Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BBC cast camps it up in a Middle East archaeological dig, 9 Dec 2004
By 
J. N. Valente "jnscav" (Evora, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder in Mesopotamia: BBC Radio 4 Full Cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Agatha Christie writing from experience (well, minus the gruesome events one supposes) came up with another of those claustrophobic whodunnits. And all her quintessential elements are there: exotic location, everyone is a suspect, Hercule Poirot (coming only halfway through the novel) has his little ideas.
The BBC Dramatisation is audio-perfect. Although much abridged, nothing vital to the plot is missing and the use of narrative widens the scope of what we are told. We can almost guess who the murderer is... but perhaps not quite.
Good production values / special effects. Soundtrack very evocative but somewhat repetitive. Minor characters are given much less space to develop than in the book.
But overall? Very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1994 dramatisation with John Moffatt as M. Poirot, 29 Sep 2012
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder in Mesopotamia: BBC Radio 4 Full Cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
This is a full scale dramatisation with a running time of over 2 hours. It is good to hear John Moffatt as Poirot and this is one of his earlier performances in the role. As always the story has been carefully scripted by Michael Bakewell and the serial directed by Enyd Williams. The cast has some very well known names and voices such as William Franklyn; Dorothy Tutin; Elizabeth Spriggs; Norman Rodway and Richard Todd. The clever use of sound effects and background atmosphere recreates the foreign location and this is a joy to listen to. It is good to have this cleverly edited production and all the actors who bring to life another set of colourful Agatha Christie characters. Excellent sound quality and great value price wise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 3 Dec 2013
By 
G. Andrews "Nibs" (West of UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mesopotamia: BBC Radio 4 Full Cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Huge Huge Huge fan of AC. Only like Drama with full cast radio plays.
Murder in Mes' is one of my faves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mesopotamia: BBC Radio 4 Full Cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
reminded me of sunday evenings in boarding school when we were only allowed a radio for entertainment.
i listen to it in the car and even drive a few more blocks as to hear the rest of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars christmas present, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mesopotamia: BBC Radio 4 Full Cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
another item off my son wish list as he likes listening to them in his van at work many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mesopotamia: BBC Radio 4 Full Cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Really good plot, one of Agatha's finest would highly recommend great fan of these audio's as have long journey to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars murder, 11 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mesopotamia: BBC Radio 4 Full Cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
brilliant! felt I was in Mesopotania. visuliseing all the characters. the backgroud noise brings life to the discs.keep them coming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Murderenjoyed!, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mesopotamia: BBC Radio 4 Full Cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
One of my favourite Agatha Christie stories, excellent production, John Moffatt is perfect as Hercule P, great cast, clear
listening.Good length, over two hours. Very happy with it. Had these on tape but replacing them with CD's, I enjoy them so
much.Good price from Amazon and good service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Murder in Mesopotamia/Agatha Christie, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mesopotamia: BBC Radio 4 Full Cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Another classic from the pen of Agatha Christie, fans will not be dissapointed. BBC dramatisation very good, as they usually are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Murder in Mesopatmia, 10 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Mesopotamia: BBC Radio 4 Full Cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Faithful to the book and well played by the cast, this dramatisation of murder in mesopatmia can't fail to please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder in Mesopotamia: BBC Radio 4 Full Cast Dramatisation (BBC Radio Collection)
£7.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews