Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure nostalgia from the 1940s
I purchased this CD for my husband's 69th birthday, and for him it was pure nostalgia. He turned off the lights and fire, and recreated the conditions of the 1940s, and he was nine years old again - and believing every word of it. Magical.

In the pre-television days, imagination was everything, and enjoyment so much more.
Published on 13 April 2010 by Mrs. Janet Lewis

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dick Barton: BBC Radio's First Superhero:Special Agent (BBC Radio Collection)
Thoroughly enjoyable, I bought this as a present for my Husband, it brought back many happy evenings spent in front of the radio (that thing invented before TV). It has lost none of the tense excitement that it had when it was first heard. A very involved plot.
The speech is much faster than we remembered or possibly our ears are getting old, but you soon get used to...
Published on 6 Jun 2009 by Maggie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dick Barton: BBC Radio's First Superhero:Special Agent (BBC Radio Collection), 6 Jun 2009
By 
Maggie "May" (Cambs. England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dick Barton: BBC Radio's First Superhero: Special Agent (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Thoroughly enjoyable, I bought this as a present for my Husband, it brought back many happy evenings spent in front of the radio (that thing invented before TV). It has lost none of the tense excitement that it had when it was first heard. A very involved plot.
The speech is much faster than we remembered or possibly our ears are getting old, but you soon get used to it again. As it is a radio broadcast there are repeat beginning and end music and credits for each episode which can get a bit annoying as all you really want is the story.
Be aware that this set of CD's has been re-released as "Dick Barton Radio Crimes" On the whole a very entertaining listening experience and my Husband can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure nostalgia from the 1940s, 13 April 2010
By 
I purchased this CD for my husband's 69th birthday, and for him it was pure nostalgia. He turned off the lights and fire, and recreated the conditions of the 1940s, and he was nine years old again - and believing every word of it. Magical.

In the pre-television days, imagination was everything, and enjoyment so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good nostalgic adventure, 18 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This tape belongs to the time when people were glued to the radio rather than the T.V. Dick Barton, Jock and Snowey get involved in exciting adventures which are told in a series of cliff-hanging stories - each one of which leaves you wanting to hear how it works out! Nostalgic, certainly, but I enjoyed the good, clean thrills and spills of this 'special agent'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dick Barton - Special Agent, 27 Nov 2009
I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the recording. It took me back to my childhood and the music at the end of each episode keeping you on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen next. It might not appeal to the under 30s but I enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific 1972 recreation, 6 April 2011
By 
Chappers "chappers" (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a terrifically enjoyable 1972 recreation of the very first Dick Barton adventure ('Dick Barton and The Secret Weapon' from 1946). The BBC managed to reassemble the original DB cast, including Noel Johnson as Captain Barton. This contributes to the fluency and fun of the recording as everyone's clearly enjoying themselves hugely.

Dick Barton serials always had insanely frenetic plots and impossible cliff-hanging endings and the format is retained on this recording, with each 14 minute installment ending on a cliffhanger: Giant spiders! Dick trapped in a burning warehouse! Rats in the darkness! How will they get out of this one?!

In this adventure Dick goes on a golfing holiday with his old war-time colleague Snowey White, and together with Jock Anderson they tackle a mad foreign professor obsessed with a mysterious secret weapon and plans of world domination. It's wonderful fun, even its (consciously) non-pc attitude to women, and beautifully produced with convincing sound effects. If you're a Paul Temple fan like me, you might want to give this one a go. I rank this thrill-a-minute adventure up there with the best of Temple for its diverting enjoyable entertainment. It's just a pity the BBC didn't recreate more of them while they had the chance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars childhood memories, 6 Dec 2009
By 
P. Bird "prb" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
takes me back to my childhood days, the streets would empty every night it was on, we would run into the house, lay on the carpet in front of the radio,and be carried away for a short time to another world, magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good But Read ON..... 1, 2 3 Hit 'em Snowey!, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Like many listeners I was far too young to have heard the Dick Barton Series when it was originally broadcast.

Like many I chanced on the series and found that it was not the dated, stiff upper lip boring old tripe that I had imagined it to be but rather rather good, old fashioned cliff hanging fun. All have to do is suspend you beliefs and bask in the wonderful retelling of these fabulous tales.

Most recordings have been lost BUT they were recast and rebroadcast for the colonies (South Africa and Australia) and wonder of wonders have been rediscovered and released as CD sets they are terrific entertainment and I can wholeheartedly recommend them.
Dick Barton and the Smash and Grab Raiders (BBC Audio)
Dick Barton and the Li-Chang Adventure (Radio Collection)
Dick Barton and the Cabatolin Diamonds
Dick Barton and the Paris Adventure

SO we come to this edition the first of the series, It is really great to hear the origins and the first story in the fabulous Dick Barton Series.

This is a really cracking tale and gallops along rather like the theme tune. Cliffhangers come up every 3rd portion and the baddies are wonderful the ploy sublime....
but....

This is not the original.
The BBC brought the available members of the original cast together and

NoŽl Johnson retakes Dick Barton, John Mann - Snowey White, William Fox as Colonel Gardiner, Margaret Robertson as Jean Hunter and Alex McCrindle as Jock Anderson. But the series of episodes whilst good lacked a certain something.

Some of the cast seemed to be showing their age in the performances- they were not as sharp nor as quick as expected as older people seem to get. They loose some of the speed of youth. Margaret Robertson is the exception here she is wonderful in her role as Jean.
Snowey White seemed far too slow to my ear and Jock almost creaked!

The other main thing is that, if like me, you have heard the Australian series you have really been spoilt. The actors where from those original series and sound fresh BUT and more importantly the cast were so good that those actors and their voices imprinted themselves as the definitive characters.

The fact the the productions were excellent also makes this production look a little tired and aged as the actors within.

SO two reviews really.
If you are new to Dick Barton you will enjoy this episode immensely- It is a cracking tale and is entertaining. If you want to reminisce about the show then that's fine.

If you are, like me, a veteran of the Aussie and brilliant series this will be good but not AS good as that fabulous series.

My advice buy it and you will be entertained but grab yourself one of the others and you will see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dick Barton saves the day... again, 18 Jun 2011
By 
R. C. McGinlay (Ilford, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Having recently listened to the Australasian Radio remount of the second Dick Barton radio serial, "Dick Barton and the Paris Adventure (Radio Collection)", I felt compelled to seek out his debut story. As with "The Paris Adventure", this double CD is a re-recording (very few episodes of the original BBC series, which ran from 1946 to 1951, survive), though this time it's the BBC's own 1972 remake, broadcast as part of the corporation's golden jubilee celebrations.

Several members of the original cast reprise their roles, including NoŽl Johnson as Dick Barton, John Mann as Snowey White, William Fox as Colonel Gardiner, Margaret Robertson as Jean Hunter and Alex McCrindle as Jock Anderson. Inevitably, the actors' advanced ages are detectable at times, especially in the case of NoŽl Johnson and John Mann, though Margaret Robertson is surprisingly sprightly as Jean, and William Fox as Colonel Gardiner sometimes sounds younger than his subordinate Captain Barton.

As the story opens, we are introduced to Dick and Snowey, former wartime comrades reminiscing about old times while enjoying a round of golf. During the adventure they make the acquaintance of the Colonel, Jean and Jock Anderson, though Jock doesn't enter the fray until quite late in the day.

This remount is abridged to half the running time of the original 1946 version, "The Secret Weapon", which would have run to 20 x 12-minute episodes. However, there's still time for Dick and his chums to get into (and, of course, out of) plenty of hair-raising scrapes, involving giant spiders, deadly rats, land mines and death by the secret weapon itself - a decidedly fantastical aspect of the narrative.

I can't help wishing I could hear the bits that were omitted from this ten-episode remake, but even so this release is something rather special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PennyG, 11 Feb 2010
This review is from: Dick Barton: BBC Radio's First Superhero: Special Agent (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
I gave this to my brother for his 69th birthday. He used to listen to Dick Barton when we were young. He was absolutely thrilled with it and has been listening to it whilst on his exercise bike after a hip operation! He says the quality of the recording is excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get him Snowy, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Immediate flash back to 6.45 pm each weekday evening by our radio in the '40s and the Omnibus edition each Saturday morning. The quality of reproduction on the CD is of high quality. I have got a piece of my childhood back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dick Barton: BBC Radio's First Superhero: Special Agent (BBC Radio Collection)
Used & New from: £5.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews