Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and tasty!
This book is really good for knocking up cheap and simple after work suppers. All of the recipes are straightforward and use simple and readily available ingredients. There are loads of inventive uses for tinned tuna, eggs, potatoes etc. that taste really good, not cheap. Only quibble would be the recipes aren't always madly healthy - lots of cheese and carbs - but...
Published on 8 Dec 2005

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I was expecting
I have a certain sympathy with the 1 star reviews. It would be fair to say that some of these recipes are not particularly cheap to make for someone on a tight budget - one recipe calls for gorgonzola, another involves half a kilo of cod. That said, there are plenty of recipes involving cheap ingredients such as chicken thighs with sweet onions, peanut noodles with pork,...
Published 15 months ago by Marand


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and tasty!, 8 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Good Food: Cheap Eats: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
This book is really good for knocking up cheap and simple after work suppers. All of the recipes are straightforward and use simple and readily available ingredients. There are loads of inventive uses for tinned tuna, eggs, potatoes etc. that taste really good, not cheap. Only quibble would be the recipes aren't always madly healthy - lots of cheese and carbs - but definitely a book worth buying for anyone trying to watch thier pennies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value book, 8 Mar 2006
This review is from: Good Food: Cheap Eats: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
I love this book - it's smaller than A5 sized, every recipe fits onto 1 page, is broken down into only 3 steps AND has a colour picture opposite. The ingredients and instructions are clear and it's helpful to have preparation times; a good percentage are relatively quick to prepare. You can't go wrong at this price, even if you only like a few of the recipes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An all round easy to follow reciupe book, 13 Jan 2006
By 
jce "jo_ce" (hampshire, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Food: Cheap Eats: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
This is the kind of recipe book I like. Picture of every recipe and easy to follow recipes. Its a small book (about half A5 size), so won't take up much room on your recipe book shelf. The recipes themselves aren't all that healthy, but they aren't pretentious and all the family should enjoy them!
My only comment is that i am not sure that the recipes can be considered 'cheap'. I fortunatley have a very well stocked store cupboard, and therefore probably can do these meals cheaply. For example, a few recipes require pesto, or creme fraiche and then things like red wine vinegar, and a variety of herbs and spices etc. Not cheap if you don't have that stuff in your cupboard!
But don't let that put you off - I use this book constantly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Book from a Brilliant Series!, 19 Jan 2009
By 
looby.lu (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Food: Cheap Eats: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
Forget the celeb cookbooks, if you are new to cooking these are the ones to go for! Easy to follow recipes with ingredients you can get in the supermarket instead of trekking round specialist shops, since I've got 5 of these for Christmas my family has never eaten so well! Favourite recipes so far include Lamb Chop and Chip Bake and Herby Pasta with Peas and Bacon. A handy little sized format means you can pop the book in your handbag and then decide what's for tea when you get to the supermarket! You won't be overwhelmed the recipes or the ingredients, which gives you the confidence that you'll be able to produce something vaguely resembling the lovely full colour picture! Another thing is that a lot of these recipes are cooked in one pan or tray baked, which means less washing up - result!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, very good value., 27 Sep 2007
By 
Mrs. D. L. Cox (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Food: Cheap Eats: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
i love everything about this book. clear text, good pictures, simple instructions. deliciouse food! i love to be able to prepare fresh healthy food for my family but so many recipe books are filled with fussy pricy ingredients. this book has many meals that usually feed all four of us for well under five pounds.
my favourites are the tuna pasta bake (made with condensed mushroom soup) and the lamb and date casserole(yum!). but i have tried and loved many others. a brilliant book that will have you feeding the family good food much cheaper than your high fat low nutrtion takeaway or ready meals.

this book also introduced me to the low price tasty delights of chick peas and chicken thighs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yummy but strange..., 18 Jan 2006
This review is from: Good Food: Cheap Eats: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
This book was a godsend to me when i first moved to London from "up north" – suddenly everything was about double the price and i had to get used to eating on a budget!! Some of the resipes do use slightly odd ingredients, some of which work excellently (herb and garlic philadelphia with milk to make a pasta sauce) and some of which aren't so good (crisps as a topping for pasta bake), but overall, everything that i ahve tried from it so far has been tasty and interesting. I especially recommend the red pepper chicken, the creamy pesto rice cake and the chicken and tarragon dauphinoise. It shows you that you can still have an interesting and varied diet and makes good use of store cupboard ingredients like tinned tuna and frozen staples such as peas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book!, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Cheap Eats: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
Bought this to reduce our weekly food bill in the current tough times and am really impressed with the recipes. All that I've tried have been delicious and economical. I have found some are a little high in calories, but I substitute low fat versions of ingredients instead (i.e. low fat creme fraiche, etc). Great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Cookery Book!, 5 Jan 2007
By 
kitatravs (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Food: Cheap Eats: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
This is a fabuluos cookery book, especially if you enjoy cooking new things but can't particularly afford all of those exotic ingredients. It allows you to make amazing food with the simplest of ingredients.

Being a student (who prefers not to eat beans on toast every night), I have found this book a lot more useful than those specifically designed for students (who's reipes include the likes of making a tomato soup using.... a can of tomato soup).

Very very easy to use and as I've said, AMAZING FOOD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is Binglet my alterego?, 11 Jan 2009
This review is from: Good Food: Cheap Eats: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food) (Paperback)
Just like Binglet, I got given this little gem of a recipe book as a stocking filler for Christmas. Since then it's sidelined all my 'proper' cookery books. It's just full of meals that are SO easy to make, all with unpretentious ingredients and they all look really tasty, though as others have pointed out, not necessarly all for those watching their weight (that said there is a rudimentary calorific / nutritional breakdown at the end of each recipe if you're interested).

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I was expecting, 28 May 2013
By 
Marand (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I have a certain sympathy with the 1 star reviews. It would be fair to say that some of these recipes are not particularly cheap to make for someone on a tight budget - one recipe calls for gorgonzola, another involves half a kilo of cod. That said, there are plenty of recipes involving cheap ingredients such as chicken thighs with sweet onions, peanut noodles with pork, spicy sausage pasta, herby pasta with peas & bacon, mushroom & tuna spaghetti, various tarts, a nice pork meatloaf, lemon & honey chicken, one pot lamb with rice (using cheap shoulder meat). My favourite has to be the very simple lemon curd brulée.

It has to be said that the recipes aren't the most exciting, although the pesto rice cake was new to me. I was somewhat surprised that there aren't many recipes based on pulses as these are very cheap and nutritious. There is also very little suitable for vegetarians although some recipes could be easily adapted. It is helpful that many recipes involve store cupboard staples like pasta, canned fish, or frozen peas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Food: Cheap Eats: Triple-tested Recipes: Tried-and-tested Recipes (BBC Good Food)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews