Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
30
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2004
Many "coffee table" books have beautiful photos, engaging graphic design, and succinct prose. Fun to browse, a pleasant way to kill time. Unforgettable Places to See Before You Die goes beyond the genre. It stirs not only the visual sense, but also those of sound, smell, and touch, with images of everyday life at truly amazing places. It's not simply a collection of postcards or a photographic travel essay. The book is a call to action. I am fortunate to have been to several of the places featured in this gorgeous book. The reawakening of memories of those long-ago adventures gave the text credibility. And the photos of the many others I've not seen inspired action! I've got places to go, and time's ticking!
I envy the photographers the travels that brought them to these wonderful spots, and their vast talents that bring us there, too.
0Comment| 161 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2005
I warn you now, this book is an inspiration - it will make you want to get on the next plane out to see as many of the amazing destinations it features as possible. It makes sitting at your desk at work so much harder - and your daily commute an emotionally painful journey. There are so many other places I'd rather be travelling to! The photos are simply beautiful. But what makes this book extra special is the way it's written. It's evocative, informative and has a real personal touch. My fiancee and I have used it to decide where to go on honeymoon. I gave the book to my Mum for Mothers Day - she loves it & it's sowing the seeds of adventure in her mind. I gave one to my brother for Xmas and he described it as travel porn. The destinations are both exotic & aspirational, and easily accessible. Take your pick.
0Comment| 122 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2004
On just a quick through this book, before settling down to read you already feel compelled to drag your back pack out of the attic and hand in your notice at work.
Its a book for rainy days, to remind you whats out there, and you need to see before it, or you goes. Its a book for sunny days to help decide on where to explore next, whilst on the phone to the airline company!
Loved by children, the photos are beautifully presented so that they can use their imagination to take them to these wonderful places. Enjoyed by adults as a motivational tool to get out there again...
A fabulous book, a wonderful gift, highly recommended.
0Comment| 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2006
I saw this book on Amazon and bought it out of curiosity. What I consider to be a decent travel book is one which gives you the wanderlust - one which tempts you to visit those places in the book immediately. This book is successful in that respect. The locations are inspiring and the background information is just right - both in terms of quantity, relevance as well as the level of detail, i.e., enough to make a location sound really interesting without boring you with too much with the historical detail. I haven't been to most of the places in the book, but I can say that of the ones I have visited the book made some good choices.
As a travel photographer, the pictorial aspect of a travel book is very important to me, it gives me visual inspiration about where and what to shoot - so I was pleased to see lots of photography in this book. My only and fairly significant complaint of the book is that although the photographers clearly knew what they were doing, the high standard of the photography is ruined by the poor print quality. Colours are dull, and most annoyingly each and every photo has been oversharpened, this is very distracting to the eye. The picture editor probably needs to take some lessons in Photoshop.
On the whole, this book does exactly what it sets out to do very well - read it and you'll almost be dying to visit these places. I would give this 5 stars if not for the print quality of the photographs.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2005
If you're wanting a travel guide, full of hints and tips, places to see, local maps and all the other types of pages fillers you find in most travel books - DON'T buy this book.
If you're looking for ideas of where you can explore next, even if you're just going to be dreaming rather than flying, or if you're just looking to broaden your horizons a little (actually, quite a lot), then this book is perfect.
The writing style in this book is quite inspirational, but to be honest, writing about the most asstounding, most beautiful, most awe-inspiring places that you could ever dream of, can't be that difficult. What makes this book quite special, is that it takes a look at some popular, some not-so, places, and puts them in a context that would please not only the most trepid, but also most timid traveller.
The photography plays a huge part in this book, and quite rightly too (if you're a fan of the "pictures paint a thousand words" cliche). However, although the photography is still taken by professionals, it's taken in a style of the avereage traveler. By this, I mean that you won't need five grands worth of camera to get the same results. If you've been lucky enough to visit any places in this book, you're photo album will probably look similar to the photos in this book (I know that mine do!).
"Unforgettable Places to See Before You Die" has been a real inspiration, and has prompted me to give up this years two weeks on the Costa Del Sol in exchange for something more spectacular.
Give this book a go - you won't be dissapointed.!
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2006
We were looking for an appropriate destination for an unforgettable family holiday last year but inspiration was hard to come by. Eventually we realised that instead of trawling the internet, we would have a quick look through this book and see if anywhere really took our fancy. We found Aitutaki in the cook islands, a place we were very unfamiliar with but looked unspoilt and beautiful. We travelled to Aitutaki last summer and were not disappointed. The book perfectly described and displayed what we would see and get but left us wanting to go there too.

If all the other places mentioned in the book live up to what we found on Aitutaki, then this really is the definitive list of unforgettable places to see before you die.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2005
This book is perfect for any inspiring traveller. It has very beautiful pictures and the narrative is informative. It's a book you can never get bored of, as you can dip in and out of it at anytime. I definately would recommend this as an ideal gift to a family member or friend!!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2004
Not had it for very long but I've already started thinking about where to go for my holidays. The pictures are beautiful and well presented, with interesting commentary.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2005
Being a photographer as well, looking through this book reminds me why we all do it, pros and amateurs alike. The photos are stunning. So knowing that someone has actually been paid for the priviledge of travelling around the world to shoot this has me seething away with envy. Along with the text, spot on throughout, it only makes me want to jump on a plane and not come back for a very long time!
A must have for every household/office/studio..
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2006
This book will make you want to pack your bags and get travelling! Beautiful pictures, my only complaint being there are definately more unforgettable places in Scotland than the castle mentioned but an author can never keep everyone happy!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)