Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hungry!
Torchwood: top secret cardiff based agency who protect the country from aliens and alien technology, and from the latter being misused. Most of it comes through a time rift in the city.

Recently finished it's first thirteen episode run on the bbc, and now we have some novels featuring the main characters.

So how does the show translate to prose...
Published on 15 Jan 2007 by Paul Tapner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Feed My Frankenstein
There is a new pill on the market in Cardiff that is guaranteed to make you lose weight. Take the start pill and once you have lost the desired weight just take the stop pill - easy. That is unless you wait too long and the hunger takes control of you. Captain Jack and co. are on the case when they stumble across the body of a creature seemingly attacked by a ravenous...
Published on 21 May 2008 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hungry!, 15 Jan 2007
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Slow Decay (Hardcover)
Torchwood: top secret cardiff based agency who protect the country from aliens and alien technology, and from the latter being misused. Most of it comes through a time rift in the city.

Recently finished it's first thirteen episode run on the bbc, and now we have some novels featuring the main characters.

So how does the show translate to prose?

Interestingly well. These are larger books than the doctor who ones, and have smaller print, although the page count is the same. And just the show, they feature sex violence and swearing, so don't put them alongside the doctor who books in the childrens section, wh smith!

They feel like grown up books, more so than the original doctor who novels that came out from 1991-2005 ever did. It did take me a little while to get into this book, but once I was on page 100 it really clicked.

A lot of exposition which is well handled introduces the characters, who are all well realised. Captain jack in particular comes over very well on the page when he isn't the viewpoint character. And there's some interesting back story for team member owen, and a look at parts of the torchwood base we never saw on screen.

The plot involves creatures and technology that came through the rift being misused. It would be a good but average tv episode, but in prose form it really took off and read very well.

I don't know if this would get you hooked on the tv show, but I enjoyed reading it, and will be getting the other ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spine Tingling, 22 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. J. A. Tyers "Nemesis" (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Slow Decay (Hardcover)
This is a book guaranteed to send a shiver down your spine. This book takes a little bit of time and patience to get into but once the action begins I couldn't put it down. This book contains a lot of bad language and some sex scenes that are quite frankly... disgusting, but this adds to the tension as sex and food are joined together in a strange mix.
The story is based around a diet clinic who offer no quibble easy weight loss, with one pill to start losing weight and one pill to stop it. But, as you would expect in any Torchwood storyline, there are added complications the subject will become hungrier and hungrier. As their appetite grows, so does the food they eat, from pizzas to pigeons, to their friends, to themselves, the victims slowly decay and become more ravenous. The Torchwood team race to discover what this could be to do with a mood transmitting device and save the lives of the ravenous victims. Unfortunately one of these victims is Reece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written horror story, 18 Feb 2007
This review is from: Torchwood: Slow Decay (Hardcover)
This is definitely the darkest one of the three Torchwood novels available at the moment. It is a well written horror novel. With that I mean, it has many shocking scenes including a lot of blood and gore but it is combined with good characterizations and within a storyline that is definitely not put together just to play with the emotions of the readers.

Most of the book is about the relationship between Gwen and Rhys. It is obvious that this book takes place during the beginning of the first season when first cracks appeared in their relationship but not the ugliness that happened later. Gwen did things in later Torchwood I am not sure if I will ever be able to forgive her for it. Gwen certainly loves Rhys very much but, as on TV, in spite of the best intentions at the beginning, things tend to get out of control and Gwen has to struggle to save a situation from becoming a complete disaster. In this book, she is shown more capable. She made a serious mistake, but so did Rhys. I found it touching to read how both of them first of all got into this mess because they wanted to save their relationship and that the story involving them had a happy end - for now. The reader is left with a sense of optimism. I wish I could have the same feeling now, after the end of the first season.

If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is. As soon as the miracle weight loss cure appeared, I wondered, where is the catch? I expected it to be nasty but I had no idea how nasty it would get.

There is only one minor aspect that I am not very happy with. On the one hand, of course Jack is entitled to his opinion and I have heard it often enough. But on the other hand, I think telling overweight people in essence that pills are not the answer but you have to change your behaviour is at best simplistic, at worst insulting. People are overweight for a range of reasons, often more than one and the answer is usually not that simple. Pills alone are not the answer but if that treatment would have worked safely and would be available in reality, it would help a lot of people.

Now that I have finished all three books, I am hoping that there will be more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Idea, 11 Feb 2007
By 
AG Stephenson "andrewjoychris" (Newhaven England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Slow Decay (Hardcover)
What makes this book particularly good is the plot. It's such a good idea that you begin to feel that if only someone could develop the process commercially (I'm trying hard not to give the plot away here) then they could be on to a real winner.

This is a very well-written book - a good novel with strong characters and a decent story. Personally, I'm not a great fan of the Gwen-Rhys plot device in the series, although I understand the reasons - a way of grounding in reality the Torchwood team - but here, it works very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood: Slow Decay, 18 Jan 2007
By 
Rian Monson (Fairview, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Slow Decay (Hardcover)
First off, i'm giving the book 5 stars but thats because i havent seen the show..., so i dont have anything to go by, but i did very much enjoy the book. Maybe the score should be about 4 and a half.

Well, i dont know if this is the 1st book out of the 3 that were released, but its the one i pick to read first. It was a great book, fo course i dont know if all the characters in the book are the same as they are on tv, since i live in the USAi dont get the show. Maybe they'll show it on the sci-fi channel as they did with series 1 & 2 of Doctor who. I went of a few websites and read that Captain Jack was alot more darker as well as the show, and that the show was more for adults, then kids. As Doctor Who is aimed toward everyone.

So as for as Captain Jack he is alot more darker and less human (then in the Dr. who series and the 3 books) The feel of slow decay is pretty dark, scary...but i loved it. Cant wait to read the other 2 books. Hopefully we can find out why Jack became how he is now, find out more about the team members he has assembled at torchwood, because i love the other characters, i want to know more about Ianto, Toshiko, and Owen, they just make my think that something about them will come up...at some point, and i'll see who they really are. Andy Lane did a great job, cant wait to see if he write more books for the series.

As for seeing a lighter side of Captain jack when he was on Dr Who, read The Stealers of Dreams (which was good had alot of him in there, and gave an insight on who he is, just a little..not too much) or Only Human (didnt have him in the as much as i would have liked but still good...Now, Deviant Strain that was beyond great...A great Captain jack book, as well as Rose and the Doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise, but not perfect, 15 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Slow Decay (Hardcover)
I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I felt that the TV series, after a great start, got a bit 'giggly' and overexcited about the fact it could have swearing and some bare flesh in it, as if it had been written by a teenager. I thought the books might suffer similarly, but this book doesn't. It's written very well, with an adult tone that enjoys the smut and gore without getting lost in it. It is not quite as well developed as many of the books in the old BBC Books range of Eighth Doctor novels, but at least it's not as childish as the new BBC Tenth Doctor range.

You do get the feeling that this book was written in a bit of a hurry, without the writer knowing too much about the background of each of the characters, as it's not particularly well fleshed out. It's not bad considering the author can't have had too much time to write it and it's one of the first in the series, though. Maybe the characterisation will improve now that people are more familiar with the series.

The plot does feel a bit restricted, considering that the events have to take place inbetween TV episodes, without anything major enough happening that would cause continuity problems in the series. So you get this inevitable feeling that there will be a 'reset switch' that will make everybody conveniently forget everything at the end of the story. Thankfully, that's avoided as well.

I picked this book up cheap not expecting much from it, but I'm glad I checked it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When something’s too good to be true, it usually is., 14 July 2014
By 
G. K. Griffiths (Wolverhampton, West Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Slow Decay (Hardcover)
(Review written by my son aged 15)
In comparison to some other Torchwood books I have enjoyed reading, this one definitely has more depth. Whilst the novel is the same length as others at around 250 pages, the print is definitely smaller and Andy Lane’s writing is definitely more descriptive and thought-provoking than some other authors writing for the Torchwood book series.

One of the things I love about this book is that Rhys and Gwen’s relationship is explored in greater depth. An ongoing subplot about an alien device found on a body after a fight in a nightclub, cleverly ties into this theme. The alien device allows us to see how the two characters cope with amplified emotions, namely aggression and love. The main story going on in the book is that of weight-loss tablets being given out by the mysterious Dr. Scotus and the side effects that they are having.

The plot itself and the idea of aliens being bundled along with a super-medicine is very similar to the TV story “Reset”, but that doesn’t stop this being an interesting adventure. Whilst I found the ending a tiny bit confusing, it was still a satisfying ending with an unexpected twist thrown in.

All in all, this is a Torchwood novel that has greater depth than usual and is a great read, a story that I would definitely recommend to any Doctor Who and/or Torchwood fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slow decay , a rapid read, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Much enjoyed couldnt put it down, loved the TV series. Glad the books are keeping it alive. The writers keep getting better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this book was fantastically written. The story line wasn't as gruesome as I thought but I would recommend it to people no younger than 14.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars woodie fun!, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Slow Decay (Hardcover)
This is one of my favourite woodie stories. Everything is compressed and squeezed together to create a creepy and brilliant idea which i would've loved to have seen on the box. The charecter descriptions are wonderfully familiar and the dialogue is brimmed full of torchwood inuendos which just make you smile. Like with all the torchwood books, you can always picture the story in your head, word by word, it's like watching your own individual torchwood movie! A fun, witty and damn right naughty read! Classic torchwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torchwood: Slow Decay
Torchwood: Slow Decay by Andy Lane (Hardcover - 11 Jan 2007)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews