Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars25
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2006
OK, why buy the CD version of the story for an extra five quid or so? Because it's read by David Tennant, and if you're like me and love the way his voice just bleeds with enthusiasm you'll want to give this a try. He reads the prose sections in his natural accent before effortlessly switching to the voice of the Doctor, as well as all the incidental characters - a cleaning lady, an American admiral, an Indian shopkeeper, a little old lady from Edinburgh... I won't lie and say Rose and Mickey didn't give him a bit of trouble, but in this format the book feels far more like a real extra episode of Doctor Who, perfect for banishing those "end of series" blues!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2006
Steve's been awful busy of late, but I was excited to hear he'd been offered the rare opportunity of one of the latest batch of Doctor Who books to be released in conjunction with the new series.
Feast of the Drowned taps into one of humanity's primal fears - that of death by drowning - and uses it to devastating effect. As soon as the book starts the undercurrent sucks you in, flooding you with... okay, I'll pack it in, I promise.
Steve's also done his research into the workings and politics of the Royal Navy, and the text glows with the authenticity of its setting, providing a backdrop of personal power and military might that is almost as frightening as the mysterious ghostly apparitions and the drowning... Did I mention the drowning?
He also throws plenty of action at the reader. Right from the start this book is on the move, with the loss at sea of the Navy's latest, hugely expensive, technologically advanced warship. We have gorgeous set-pieces such as the Doctor crouched on the bow of a tug shouting directions through the tarpaulin-covered windows to the poor, blind driver within whilst under a hail of bullets from a squad of marines.
This one's right up there with Vanishing Point for sympathetic characters, twists and turns, and edge-of-the-seat thrills. If you only buy one Doctor Who book this year, make it this one!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
an original novel featuring the tenth doctor who and his companion rose tyler. as usual with these it runs for 248 pages approx, can be read by readers of all ages, and tells an original story not one based on a tv episode.

the regular cast are well captured on the printed page, all the mannerisms of the characters coming across exactly as you would expect.

the story involves the loss of a royal navy vessel, and relatives of those on board being haunted by their ghosts. but is there more to it than meets the eye? the whole of london faces a deadly threat from beneath the river thames. can the doctor save the day?

grounded in present day london like so much of the early episodes of the new series, this starts very well with an intriguing set up. whilst it does devolve into a more standard runaround of a story later on, there's some decent stuff here. good supporting characters, an old friend of rose's who is strongly characterised thanks to a good subplot about her personal life, and quite an original alien race, who make for some creepy moments.

not the best in the range, but a slightly above average entry
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2009
The Feast of the Drowned is the eighth original BBC Doctor Who novel to tie-in with the revived series, this time featuring The Tenth Doctor and travelling companion Rose Tyler.
The story as fast-paced and as accessible as you'd expect from this series, the plot isn't complicated and Stephen Cole has created a tense and creepy atmosphere from the start. His portrayal of the Tenth Doctor, as played by David Tennant on TV, is spot-on; with the right blend of quirkiness, manic energy, fierce intelligence, and the occasional burst of controlled anger at the stupidy and willfulness of his favourite species, humans .

The novel replicates the feel and characterizations of the TV show admirably, focusing as much on personal stories as the science fiction and fantasy. The plot reminded me a little of recent audio story `The Nemonite Invasion'; its story of possessed and `zombified' cadavers returning to life and its nautical setting. This is no bad thing though, as it retains its own character and style, and manages to link in to the TV series without slavishly adhering to continuity.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2006
Having only watch two episodes with David Tennant as the new doctor this book i think really catches the personality and atributes of the tenth doctor! It feels very much like an episode that could be shown as part of the new series! There is a good plot development and all the characters bring their own emotions!

The thing that i liked about the book, is personally it was an easy read and hadt of action to keep you reeling through the chapters! I sometimes get confused by the technicality of the solutions to problems, but this ones easy to understand!

Would deinately recommend, but I'm just warning you that as a younger reader and not having watched/read beyond the ninth doctor my opinions are quite bias to the style of the newer doctors and characters!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having spent several years collecting Doctor Who audiobooks, The Feast of the Drowned was the latest to catch my eye. Well, I say ‘latest’ when that’s not really the right term to use here. After all, The Feast of the Drowned came out in trade-hardback form nine years ago, when Series 2 was in full swing with David Tennant and Billie Piper in the driver’s seat. This particular tale from the BBC range of Doctor Who books eluded me, but after finally subjecting myself to it, I can safely say that The Feast of the Drowned is one of the darkest, most psychological and intense stories ever written for Doctor Who literature.

It’s 2006, and the Tenth Doctor and Rose Tyler have come home for a break, and a situation has arisen. Three months after the H.M.S. Ascendant went down at sea, all the members of its lost crew have started appearing as ghostly apparitions to their distraught families. One of them, Jay, has returned to Keisha (friend of Rose’s), and the Doctor naturally decides to investigate. But what’s the full extent of the Navy’s involvement in this? Why have the remains of the Ascendant been kept under constant study? And just what is lurking in the water?

This 2-disc audiobook is an abridged reading of Stephen Cole’s novel. Stephen’s writing is worthy of television, the way he’s able to successfully balance insight into the lives of all the story’s characters, the pacing/unravelling of the plot, infused with bags of tension/psychology/terror. Again, it’s one of the darkest and intense tales in the range of tie-in stories, and Cole writes it all beautifully. More insight into Rose’s domestic life outside of the TARDIS is refreshing, as is the strong role of Mickey Smith. It all seems to foreshadow the future elements of Series 2 (namely “Rise of the Cybermen/Age of Steel” and “Army of Ghosts”), with the water-based terrors perhaps providing inspiration for the 2009 Special “The Waters of Mars”.

Of course, the one-and-only David Tennant is on narration duties for this reading, and as ever, he does the story justice, not just as the Tenth Doctor, but in impersonating Billie Piper & Noel Clarke, and performing a variety of different characters. David is just so versatile, and conveys the constant change of atmosphere in Cole’s story perfectly.

Although a tad convoluted in places – and not an entirely rich entry in comparison to (say) The Forever Trap – The Feast of the Drowned remains one of the strongest entries in Doctor Who tie-in media. The exclusive interview with Stephen Cole at the end of the audiobook is the icing on the cake. Highly recommended; both in trade hardback, and this audio format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2007
I found this book a little bit disappointing. It is still good, but not nearly as good as I was expecting. It has some good one-liners and I suppose if your looking for a book about water monsters feasting on living drowned people this is just the thing! I'd still recommend you to read it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2006
I do hope the rest of the Doctor Who books get put to audio book and even more that David Tennant will read them, as he brings the stories alive. Find all those adventures they had while off screen. I used to have my mother read me to sleep as a child and now I have a sexy scot instead, definately an improvment!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
I really enjoyed this book.It's not just a Doctor Who story,there is lots going on with monsters and ghostly apparitions turning up all over the place but with a nice dash of horror & chaos thrown into the mix & some emotional & sad moments here and there along with the Doctors usual antics.All in all - a top read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
I read this book years ago just when David Tennant started the role. Stephen Cole perfectly gets the Doctor's character right. A good creepy story which unfolds the enemies insidious plans not too soon. Good story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse