Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars43
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£27.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2012
This was exactly as described. No difference in condition from a new volume bought from, say, W H Smith or anywhere else.

It was very well packed up by the seller, and arrived on time, although time really does not matter greatly --- it's not a race!!

If you have the book I want, I will certainly buy this way again. After all, there's no harm done to the author, who has already had the royalties.

Well done to the seller and to Amazon.

Brent Smith.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
I bought this book after watching the BBC program and it actually has more information of more places than the show. Nice hardcover book and the seller packed it properly in cardboard to withstand shipping. Only drawback is the resolution of the pictures, while acceptable, they are a bit grainy and not doing justice to the wonderful tuscan scenery. A good book to have nonetheless.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
Francesco Da Mosto takes us through Italy and shows us the countryside, towns-food and customs.
This along with Med Voyage and Venice, forms a trio of the most interesting books on Italy.
Also worth getting is Francesco's Kitchen.
All I can think of now is Francesco and IL BALLO DEL DOGE ! That would be an amazing collaboration between Antonia Sautter and Francesco should they want to do that project.
The book on Italy should be accompanied with the DVD Italy top to toe.
Quite a quality book, well bound, well written and fascinating.

Thank you Francesco!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2006
Thankfully i managed to record all four episodes of Francescos very entertaining Top to Toe series on Italy onto disc.

His ladish exploits in that gorgeous Alfa Spider made the series a more lite hearted affair to his magnificent Venice,and his influnce in being one of the oldest Venitian families opened doors into fabulous palaces and villas that are barred to all members of the public.

Naturally he could not spend too long in the north of the country but witnessing Lucca, Puccinis birthplace and Bolognia the oldest university in the world made what he did choose trully excelleny.Veronia was where Shakespeare based Romeo and Juiliet but Shakey never visited the place.

The highlite of the series for me was when he travelled further south to the deeply religious areas where devotion was taken to extreams.

The poverty of Naples and his mothers birthplace Palermo in Sicilli was a real journey into the real Italy that few tourists get to see.

This book brings all that and more into a highly illustrated story of Italy at its very best.

His Top to Toe series is too young to have been released onto dvd but this book is a taster of the treat yet to come.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
I loved the programme on BBC 4 and wanted to revisit the places described. The photographs are beautiful and the accompanying narrative just as good. Well worth purchasing as it could lead to planning a journey of your own, again, with this book as your guide. I cannot recommend this book enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
We originally watched the TV series on Venice so we had to go visit and fell in love with it. We now live in Tuscany and are gradually following in his footsteps around Italy. Loved the series, enjoy Francesco's love of his country and the book is superb. Un-put-downable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
Ordered a second hand book with some trepidation for a Christmas present. Arrived within 2 days during the busiest period. Item in pristine condition. Am about to hunt for another bargain right now.Would reccommend you all do the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
Quite a weighty tome. Full of beautiful pictures, mostly of stunning architecture. More of a coffee table book - and I don't mean that in a negative way - but with an informal rather than overly academic commentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
Very good quality item. Fast delivery on this product. The book was informative and pictures were beautiful definately recommend this to anyone with an interest in Itlay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2014
This was a present to someone who loves Italy, in the hope that it would bring back happy memories. Apparently it did, and is well worn now - a sure sign of approval.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)