Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gentle introduction to cooking!
At 30 years old I thought I ought to start cooking some proper food instead of heating up ready meals!
So finding Delia's beautiful collection of books has been a godsend.
I started with the 'Soup' and 'Fish' ones and so far have been making a fresh soup every week.
The instructions are easy to follow and the ingredients are easy to...
Published on 7 Feb 2006 by Ms. J. A. Thwaites

versus
92 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ... yet not so good
I own ALL of Delia Smith's books along with 223 other cookery books by various experts all over the world. What I like most about Delia is her "no nonsence" approach to food, although she can be a little "mumsy' at times. But then, that is part of her appeal.
This book and all the others in its series (Soup, Fish, Chicken) have been very difficult to review because...
Published on 8 Feb 2004 by SecretSweets


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gentle introduction to cooking!, 7 Feb 2006
By 
Ms. J. A. Thwaites "Juicy Ju" (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Soup (Hardcover)
At 30 years old I thought I ought to start cooking some proper food instead of heating up ready meals!
So finding Delia's beautiful collection of books has been a godsend.
I started with the 'Soup' and 'Fish' ones and so far have been making a fresh soup every week.
The instructions are easy to follow and the ingredients are easy to find in your local supermarket. The lovely pictures help to show you what your creation is supposed to look like too!
Delia has given me the confidence to move onto more complex recipes and I am planning to do some baking this spring....!
Good luck. Hope you find the book as inspiring as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ... yet not so good, 8 Feb 2004
By 
SecretSweets (Caxias, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I own ALL of Delia Smith's books along with 223 other cookery books by various experts all over the world. What I like most about Delia is her "no nonsence" approach to food, although she can be a little "mumsy' at times. But then, that is part of her appeal.
This book and all the others in its series (Soup, Fish, Chicken) have been very difficult to review because they can be simply fabulous or down right rip-offs.
The recipes themselves are typical of Delia - straightforward and designed to work - and as such these books are indispensible for those who do not own any of her other books. On that basis alone I would have given this book (and its siblings) a 5-star rating.
BUT, for those wanting to buy this book, I would warn that there are no great culinary revelations here. These are recipes published by Delia in her previous collections - Summer, Winter, Christmas etc - just a rehash of old hits. If you buy this book and others in this series, you might just be tempted to ask for your money back- but not before giving a 1-star rating!
However, if like me, you have several bookshelves groaning under the weight of countless cookery books, Delia offers a wonderful filing system for her recipes. Personally, I find this to be a time saver when faced with organising dinner for 8 at short notice. No more flipping through pages looking for Delia's Chocolate Mouse or Delia's Mini Chocolate Muffins or Delia's Chocolate Truffles etc etc
For those thinking about buying this book, I suggest that you first ask yourself if you have so many Delia books that you now need more books of neatly organised Delia delights.
For an average person, this book and the others in the series get an average 3-star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Nov 2003
By 
Michael Scott "www.nowillpowerrequired.co.uk" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
If like me you only know how to roast a chicken and to chuck a chicken breast in with a jar of sauce then this is for you.
Some excellent and easy to make recipes that really surprised me in their simplicity and their taste.
I love Delia and this is one of a suite of new books that enforce her reputation as the queen of the kitchen.
Highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Delia Collection: Soup, 19 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Soup (Hardcover)
A stylish book with 50 delicious recipes, some excellent and easy to make soups that really surprised me in their simplicity and their taste.
This is one of a suite of new books from Delia (Chicken, Soup, Chocolate and Fish) that enforce her reputation in the kitchen.
Recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Delia hit, 29 Oct 2003
By 
Mrs Annie Haris (Hurley, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
A great book beautifully presented with full page colour photographs for each recipe, although not all showed the actual dish. The 50 recipes are organised into the 4 seasons and so far I have only spotted a couple of repeates. As ever Delia fails to give any nutritional values with the recipes, no calorie count or fat content. Can't believe its only 6.99
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delia never lets you down!, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Soup (Hardcover)
Super book and the recipes work! The condition of the book was very good indeed. Lovely photography and the dishes actually look like that when made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely soups, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Soup (Hardcover)
Delia's books have always been good and this one is no exception.Have tried most of of Delia's cook books and found them very good and so easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Soup (Hardcover)
Great book very well presented bought for a friend for her birthday unfortunately I then discovered she already had it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not for every day use, 22 Feb 2014
By 
Doreen Badnadge (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Soup (Hardcover)
Its a disappointing book in the way that many of the recipes are just not the kind of warm homely soups most people would want to come home to IE ones with chocolate in them. I did expect better from Delia to be quite honest as I love all her other very sensible books. Perhaps this one is more suited to a collector than a serious home cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New cook- initial success gives encouragement to attempt more recipes, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Delia Collection: Soup (Hardcover)
Delia gives simple ,clear instructions - easy to follow. Just started to make soups. First attempts much appreciated by the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Delia Collection: Soup
The Delia Collection: Soup by Delia Smith (Hardcover - 2 Oct 2003)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews