Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've got to admire your balls ... maybe later
The whole series is captured here on three CD's, two episodes per CD each split into around 8 seperate tracks.

Its superb stuff and laugh out loud funny. I was worried before buying about whether this would be a good enough substitute for the brilliant TV series but you needn't worry. It works really well. Since you are robbed of your eyes (so to speak) then...
Published on 11 July 2007 by Graham

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blackadder Goes Forth
The recordings are very good with good sound quality and I enjoyed listening to the CDs. However, the packaging was very poor and as a result the plastic case was damaged beyond repair. Very disappointing.
Published 23 months ago by Jaguar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've got to admire your balls ... maybe later, 11 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Blackadder Goes Forth (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
The whole series is captured here on three CD's, two episodes per CD each split into around 8 seperate tracks.

Its superb stuff and laugh out loud funny. I was worried before buying about whether this would be a good enough substitute for the brilliant TV series but you needn't worry. It works really well. Since you are robbed of your eyes (so to speak) then you listen that much harder to the dialogue and I felt that I picked up more of the gems served up by the writers.

All the original cast are here. I wasn't bothered that the audience laughter is captured on the CD's - I was usually laughing over the top of them anyway.

Recommended as a way of killing those commuting hours or cheering yourself up or whatever. This was my favourite of the Blackadder series but the set is so good, I'm looking at getting all the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Good luck, everyone.", 26 Dec 2013
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackadder Goes Forth (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Disregarding what was (in my view) a rubbish first series, Blackadder was a sitcom of perfection, one-episode after the next throughout three succeeding series, a one-shot for Comic Relief (`The Cavalier Years') and a Christmas Special (`Blackadder's Christmas Carol'). All throughout history, incarnations of nasty & brilliant Edmund Blackadder and his foul, dim-witted slave Baldrick would appear, leaving their infallible mark age-after-age.

For the fourth & final series of the Blackadder Dynasty, writers Richard Curtis & Ben Elton provided a difficult historical premise in World War One. Obviously, the Great War 1914-1918 is nothing to make fun of, and the idea of making a sitcom based on the subject was surely a high-risk concept.

But Elton & Curtis clearly knew what they were doing with their portrayal of life in this dark & despairing time. Their humour for Blackadder Goes Forth was timelessly sharp & hilarious, but what speaks volumes about Ben & Richard's writing is how throughout this series, they clearly emphasise their thoughts & feelings against war, and how they make sure to honour the brave sacrifices made by all those who gave their lives for their families, king & country.

Aside from handling the setting with the utmost respect & care, this final series of Blackadder scores the traditional high-points for it's incarnation of the title character, and the situation he finds himself in. Here, Captain Edmund Blackadder (impeccably portrayed as ever by Rowan Atkinson) is in command of the front line on the Western Front. `Assisting' him in the trenches are his second-in-command - the honourable, loyal & stupid Lieutenant George (Hugh Laurie) - and Private Baldrick (Tony Robinson). Further impeding his safety and desire to escape this God-awful war are his commanding officer - the INSANE General Melchett (Stephen Fry) - and his hated rival, Captain Darling (Tim McInnerny).

Like series 2 & 3 before, this fourth series is nothing but genius, thanks to perfect writing and performances from a well-chosen cast. Each episode is unforgettably good, subtle, different and distinctive, using the World War One setting to brilliant creative effect, whilst underlining the pointlessness of war at the same time. Special guest-appearances from the likes of Rik Mayall, Adrian Edmondson, Miranda Richardson & Geoffrey Palmer only make the experience of these six-episodes all the more richer.

Because of both the writing & the performances, Blackadder has been able to function just as well on audiobook as it has on television/home video. As such, it remains easily to visualise in this 3-disc CD set. However, various parts of the episodes have been edited/removed altogether, so that the program can work best in this format. While it's understandable in some respects (as there were some instances/gags in the TV Series that worked solely on a visual basis), I do question certain cases that have been removed (like where Blackadder tricks Darling into eating a dead slug), because a little imagination would all be that's required from the listener to make the gag work just as well in audio.

But it's a minor issue on what will forever be remembered as a faultless series that ended Blackadder on an absolute high. The final episode `Goodbyeee' is a truly powerful swansong (uncharacteristic of Blackadder as a whole, but beautifully poignant and necessary in paying tribute to all the fallen heroes of war) and one that makes the episode (and this series) arguably the greatest ever in Blackadder. Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackadder Goes Forth (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
who would not love this which is why it was bought! sent to a friend who is mad keen on it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excruciatingly amusing tape enjoyed by the whole family., 28 Nov 1998
By A Customer
Like all good humor base on an alternative version of the truth. Who can forget Baldricks famous "War Poems" and his exceptionally good coffee....hmm delicious !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exactly what u expect and more, 4 Oct 2010
By 
Mrs. R. Schwarz "roxyanna" (hampshire, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackadder Goes Forth (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
this was bought as a present for my dad as he love Blackadder goes forth and spends a lot of time on the road. Most defiantly not disappointed by this product.

Keeps all the humour even without the visual and has us laughing (goodness knows what the other cars think!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant collection of comedy, 9 Jun 2010
By 
SJ Welsted "SJ Welsted" (Milton Keynes, Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackadder Goes Forth (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
I saw this and knew that it would be good for my boyfriend. He absalutly loved the TV series of Black Adder and Goes Forth was his all time favourite section. The cds were true to form and even though it was the audio from the series, it is written so well that you can imagine what is going on. We played all the CDs in the car and it brightened the long journey to Scotland from London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but audience laughter is a problem, 4 July 2007
By 
G. M. Phillips "goldhart" (In a deep dark cave) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The trouble with cassettes of this nature is that they derive from the TV programme. On TV the audience laughter isn't so distracting because you have the vision too, but there should have been some way - even if it meant getting the cast together to redo the scripts - of omitting the enormously loud, ever-present audience laughter. One line by Blackadder - cue great audience laugh, second line by Baldrick - another shout of laughter -- repeat... These days, more and more comedies on TV are done without laughter tracks (or studio audiences), but it's a shame that it's too late for these works of genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than baldrick's plum duff...., 31 Aug 2000
This comedy would sound good in chinesse, portugesse, Latin, farted, burped or even french (well not's go that far) Luckily it's in our mother tounge (how we get it out of her is another matter) and it is as hilarious as a thingy shaped turnip. As Charlie chaplin said to King George V about the rumours of the incredible belching German....you've gotta hear it to beleive it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blackadder Goes Forth, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackadder Goes Forth (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
The recordings are very good with good sound quality and I enjoyed listening to the CDs. However, the packaging was very poor and as a result the plastic case was damaged beyond repair. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackadder Goes Forth (BBC Radio Collection)
Blackadder Goes Forth (BBC Radio Collection) by Ben Elton (Audio CD - 7 July 2003)
14.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews