Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "softly softly catchy monkey....
...I could catch a monkey. If I was starving, I could..."
If you enjoyed this programme, you NEED to buy this book. Set in the office of a paper merchents in Slough ("Come friendly bombs, and fall on Slough") the book contains the full scripts of the first series.
Theres loads of photos, and even the full music and lyric for "Freelove Freeway"
You either...
Published on 8 Oct. 2002

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reads like a transcript, but the extras are fun
My only problem with The Office script books is that they don't read like actual scripts so much as word for word, action for action, perfect transcriptions of the events in the show. Reading these really is like reading a description of each episode for people not allowed to own televisions. Personally I would have preferred the genuine original scripts (or outlines - I...
Published on 1 Aug. 2007 by Cambridge Writer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reads like a transcript, but the extras are fun, 1 Aug. 2007
This review is from: The Office: The Scripts (Paperback)
My only problem with The Office script books is that they don't read like actual scripts so much as word for word, action for action, perfect transcriptions of the events in the show. Reading these really is like reading a description of each episode for people not allowed to own televisions. Personally I would have preferred the genuine original scripts (or outlines - I understand much of The Office is improvised), which would surely differ slightly from the TV show and could give insights into how actors had improvised or interpreted stage directions.

I do understand though that this isn't what the fans of The Office would have wanted or expected from a scripts book, and that the book was only profitable as a reference for obsessives at the time The Office took the UK by storm. Still, it felt like a missed opportunity.

However, there is some fantastic extra material in here that you wouldn't get with a standard script, such as original emails between Brent and the TV company making the documentary, as well as a lot of colour pictures and music for some of Brent's songs in the show.

It was a tough call between three and four stars, because I can see at whom these books have been aimed and I appreciate that whoever has put them together has done a great job. I just don't really see the point of releasing the "scripts" if they're 100% identical to the show to the extent of such detailed directions that they simply must have been retroactively constructed from the programme as aired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "softly softly catchy monkey...., 8 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Office: The Scripts (Paperback)
...I could catch a monkey. If I was starving, I could..."
If you enjoyed this programme, you NEED to buy this book. Set in the office of a paper merchents in Slough ("Come friendly bombs, and fall on Slough") the book contains the full scripts of the first series.
Theres loads of photos, and even the full music and lyric for "Freelove Freeway"
You either loved the office, or you hated it!! If your reading this, the chances are, im preaching to the converted!
BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the series = Love the scripts, 15 Feb. 2010
This review is from: The Office: The Scripts (Paperback)
It's an eye-opener into brilliant script-writing, and as fun to read as the series is to watch.
Excellent for picking up, reading a random page - and you can really picture every scene.
Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good product for those looking for the scripts, 27 July 2011
By 
Alfredo Hamill (Naples, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office: The Scripts (Paperback)
I use this material for teaching English and it is quite useful. The scripts are accurate representations of colloquial English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, bloody hilarious!, 23 Jan. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Office: The Scripts (Paperback)
Painly funny - specially great read if you're in an adminstrative role like me...scarily realistic sometimes too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office: The Scripts (Paperback)
very useful, exactly what I needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Office: The Scripts
The Office: The Scripts by Steve Merchant (Paperback - 3 Oct. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews