Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very silly, very entertaining
In this 5th Ninth Doctor novel the Doctor, Rose and Jack are thrown into another adventure when a Neanderthal appears on modern day Earth (no - not 'Stig of the dump'!). The TARDIS crew are split-up very early on, with the Doctor and Rose investigating a group of scientists in the past, where Rose suffers the indignities of getting married to a caveman and in the novels...
Published on 23 Sep 2005 by Jane Aland

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who's Who?
When the TARDIS picked up an indication of temporal disturbances on Earth in the twentieth century, the Doctor is concerned about the primitive nature of the device. He found that its destination was early 21st century Bromley and with Rose and Captain Jack, he lands in Bromley's town centre. While the two guys use their technology to track down the disturbance, Rose uses...
Published on 23 Oct 2005 by JA Fairhurst


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who's Who?, 23 Oct 2005
By 
JA Fairhurst "johnfair" (Edgeley, Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Only Human (New Series Adventure 5) (Hardcover)
When the TARDIS picked up an indication of temporal disturbances on Earth in the twentieth century, the Doctor is concerned about the primitive nature of the device. He found that its destination was early 21st century Bromley and with Rose and Captain Jack, he lands in Bromley's town centre. While the two guys use their technology to track down the disturbance, Rose uses a more direct method of information gathering.
The trio find their mysterious time traveller in a local hospital and rescue him to take him home. But his presence only raised more questions for no Neanderthal man could know anything of time travel. The Doctor's attempt to take him home failed nearly fatally.
With Rose, the Doctor travelled back to that delicate time when H Sapiens Sapiens was displacing H Sapiens Neanderthalis only to find a whole research team from the far future studying this period. But there was something strange (alright, even stranger) going on.
Like all the Ninth Doctor series of books, we get a good feel of the three main characters as represented in the TV series. Gareth Roberts has produced a fast moving book fully in line with the broadcast episodes while retaining the books remit to provide a strong story - I doubt the Hy-Bractors bloody rampage would have been broadcast in just that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very silly, very entertaining, 23 Sep 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Only Human (New Series Adventure 5) (Hardcover)
In this 5th Ninth Doctor novel the Doctor, Rose and Jack are thrown into another adventure when a Neanderthal appears on modern day Earth (no - not 'Stig of the dump'!). The TARDIS crew are split-up very early on, with the Doctor and Rose investigating a group of scientists in the past, where Rose suffers the indignities of getting married to a caveman and in the novels most outrageous sequence re-enacts an infamous scene of comedy gore from the movie Re-Animator. In terms of plotting Captain Jack is given the short end of the stick, being virtually written out of the main storyline while he stays in the modern day looking after Neanderthal Das, but this does lead to some great comedy moments. A very light-hearted romp, Only Human derives much of it's comedy from the 'fish out of water' misunderstandings of both the Neanderthal in modern life, and the scientists stranded at the dawn of civilisation. Very silly, Only Human is nevertheless one of the more ambitious of the 'juvenile' Ninth Doctor novels, and a very entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good little treat., 9 Jan 2006
By 
Mrs. Angela Clark (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Only Human (New Series Adventure 5) (Hardcover)
This is the very first Doctor Who book I have ever read and it was suprisingly good. The quality of the writing is excellent and the characterisation is very good also - you could easily see this as an episode in the series.
It is short enough to be a guilty pleasure on a Saturday afternoon for when you don't want to read something too heavy - a bit like watching Doctor Who really! As I have only recently become incredibly interested in Doctor Who, I really enjoyed it - not sure how it would compare if you put it in the context of the whole genre though, but I liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, Except When It Isn't, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A novel that's both pretty good, and intensely irritating. On the plus side, Roberts nails the 9th Doctor and Rose, and that's half the job when writing these tie-in novels. Watching those two characters bounce around is a great deal of fun. The primary plot is also interesting and well conceived, with splashes of family friendly body horror perking up a tale of mad science and human improvement. However, the novel collapses into the most irksome drivel when the sub-plots surrounding primitive homo sapiens and neanderthals rear their heads. The decision to write these characters as modern families in furs is neither particularly funny nor terribly illuminating, and they drag down a promising bit of tomfoolery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only Human, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The core of this story is that of a group from way in the future who travel way back to the past and muck about with the accepted history of Earth. When a young Neanderthal man finds his way to 2005, the Doctor, Rose and Jack must try to put things to right. So far, so good.

I found this story problematic though. Firstly, Jack is separated from the Doctor and Rose and plays virtually no part in the story at all. The premise on which Das, the Neaderthal is not able to return to his own time is overplayed to the point of parody as he finds a new life in the modern world. Really didn't gel I didn't think. Meanwhile, back in 28,000 BC or thereabouts, there's a world where they go hunting on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday and get Wednesday off, and they have marriage ceremonies which include the Great Fish of Matrimony. Sorry, don't buy it.

The futuristic part of the story is good. The mad scientist part of the story is good. The Neanderthal part of the story is bad. Pity, really. Even the characterisations of the Doctor and Rose don't win the story back to being all that great - I didn't feel that the Doctor was really true to his Ninth Doctor self; he seemed more like the David Tennant Tenth Doctor. This story was picked to be representative of the Ninth Doctor in the 50th anniversary celebration series of novelisation; I am sure there must have been better stories out there for the purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the last neanderthal, 28 Jun 2007
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Only Human (New Series Adventure 5) (Hardcover)
Another novel adventure for the ninth doctor and rose, this time with captain jack along for the ride. Finding a neanderthal man has been brought through time from his era to the present day, the doctor leaves jack to introduce him to twenty first century life whilst he and rose take a trip back to ancient times to find what caused. They come across time travellers, one of whom is up to no good.

By the time the batch of books this one is part of came out, the writers had seen the new tv series and thus knew exactly what the characters were like. And in the hands of a skilled writer such as gareth roberts, who wrote many of the best books for the old doctor who book ranges, you thus are in for a treat.

The Jack and neanderthal in present day plotline is a neat sub section, and the main adventures of the doctor and rose are throughly readable stuff, with some very funny moments of dialogue and a few serious moral dilemmas that force the reader to think about them on the way. One of the best of this range and well worth getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guilty pleasure!!!, 26 Jan 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who - Only Human (New Series Adventure 5) (Hardcover)
What a fun book. The quality of the writing is excellent and the characterizations are solid. And the plot, about a caveman transported to the 21st century and having to learn to fit in, is ripe with "fish out of water" humor. Gareth Roberts has written a fast moving story with all the thrills, fun, and humor of an episode of "Doctor Who". Infact, this could easily be an episode of 'Doctor Who". All in all, this scifi adventure is a fun afternoons reading. Another book I recommend is the scifi alien invasion adventure "GAAK" by Darryl Hughes. Four misfit kids try to save their small town and the world from kooky aliens. It's like The Goonies meets The Invaders from Mars. Spielberg would be proud. LOL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only Human, 7 May 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who - Only Human (New Series Adventure 5) (Hardcover)
Only Human was 1 of 2 first Doctor Who Books that I bought recently, to try and see if I would enjoy the written series.

It is one of those books that when you pick it up and started reading, you have to know what happens next. I think I read it within 24 hours, 2nd time I have ever done this and that was with the other Doctor Who Book!

I found that the Author (Gareth Roberts) had captured each character really well while giving his own unique personal touches. Which I found made it even more refreshing, making you want to know what he'll get the characters to do or say next. Even the enemies in this story were well thought out. The contents leading up to their background was a pretty scary thought and makes you even question yourself, what would you do if given the choices?

Over all, I will highly recommend this book to anyone. It is an enjoyable book to read, a page-turner all the way through, not to forget, Rose's and the Doctor's sarcasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good read, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and good story for all who fans a little predictable but still good. Read whole thing very quickly which tells you something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Story, Fantastic Writer., 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book i have read in about 7 years. This is the book that has got me back into reading ! Gareth Roberts really captured christopher's doctor and Rose perfectly and reading this book was like watching an actual televised episode. I found it difficult to put the book down and am very sad that it ended ! This Author and this story are the perfect choice to represent Eccleston for the 50th anniversary ! Also at 5.75 this was a bargain. In shops it is 7.99. The book is well worth 7.99 but amazons price is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Only Human (New Series Adventure 5)
Doctor Who - Only Human (New Series Adventure 5) by Gareth Roberts (Hardcover - 8 Sep 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews