Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's Living Alright
An excellent read and must for all Auf Wiedersehen Pet fans. The reading is fantastic and takes you from Franc Roddam's original idea back in the late 1970's right up to the planning of the fourth series 25 years later. The book's writing is accompanied by an array of cast and crew photographs that give you a behind the scenes look at one of Britain's finest dramas...
Published on 28 Jan 2004 by Mr D J Coxon

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Canny, it ain't
I know this book's been out for seven years, but I've only just got around to reading it. Paul Armstrong aside, I'm probably the world's biggest AWP fan, and noticed this book when it came out. It didn't look particularly appealing - too much filler space with pics, scripts and such like. But I recently managed to pick it up for just a couple of bob, proving, I suppose...
Published on 28 July 2010 by Cooley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's Living Alright, 28 Jan 2004
By 
Mr D J Coxon (Sunderland, Tyne and Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The "Auf Wiedersehen Pet" Story: That's Living Alright (Hardcover)
An excellent read and must for all Auf Wiedersehen Pet fans. The reading is fantastic and takes you from Franc Roddam's original idea back in the late 1970's right up to the planning of the fourth series 25 years later. The book's writing is accompanied by an array of cast and crew photographs that give you a behind the scenes look at one of Britain's finest dramas. However the highlight of this book has to be the the never published before scripts which the cast have performed at charity concerts and more recently, comic relief. To sum up the quality of this book, the read is "Top Rank!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Auf Wiedersehen Revisited, 25 Oct 2003
By 
G. Basford (Abriachan, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Auf Wiedersehen Pet" Story: That's Living Alright (Hardcover)
When I discovered there was going to be a book published about Auf Wiedersehen Pet, I couldn't wait to get it. It is filled with many facts about the cast and crew, lots of pictures, many never published before. It goes into detail about each series in turn and of course the tragic events surrounding Series 2. It eventually brings us bang up to date regarding the forthcoming 4th series. This is a must for any big Aufpet fan and believe me they don't come much bigger than me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It IS a must for fans - but it's not THE book for fans, 31 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The "Auf Wiedersehen Pet" Story: That's Living Alright (Hardcover)
I'm a huge Auf Wiedersehen Pet fan and a regular on a long standing AufPet web discussion forum. As a fan I found this book so-so. It *is* an absolute must for all fans of AufPet, it's informative, insightful and covers all aspects of the making of the first three series fairly comprehensively. There are good observations and anecdotes from all of the cast about the show....well all of the cast bar one...Jimmy Nail is conspicuous by his absence as usual.
Most of the stuff you'll already know if you're a fan, but the book does give a little more detail. For example, most people will know roughly when Gary Holton's death occurred during series 2 and what the major scene changes were as a result. However, most people won't realise that the scene shot in the bar with the lads playing snooker/pool and waiting for news about the flights to Spain was shot just a couple of days after Gary was found dead. The cast understandably found it very hard to film that sequence, especially since immediatly before the cameras rolled they watched rushes of the scene immediatly before, which they'd shot only days before, showing Gary as large as life.
Also the pathetic actions of the militant electricians' union in series 2 was an eye opener - it all but brought the filming to an end on several occasions and overshadowed the whole project. Chris Fairbank was particularly critical of their behaviour.
For me it answered a few questions about why Series 3 was ropey - and showed just what a huge part Roger Bamford played in the unique look and feel of the first 2 series.
My criticisms of the book are several: typos littered it, and pretty unforgivably silly ones too, like spelling Teesside 'Teeside' and Bentley 'Bently'. What's more galling is the author's satisfaction at pointing out others' errors with his redundant and smug use of [sic] everywhere.
It was, dare I say, padded out a little at times, the scripts from the sketchs at the Sammy Johnson Memorial gigs being one (albeit welcome) example, and the very many pages dedicated to viewing statistics another.
But it was more annoying and serious than that.
You get the feeling when reading the book that Franc Roddam and the cast (minus Mr Nail of course) contributed all of the content/research/opinion, either to Dan Waddell directly, or via interviews on the BBC website and in the TV documentary from a while back - and Dan Waddell has just done all the writing. Consequently I sensed that Dan Waddell is not a real fan of the series, that he's a jobbing author who's putting down in words someone else's research, BUT crucially he tries to appear as if he's well researched/informed about AufPet and in doing so gets caught out.
The result is that he often comes across like a direct marketing cold-caller who rings you up, trying to sound over familiar, but gets your name slightly wrong.
Examples of this are when he writes about series 2 - he's obviously just going with what he thinks is the 'official' line from Franc and the rest of the cast that series 2 was inferior and not a patch on series 1. I just don't feel that he's got an opinion personally on this important issue - though he writes as if he does - but actually he's just toeing the official line.
I would argue that fans of the series would rate the Derbyshire episodes in series 2 as the best (and actually the cast thought series 2 was funnier), maybe I'm wrong.
More obviously, he often celebrates some of Oz's greatest outbursts by quoting him, but HE GETS IT WRONG. He reproduces the fantastic Customs 'Margaret Bl**dy Thatcher' outburst from series 2, now I'm not sure if he's reproducing the quote from the script or from the actual show but, from memory, I'm sure it's wrong. Also, he mentions the 'stool' incident from series 2 and calls the stool man 'Mr Trudaway'. It's 'Treadaway' isn't it? The name "Treadaway" is actually reused in one of the Memorial sketches later in the same book. It's just sloppy.
Also, Waddell's English just isn't up to scratch. He uses the word 'then' instead of 'than' to compare two things. He refers to the character Tatiana as 'voluptuous' when I'm not so sure that's really the best adjective to sum her up with. The worst error was a reference to "a bravado performance" by Tim Spall as Barry. Surely Mr Waddell you mean "bravura"?
In summary, you HAVE to get this book. It is a superb inside story on AufPet. It has the Memorial scripts in it and some great photos. However, it's not the all-encompassing companion written by fans for fans kind of deal. There is an episode guide at the back which doesn't include the writer or director - which emphasises the feeling that Roger Bamford and particularly Stan Hey do not get the recognition they deserve. It tells the AufPet story, but nothing more. It needed to have been written by a long standing fan of the show who held personal views based on an overall familiarity with all three series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Canny, it ain't, 28 July 2010
This review is from: The "Auf Wiedersehen Pet" Story: That's Living Alright (Hardcover)
I know this book's been out for seven years, but I've only just got around to reading it. Paul Armstrong aside, I'm probably the world's biggest AWP fan, and noticed this book when it came out. It didn't look particularly appealing - too much filler space with pics, scripts and such like. But I recently managed to pick it up for just a couple of bob, proving, I suppose why I didn't pay 17 notes for it when it in the first place.
For the casual AWP, it's fine. For those who adore series 1 and 2, it's ok, bordering on disappointing. The author had access to many of the main players, but failed to obtain much of real quality, furnishing us with the odd paragraph here and there. He gave us a mere taster of the action, but that was all.
Its major omission is/was failing to receive any input from Nail. We all know James can be hard work, with an ego the size of Gateshead, but having got Roddam on board, surely the latter could have got the former on board. And why couldn't the author have waited for Spall to complete his filming commitments in order to interview him? Sometimes, certain things are worth waiting for.
A lot of what was in the book, I already knew. It would have been nice to read a bit more about Gary, but many questions remain unanswered. Why wasn't the spat between Dick, Ian and Tracy Ullman's hubby mentioned? Why did Nail give Noel Clarke such a hard time in AWP3? Clarke admitted this in a 5live interview recently - and I'm toning it down. And what's Nail like now he's given up the drink? Oh, and James, don't forget who got you to where you are now ie the public. Try and be nice to them. Please. After all, they are the ones who watched AWP, who bought your records, your nice house, cars....If it wasn't for them you'd still be living in a hut in Dooooseldorf. We like you - honest.
All in all, a great series (ie AWP 1 AND 2 - forget the others), and one which deserved a great book. A wasted opportunity. Where's Paul Armstrong when you need him......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars That's proofreading alright... not., 4 Jun 2011
By 
Lutz Svensson (Deptford, London, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The "Auf Wiedersehen Pet" Story: That's Living Alright (Hardcover)
Have just re-read this and felt moved to give it a fresh appraisal, now that the 'new' Series 3 isn't remotely new and the dust has finally settled on the whole 'Aufpet' saga.

In retrospect, this is very much a product of its moment. Praise is heaped upon Series 3... when, in hindsight, I think a lot of fans found its narrative rushed and the inter-lad banter (the insubstantial blather that made the dialogue of the first two series so absorbing) very thin on the ground.

And series 2, which has many, many strengths, is the butt of considerable, largely unjustified criticism. Hey-ho.

Some of the major players' thoughts are given very little voice, too, which is a shame (although you *do* get a lot of Chris Fairbank... oh yes. Lots and lots of Chris...), and it's clearly been published without the assistance of a proofreader. A brave, bold, and ultimately pretty aggravating move. Still worth a shufty for the die-hard fan, of course... just don't expect to become besotted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are a fan of AufPet, you will find this book interesting, 8 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Auf Wiedersehen Pet" Story: That's Living Alright (Hardcover)
OK, so I agree with some reviewers that bits of the book are less than factual (e.g. Kevin Lloyd played a plumber, not a brickie), but you learn stuff you didn't know about the series, and are reminded of some stuff you had forgotten. Yes, a bit of simple research could have put some facts right (blame the editor rather than the writer) but if you can get a cheap enough copy of this, you will learn a lot of things about the making of AufPet. And next time you look at your DVD collection, or catch it on ITV3 you will look with a more knowledgeable eye.

Worth a read if you can get a cheap copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars damn good, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Auf Wiedersehen Pet" Story: That's Living Alright (Hardcover)
good read. some nice pictures. i love the series and this sort of became a commentary to back up in detail the in and out of auf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good bargain and good read., 18 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Auf Wiedersehen Pet" Story: That's Living Alright (Hardcover)
this hard back edition is a must for any auf fans out there who want to know how it all got started.very infromative and has some good pictures to give you a better idea of the cast and production.its not one of the longest reads youl have but it will make a good edition all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The "Auf Wiedersehen Pet" Story: That's Living Alright
The "Auf Wiedersehen Pet" Story: That's Living Alright by Dan Waddell (Hardcover - 16 Oct 2003)
Used & New from: £4.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews