Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hungry!
Torchwood: top secret cardiff based agency who protect the country from aliens and alien technology, and from the latter being misused. Most of it comes through a time rift in the city.

Recently finished it's first thirteen episode run on the bbc, and now we have some novels featuring the main characters.

So how does the show translate to prose...
Published on 15 Jan. 2007 by Paul Tapner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Feed My Frankenstein
There is a new pill on the market in Cardiff that is guaranteed to make you lose weight. Take the start pill and once you have lost the desired weight just take the stop pill - easy. That is unless you wait too long and the hunger takes control of you. Captain Jack and co. are on the case when they stumble across the body of a creature seemingly attacked by a ravenous...
Published on 21 May 2008 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars woodie fun!, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Slow Decay (Hardcover)
This is one of my favourite woodie stories. Everything is compressed and squeezed together to create a creepy and brilliant idea which i would've loved to have seen on the box. The charecter descriptions are wonderfully familiar and the dialogue is brimmed full of torchwood inuendos which just make you smile. Like with all the torchwood books, you can always picture the story in your head, word by word, it's like watching your own individual torchwood movie! A fun, witty and damn right naughty read! Classic torchwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Torchwood We Know and Love!, 14 Sept. 2007
By 
F. A. Heslop "Drivad" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Slow Decay (Hardcover)
This book is brilliant. I brought it really cheap off the internet so wasn't expecting much. The first page was kinda boring so i was thinking of scrapping the book but i was wrong. After the first two pages this book has you gripped. It has plenty of action and suspense and enough twists to keep you guessing. 11 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slow decay , a rapid read, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Much enjoyed couldnt put it down, loved the TV series. Glad the books are keeping it alive. The writers keep getting better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this book was fantastically written. The story line wasn't as gruesome as I thought but I would recommend it to people no younger than 14.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 19 April 2007
By 
K. Allen "KATZ" (Swindon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Slow Decay (Hardcover)
After starting with this book, i could not put it down. It is the best out of the three and had me griped from start to finish. My imagination was running wild and i could see the action happening.

Amazing would love to see this story in the new series,,, BRILL ,MUST READ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Chap with Wings - five rounds rapid"!, 15 Mar. 2007
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Slow Decay (Hardcover)
In this third of the initial three Torchwood novels (at least going by the picture that builds up over the spines of the three books)the team find themselves investigating a diet clinic that turns people into uncontrollable feeding machines, as they are unwittingly ingesting alien parasites.

While 'Slow Decay' has its exciting moments sadly the plot is just too thin to fill the novel, and the tension is crucially undercut by the general level of stupidity of the characters - here we have characters who take a diet pill marked 'Start' that almost immediately turns them ravenous, yet it doesn't seemt to occur to anyone until about 30 pages towards the end that maybe taking the pill marked 'Stop' would be a good idea. #sigh#

The only other subplot of alien empathy technology also never satisfyingly gells into the novel as a whole, with a denouement concerning Toshiko's realisation of the properties of life triumphing over death seemingly coming out of nowhere, and having precious little thematic link with the main plot of over-eating.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant short book, 28 Jun. 2012
By 
R. Mitchell "Raven96" (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Slow Decay (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book and love the taboo subjects that torchwood touch on in general. I found it to be gripping, exciting and true to the original show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gory but a horror, 27 Mar. 2008
By 
michelle (Leek England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Torchwood: Slow Decay (Hardcover)
This a very gory horror that sends a shiver down you freezing spine!
The woman that feeds on the humans and weevils is a bump in the night fright
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars slow decay synopsis, 9 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Torchwood: Slow Decay (Hardcover)
A friend of Gwen's has recently done an impressive bit of slimming, thanks to a new Cardiff weight-loss clinic with a incredibly simple system, and now Rhys wants to give it a try. Elsewhere in the city, an ordinary woman with superhuman strength and a rapacious appetite attacks a group of teenagers.

Eight women have disappeared over the past few days, and the police fear they may have a serial killer on their hands, but as the body count rises and the hungers grow, the Torchwood team realise there may be something much more dangerous than a serial killer at work...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torchwood: Slow Decay
Torchwood: Slow Decay by Andy Lane (Hardcover - 11 Jan. 2007)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews