Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and useful book
I have most of Delia's book but this is the first book from "the Delia Collection" that I have read and used.

Firstly it is a beautiful book to look at. The cover, photography and very easy to follow recipes.

Secondly the recipes are stunning. Some of them I have baked before from her other books but just using this book is a pleasure so I use it...
Published on 19 April 2006 by C. Speirs

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Delia Collection - Baking
A good book and on can always rely on Delia Smith's recipes to be accurate and tasty. I purchased this book a little late as I have most of the recipes in other books I have collected by this wonderful cook and author.
Published 14 months ago by Anne Marie Kemp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and useful book, 19 April 2006
By 
C. Speirs "A cooking fanatic" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Baking (Hardcover)
I have most of Delia's book but this is the first book from "the Delia Collection" that I have read and used.

Firstly it is a beautiful book to look at. The cover, photography and very easy to follow recipes.

Secondly the recipes are stunning. Some of them I have baked before from her other books but just using this book is a pleasure so I use it for even familiar recipes. All of them have been well received.

Thirdly, even though the majority of the recipes are in previous books, it is a very handy to have the best of her baking recipes in one volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great results and easy to follow, 18 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Baking (Hardcover)
When I bought this book a few months ago I was a total novice cake chef; using Delia's fool proof recipes I have learnt how to make a variety of cakes and tray bakes. The recipes are laid out in a completely consistent fashion so you always know what temperature to preheat the oven to and what size tin you need to prepare at a quick glance; and Delia is very good at giving excellent hints and tips on the way through - how to measure out treacle without needing a full body wash for instance! There is at least one picture of every cake, so you know what you're aiming for; I've cooked most of them and have yet to find a single recipe in this book which isn't well received. Whether you're a beginner looking for guidance or a seasoned pro looking for some exciting ideas to broaden your repertoire, I would recommend this beautiful bargain book to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Delia Collection, Puddings, 23 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Baking (Hardcover)
My book shelves are now groaning with Delia's books, but I am delighted to have this one. Such good cakes - and whenever I make one of the recipes there is never so much as a crumb left over! The recipes never fail but, then, Delia does indeed know her stuff. An excellent read too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delia and Baking, 22 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Baking (Hardcover)
Another wonderful cookbook from Delia Smith which is suitable for novice and experienced cooks alike. Easy to follow recipes and good photos of the finished cakes etc. I have been baking for over 40 years but was thrilled to discover new recipes which I haven't tried before and feel confident that everything will turn out beautifully as Delia's recipes always do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delia's Baking, 4 Sep 2011
By 
D. M. Brennan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Baking (Hardcover)
Excellent book - worth buying just for the Old Fashioned Cherry cake recipe, which is so moreish. Would highly recommend book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, no frills, simple to follow recipes. Great., 31 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Baking (Hardcover)
The pictures of the cakes are simply beautiful, especially the coconut cake and the lemon curd cake (cover). Instructions are simple and easy to follow. I would have liked many more cake recipes and less of the cookies and brownies but, in fairness, it is after all a baking book and must cater for all. I agree with one of the other reviews that it should have a dust cover.
Overall a lovely book. I rate it at 4.5 because it is rather a thin book for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delia really does deliver., 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Baking (Hardcover)
While other younger celebrity come & go. Delian often is our default position. The one we refer to when other chefs books no. longer makes senses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full of Yummy Recipes!!, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Baking (Hardcover)
Wanted this book as had only part of a recipe for coconut layer cake from an old magazine. Full of mouthwatering recipes and as would be expected simple & clear instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Delia Collection - Baking, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Baking (Hardcover)
A good book and on can always rely on Delia Smith's recipes to be accurate and tasty. I purchased this book a little late as I have most of the recipes in other books I have collected by this wonderful cook and author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete set, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Baking (Hardcover)
I now how the complete set and I have loads of cook books but I always go back to these. Simple but great dishes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Delia Collection: Baking
The Delia Collection: Baking by Delia Smith (Hardcover - 8 Sep 2005)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews