudditt in previous stories.
"Absolute heaven, darling!", as Steve would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of life as we know it!, 12 May 2004
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Margo Mystery (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Another very welcome dose of Paul and Steve to lift me out of the real world and into a more refined land full of cocktails, screeching cars, foreign trips and "Hello Sir Graham" BUT WAIT - DISASTER - according to the BBC store site this is the PENULTIMATE Paul Temple to be released. Help! write to your MP save us all and ensure that more of these gems are released - if not my decorating will never be tham same again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blast from the Past, 17 July 2006
By 
James R. Hunter (Sao Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Margo Mystery (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
I first heard the Margo Mystery and other Paul Temple serials on KCRW in Los Angeles in the 1980s and have missed the elegant dramatic qualities of good radio serials. The Margo Mystery is among the best of the Temple series and this cd edition loses none of the charm of the over the air broadcast. The story of drug running, coats, murder and an elegant Knightsbridge lifestyle of days gone by, this series also involves the cliffhangers between episodes (8 in all) that were typical of both audio and visual dramas. This Paul Temple story is a pleasure to hear and to imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marjorie Westbury delights as "Steve", 2 Aug 2011
By 
Don Wardell (Palm Springs - KWXY Radio) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Margo Mystery (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
This is classic Durbridge material, so very well produced by Martyn C Webster. There were many Paul Temple's over the years but none could compete with the team of Peter Coke and Marjorie Westbury. Miss Westbury captures the elegance of Steve Temple and is a delight. I marvel at her inflections
and zest. This l961 production concerns a designer called "Margo" whose clothing turns up at various abduction and murder sites. It's the usual mix of visiting Americans and cockney garage owners but who can resist. This together with the "Lawerence Affair" are the top two Paul Temple serials. Don't miss out. Again thank you Miss Westbury for your talent. In real life Marjorie was a small rather plump much older lady. On radio she is the tall and elegant Steve Temple we have grown to love. Don Wardell KWXY Radio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for a long car journey, 19 May 2011
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was given this in time for a long car journey on business.

Toby Stevens does a splendid job, his voices did not send me to sleep.

The plot is quite silly in places but very enjoyable, all the same.

I liked listening to this sort of radio broadcastt on car journeys over the years. There was nothing on the radio this time and I was pleased to have this set with me.

The 6 CD set was due to come to an end about 5 minutes before I got home so I actually slowed down to hear the end. I think that is testament to its entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jolly good fun, 25 April 2012
By 
Skeadugenga (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Paul Temple has been going as a radio detective since 1938 and "Paul Temple and the Margo Mystery" was adapted for radio by Francis Durbridge in 1986.

There has been some attempt to update these stories of upper class Paul and his wife Steve from the 1930s, Paul returns home on Concorde - which would set the scene in the late 60s or 70s - but Durbridge was an old fashioned gentleman, who seems to have only included the bits of the modern world that he liked, so that the overwhelming feeling is of a 1930s timewarp, where Steve is expected to hand round the tea and be decorative and rescued while Paul does the investigating. Indeed when he sent her off to investigate a dress shop with the stipulation that she buy only one dress I said something very rude at the player. Harriet Vane would have made mincemeat of Paul and bought her own damn dresses, but Steve is meek and mild and the epitome of what 1930s man considered proper in a wife.

However, if you take these as 30s set stories and ignore Steve's subordinate role then this is a good mystery only slightly marred by the resolution being as a result of people telling Temple things rather than him deducing. I was still baffled by the end of the second disk despite the fact that the body count had started to rise. A thoroughly entertaining listen in the car and like another reviewer I found myself sitting outside the house waiting for the disk to end.

Toby Stephens is a superlative reader, his voices and accents distinctive enough that you know without being told which character is talking and he's particularly good on the female voices, you do forget that it is one person reading the whole thing and start to think that its a radio play.

Overall, very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't worry, Paul Temple is on the case ...., 9 Jun 2011
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Durbridge's Paul Temple and his intrepid wife Steve are fantastic creations and as such they deserve the honour of having a talented artist to read the beautifully crafted stories in which they appear. Toby Stephens is, therefore, one of the top picks and it is he who helps, with the talent of the author whose words he reads, to make this a delightful BBC Audio book offering.
Paul Temple mysteries are a great way to while away some time and their plots carry you along until the very end. In this perplexing mystery, Paul and Steve find themselves in danger again. If you are anything like me then you'll find yourself wanting to listen non-stop until the climax - a difficult task as this BBC Audio release is complete and unabridged!
Durbridge's Paul Temple mysteries rarely disappoint - in my experience they only do if they are let down by the reader. This one certainly isn't let down by the excellent reading of Toby Stephens and the story certainly doesn't disappoint. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure entertainment, 10 May 2011
By 
OC (London, England) - See all my reviews
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
... And six hours of it! Fast paced, this story is (very well) read [i.e. not dramatised], and will give you hours of entertainment. I listened to it on a long haul flight and my neighbours must have wondered why I laughed or jumped in my seat. A very good gift for someone who likes mystery & adventure stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Genteel crime for middle England, 10 May 2011
By 
J. Coulton "Julia Coulton" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was attracted to this audio book as the narrator is the wonderful Toby Stephens. Being an avid crime fan, but never having read any of Francis Durbridge's books, I was intrigued. Paul Temple and his frail but intrepid wife Steve live in the world of London's upper class in the 1960's. He says things like `By Timothy' quite a lot, and Steve often complains that her little feet hurt in her high heeled shoes. They have a servant whom Temple refers to others as `my man'; and a Faberge box on their mantelpiece - yes this is a different world indeed.

Temple is approached by a distant acquaintance to help with a problem involving the daughter of a friend of his. She wants to marry someone her father does not approve of, but ends up getting murdered. Now that whets Temple's appetite and his investigative juices start to flow. Stephens gets chance to shine with his range of character voices put to great use her - from cockney criminal, to rough Brummies, to gruff Yorkshiremen, to the lovely aforementioned Steve. But it's a story for Daily Mail readers really. Upper class stiff upper lip prevailing over a gang of drug dealing murderers. It is amusing enough, but not really my style of crime at all. Give me down and dirty with Spiral or The Killing any day over this gentile upper class crime genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paul Temple and the Margo Mystery (BBC Radio Collection)
Paul Temple and the Margo Mystery (BBC Radio Collection) by Francis Durbridge (Audio CD - 3 May 2004)
£16.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews