Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Trojan Horse and Vicki leaves the TARDIS!, 13 Aug 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Myth Makers[1965](Original BBC Television Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
"I saw the Fall of Troy!..." said the Ninth Doctor to Rose in `The Unquiet Dead'.

This is the story where the Doctor was actually there during the events of Troy and how he witnesses the massacre of the Trojans by the Greeks. This is the story where the Doctor actually gave the Greeks the idea of the Trojan Horse that became a `horse of destruction'.

I enjoyed listening to `The Myth Makers' on audio. I've just finished listening to it last weekend! It's one of the classic stories from the William Hartnell days in `Doctor Who' and it's such a shame that none of the four episodes of this story exist. We only have the audio soundtrack on this CD with superb linking narration by actor Peter Purves, and a few pieces of surviving footage from the story that can found on the 'Lost in Time' DVD. It's a story from the third season of `Doctor Who' that saw a sea-change in the show's direction, especially with the departure of one of the Doctor's companions.

This is an historical adventure written by Donald Cotton who has a talent for writing historical stories in `Doctor Who'. It's a story that is sandwiched between `Mission to the Unknown' and `The Daleks' Master Plan' where TV audiences had to wait for the ensuing 12-part Dalek epic following on after this. `The Myth Makers' is a story written in the style of a high comedy-drama for the first three episodes and it definitely does feel `Carry On' like 'The Romans' before this. But by the fourth episode, it becomes horrible as the actual Trojan Horse incident takes place and everybody's brutally massacred. It's a pretty good historical drama on a particularly well-known historical legend on Troy. I wonder if this story will ever be found and we get to see what the four TV episodes actually look like and whether we can enjoy the comedy as well as the horror that goes in it.

The story has the TARDIS arriving on the plains of Ancient Troy in the middle of a sword fight between Achilles and Hector of Troy. The Doctor steps out and is immediately mistaken for being Zeus. Forced to help the Greeks win their long war with Troy, the Doctor gives them the way to invade the city with devastating results. Meanwhile Vicki finds herself in the company of King Priam and his children inside the court of Troy. When Steven gets captured and is mistaken for a Greek warrior, Vicki has to find a way to free him which could ultimately mean making the decision of staying in Troy with a man she loves or continuing to travel in the TARDIS.

With regards to the historical legend of Troy, I know the story pretty well indeed. I ashamedly knew about this historical story after watching that movie with Brad Pitt about 'Troy'. So I already knew about Helen of Troy, the war between the Spartans and Trojans over ten long years and the Trojan Horse that got into the city for the Greek Spartans to invade. Surprisingly Helen of Troy does not appear in this `Doctor Who' story. Not sure what that was all about. I found this a very interesting interpretation and depiction of the Trojan legend and how the Doctor was involved and somehow responsible causing the Trojan massacre to happen. It's clever writing by the pen of Donald Cotton and it's a story element that has used often in `Doctor Who' with the Doctor being the cause or responsible for historical events such as the Great Fire of Rome in `The Romans' or later in the Great Fire of London in `The Visitation'.

The flavour of this story feels very light-hearted comedy which I enjoyed listening to on audio, although it feels more character drama comedy instead of jokey moments occurring throughout. Maybe if this story was found and we watched it as a TV story we might see the funny moments occurring as with `The Romans'. It's quite a clever way to use comedy to disguise the horror situation that is later to come in `Doctor Who' stories. Some stories work well with that, some don't. Robert Holmes, Terrance Dick and Douglas Adams use comedy well to mask the story before unveiling the horror. Stories in Season 24 with Sylvester McCoy's Doctor don't do it so well unfortunately.

I enjoyed listening to William Hartnell as the Doctor in `The Myth Makers' audio, and he clearly is into the comedy spirit of the story in the first three episodes. It's quite amusing to find he's mistaken for Zeus, one of the Greek gods, by Achilles and Hector at the beginning of the story. He doesn't convince Odysseus however, and his bluff is exposed when Steven comes to find him at the end of `Episode 1'. The Doctor tries to convince Odysseus by promising a disappearing trick with his TARDIS or making a lightning bolt come to him, but Odysseus isn't having any of it. The Doctor gets to try and come up with a way for the Greeks to invade Troy. Whilst his idea for flying machines doesn't convince them, his idea for a wooden horse certainly does. Why the Doctor comes up with the Trojan horse is pretty unusual and rather disturbing since he's somehow condemned the Trojans to death. It sounds inhuman of the Doctor to do this, but then again he isn't human and that's what makes the magic of his character all mysterious.

Vicki was a joy to listen to in this story. I like Vicki, played by Maureen O'Brien. This happens to be her last story and it's such a shame about the circumstances on how Maureen left the series, but more on that later. Vicki n `The Myth Makers' really gets to have a story of her own in this. She's told to stay put by Steven in the TARDIS when going out to look for the Doctor. But she puts on some Greek clothes and goes out to meet King Priam and his children in the city of Troy coming out of the TARDIS. She's welcomed by King Priam who renames her `Cressida'. She claims to be from the future to Priam at his court, and he's keen to learn from her what she knows from the war. Priam's daughter Cassandra who is prophetess dislikes and distrusts Vicki, considering her to be a rival. I do like the romance between Vicki and Priam's youngest son Troilus as it's rather sweet and is a motivating factor to why Vicki chooses to stay behind.

Steven, played by Peter Purves (who I've met twice at conventions), gets his fair share of the story too . I like the scenes Steven shares with Vicki in the TARDIS as well as the scenes in the dungeon, displaying their friendship and fondness of each other. Steven goes out to find the Doctor and gets caught causing the Doctor to get into trouble too. Steven tries to explain to the Greek about them arriving by accident, and he also gets to pose as a Greek warrior to get into the Trojan city to find Vicki. Eventually both he and Vicki get thrown into the dungeons after being accused of Greek spies. Steven has a hard time of it being ignored and fed scrapes by the Greeks in the dungeon. He eventually gets freed by Vicki from his cell and discovers how much Troilus means to her before finding himself in a battle with the Greeks and getting injured, which doesn't get shown in the story annoyingly.

The supporting characters in this adventure include figures from the Trojan legend such as Achilles, Hector, Paris, King Priam, Agamemnon and Odysseus. I remember some of these historical characters from watching the `Troy' movie, although I was disappointed there was no Helen of Troy to reinforce why the Trojans and Greeks were fighting each other rather mentioning it. I was reminded of that fight scene between Brad Pitt and Eric Bana as Achilles and Hector in the `Doctor Who' story when the TARDIS arrived. Some of the characters were different to how I expected them to be. Paris for example, who stole Helen from the Greeks, sounds rather different in terms of character. He's certainly no Orlando Bloom that's for sure. I also found Cassandra pretty vicious and vengeful towards Vicki and seemed rather two-dimensional at times. But I liked some of the cast names including Max Adrian who plays a majestic King Priam, as well as Barrie Ingham playing Paris (who was also in the first Peter Cushing Doctor Who movie `Dr. Who and the Daleks'); Francis de Wolff playing Agamemnon (who also appeared in `The Keys of Marinus' before this) and Ivor Salter playing Odysseus (who appeared previous in `The Space Museum' and would later appear in `Black Orchid').

As I said before, the most significant part of `The Myth Makers' was the shock departure of Vicki. Maureen O'Brien was equally shocked when she found she'd been written out of the series without her knowledge and consent. It has been assumed by producer John Wiles and script editor Donald Tosh that Maureen wanted to go. And that in itself is true, since Maureen had no intentions of staying in the series for a long length of time. But unfortunately the circumstances of her leaving were badly handled as Maureen wasn't told she was leaving until the last minute and became furious. I know exactly how Maureen would feel if she came back to expect work to find she'd actually been written out. I think it's a real shame since Maureen's a lovely actress and Vicki's a lovely character in `Doctor Who' that the circumstances of her leaving would turn out like this as I gradually discovered in interviews in magazines and documentaries about it.

Saying that however, I found Vicki's departure rather sweet as she stays behind to be with her lover Troilus. Although it's fair to say the departure was quite sudden and there was no goodbye between her and the Doctor as it was all rather quick in the ensuing chaos of Troy's destruction. It also seems rather strange and out of character for Vicki to fall in love so quickly since it's only through the course of four episodes in a short space in time in Troy that Vicki immediately falls in love with Troilus. But getting back to the point, Vicki's decision to stay with Troilus also reinforces a historical fact which I've only discovered now. Vicki was given the name Cressida. And Cressida in Greek myths and legends happens to be a person who falls in love with Troilus. So Vicki ends up from being a 25th century character to becoming an historical character in Greek history which sounds amazing. Whether Vicki's place in history as Cressida is historically accurate is entirely up to you as it's open for interpretation.

This story also introduces a new companion in the form of Katarina, played by Adrienne Hill. Katarina is a hand maiden in the court of King Priam and appears only in Episode 4. It seems like a brief introduction to Katarina in `The Myth Makers' as we barely get to know her. She's ordered by Cassandra to watch over Vicki when the Trojan Horse is brought into the city. But when the massacre enters, Vicki ends up leaving and Katarina is joining the Doctor and Steven in the TARDIS. She help the Doctor to carry an injured Steven into the TARDIS when they're escaping the Trojan massacre.

The last scene of `The Myth Makers' has the Doctor tending to Steven's mortal wounds with Katarina before setting off the TARDIS to find some help. I'd heard this scene already as it acted as a prologue for the CD release of `The Daleks' Master Plan'. So it was interesting to listen to this scene again acting as a ending rather than as a beginning. It emphasises the urgency of Steven's condition, the loss of Vicki and the determination of the Doctor to find some help before it's too late as they leave Troy and history to carry on its natural course.

So `The Myth Makers' has been a thoroughly enjoyable listening experience of a lost TV story. It was interesting interpretation of the Trojan legend in `Doctor Who' terms with a nice comedy flavour transitioning into a horrific historical event. It's a lovely story to feature Vicki even though her departure was shockingly abrupt and unexpected. And it was also the beginning of another change in the air as `Doctor Who' was now beginning to enter new territory with its third season only just starting by this point.

The next story for the Doctor, Steven and Katarina is 'The Daleks' Master Plan'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Side to the Trojan Horse, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pretend you're at the Siege of Troy right now. You have just seen Achilles slay Hector. You know that the subterfuge with the Trojan Horse is soon to follow. But there is a change. You suddenly hear a loud groaning hum. A small light appears. With it, a wooden blue police telephone box. You stare in amazement as it all appears before your eyes. The TARDIS has arrived.

Based on the television serial of the same name, Doctor Who: The Myth Makers sets the Doctor and his companions Steven and Vicki to one of the most infamous wars of ancient history. Unfortunately, none of this serial exists anymore, save for a few seconds of footage. The only way you're going to know the events at this point of time is to read this book. Anyway, the Doctor is the first to exit the TARDIS and is believed by the Greeks (most of them) to be Zeus, because of the way the TARDIS appeared. Steven goes out after him while Vicki remains behind. The TARDIS however is found by Paris and he orders his men to carry it into Troy. Vicki comes out and is assumed to be a priestess of power, much to the displeasure of the city's high priestess Cassandra.

At the Greek camp, the Doctor's disguise is soon foiled and he is forced by King Agammemnon and hero Odysseus to construct a means of ensuring their victory over the Trojans. King Priam expects a similar thing of Vicki by predicting what the Greeks are going to do, and renames her Cressida. Steven aims to rescue them both, with the the willing help of one Greek poet named Homer, the legendary author of epics The Illiad aoctornd The Odyssey. The heroes must now work on separate sides to rejoin one another and return to the TARDIS. It will not be easy, as one of them faces an agonising choice. And when that choice is made, it is the Doctor who pays the price.

Doctor Who: The Myth Makers. The television episodes that make up the story are a myth within themselves as with also being lost celluloid they are as per usual told from the points of view from the TARDIS crew members. With the book however it is told completely from the viewpoint of Homer as he is relaying it to an audience much later in his life. So are you willing to see the story of the fall of Troy in a new light, told by the man who wrote two great epics about it, with the characters we all know and love from a science fiction television program? Or are you afraid to have an adventure with a history you believe you already know? Well, this is my opinion. Always ready for a new adventure with... DOCTOR WHO!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horse Doctor, 29 July 2009
This is another enjoyable release in the range of audiobook versions of the Target range of DOCTOR WHO novelisations first released in the 1970s and 1980s. THE MYTH MAKERS was one of the later entries in the range and is a rather loose adaptation, by the original author, of his own television episodes, but they are adapted in such a way that I think he in many ways manages to improve upon them. Whilst it is undoubtedly the early Target novelisations that were amongst the strongest in the entire range, this release certainly gives them a run for their money.

Basically, the story is told from the point of view of the aged and blind poet Homer, reworking parts of his works late in his life. In earlier versions of his tales, he realises that he completely failed to mention the part the occupants of a certain Blue Police Box played in the fall of Troy, and now he wants to set the record straight. Or maybe he's just decided to "reimagine" his early works to maximise his profits...? Whatever the reason, when The Doctor (in white-haired old man mode), Steven and Vicki emerge from one of Zeus's portable temples at a crucial moment in the battle between Hector and Achilles, events start to unfold at a rapid pace and (after the dismissal of other notable plans) a certain legendary horse tends to reluctantly become a racing certainty of playing a pivotal role in history.

You might have been led to believe that the early years of DOCTOR WHO are a little slow and humourless, but this version is far from either, as it positively rattles along over its 4 CD running time and Donald Cotton has fashioned an amusing and witty take on his original that in many ways surpasses it. At times this is just very, very funny, and any student of the classics would find a lot to enjoy in this jolly spin on the usual myths and legends with its knowing nods and winks towards other literary works and some of the most excruciating puns you're ever likely to come across.

Stephen Thorne narrates in a jaunty and avuncular manner and his various characterisations - with the occasional Somerset (?) burr - employed throughout are great fun. Actually it is his performance that really makes this release. His Doctor Who performances (Azal in "The Daemons; Omega in "The Three Doctors") tended towards the "booming evil villain" end of his range, so his approach here is a rather pleasing revelation.

By the way, if you do want to experience the original version of this story, the television version is probably lost forever, but the audio soundtrack CDs of the original episodes have been released by BBC Audio. However, that release also is rather unfortunately titled "Doctor Who - The Myth Makers", so you'd better be sure which version you're after when you order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'The Myth Makers' makes its way Back into Forgotten 'Doctor Who' Lore, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Nicholas Pearson "Cert HE (Open)" (Herne Bay, Kent. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Myth Makers[1965](Original BBC Television Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
'The Myth Makers' happens to be amongst the many Doctor Who serials that have become lost following the BBC's purging of what they deemed 'irrelevant' material, and the biggest shame is that not a lot of the programme remains other than the television soundtrack (due to a very loyal fan-base pointing their portable recorders up to the television screen at time of broadcast). Broadcast Between October and November 1965, this entry is among the show' s historical genre of serials, in contrast to the more science-fiction oriented, and the setting this time is in (Mythical) Ancient Greece, in the midst of the Trojan War. It seems something of a teaser/ filler episode, set in between the single episode serial 'Mission to the Unknown' (famous for including none of the main cast, but focusing on the menacing daleks) and the twelve part epic 'The Daleks' Master Plan'.
The story leads straight on from the previous serial 'Galaxy 4', and involves the First Doctor, Vicki and Steven becoming embroiled in the war between the Greeks and the Trojans, during the infamous Battle of Troy. Donald Cotton's script utilises a lot of the Homeric characters of Achilles, King Priam, Helen of Troy (never actually seen, but mentioned), Troilus, Odysseus and so on. The historical factor is slightly marred by the fact that the events of the Trojan War have never been revealed as factual, but more of a mythical story told by bards and poets of ancient times. However, the educational factor is still there, and Cotton uses his various sources of Homer, Virgil and Shakespeare well to create a well-paced four-part drama that also delivers a high level of entertainment.
It is at the end of 'The Myth Makers' that Vicki decides to stay behind after the battle in order to make a life for herself with her newfound love Troilus, and goes on with Troilus' cousin Aeneas to 'start again'. This move on the writer's part was due to Maureen O'Brien, who played Vicki, wanting to leave the series at an agreed time. Therefore, at the end of the serial, amidst the bloody battle still going on and alongside a badly injured Steven, a new companion is brought into the fold in the form of Katarina, the handmaiden to Cassandra (the Seer who is cursed to receive prophecies that no-one believes).
It really is a shame that 'The Myth Makers' has no surviving visual material, save from a few 8mm off-air clips recorded by fans, and included in the DVD 'Lost in Time: Collection of Rare Episodes - The William Hartnell Years 1963-1966'. According to the surviving crew and actors, the set designs and costumes were particularly lavish, and happens to be Maureen O'Brien's favourite story purely down to that reason. It certainly is much help having the surviving original television soundtrack, otherwise there would be no way whatsoever to enjoy this well-crafted piece, sewn into Doctor Who lore (apart from the Target novel, which is available in hard/paperback and audio form). Additionally, it aids in bridging the gaps between the missing serials in the programme's third season, and explains why Vicki decided to leave the company of the Doctor and Steven.
The linking narration provided by Peter Purves, who played Steven Taylor in this story, manages to give a sense of what is occurring during the scenes that rely less on dialogue and more on visual cue. However, I would have liked to hear a bit more of this descriptive linking narration, as it is sometimes quite difficult to grasp what is happening simply by the clashing of swords, or by a desperate bass tone. This is only minor though, and 'The Myth Makers' on Audio CD is a media item that every devoted Whovian should have on their shelves, as a testimony to what made Doctor Who so great during this innocent phase in the show' s run.
N.B. Please note also, that this release was later included in the 2010 release of 'Doctor Who: The Lost TV Episodes Collection One: 1964-1965', which has its sound quality digitally remastered since the initial release. This set includes other lost stories that have not been recovered yet and also some interviews with the original cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Myth or Legend, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Myth Makers[1965](Original BBC Television Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
Noy quite legend but enjoyable and a good listen. Shame the BBC lost it. Sound creates great images of Troy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dr who novel, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book is quite a good story made more important by not being on film no more well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horses for courses, 24 Jan 2010
Another great example of how the Target novelisations often transcended the TV stories they adapted, Donald Cotton's novel is a historical tour de force; the epic scale of the story is beautifully brought across with lashings of detail that the small screen could never accomodate, whilst Stephen Thorne's reading is superb. Narrated by the long-suffering poet Homer, shortly after having his eye gouged out by the barbarous Odysseus, the story is actually an early 'Doctor-lite' adventure, with the Time Lord and his companions bit-part players on a stage that pits Greek against Trojans, and gives a light-hearted yet compelling accurate portrayal of classical mythology. Stirring stuff indeed, and a fine addition to the Target audio range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I Suppose I'll Have to Drive You Like a Grecian Cur Into the City... Come, Dog!", 31 Jan 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Myth Makers[1965](Original BBC Television Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
The Myth Makers is one of those stories which, despite knowing what it's about, I've never really heard much about... So it was a bit of a delight to find it's a total gem.

I'm an enormous fan of Hartnell's years, but I find that I can still be swayed by the general view that the stories were `a bit shoddy,' `too slow,' etc (despite the fact that I think, at its best, this period's production values were at an all-time high compared to the majority of the later years, relatively speaking) - so it almost came as a (pleasant) surprise just how snappy this story is! Oh ye (me) of little faith.

It was wonderful to hear a `comedy' Doctor Who story that is genuinely funny - I love The Romans, but I wouldn't describe it as pant-wettingly funny, as it is often portrayed. I don't want to just list quotes, but, er, I think I'm going to. Paris is particularly good value for money - I love the re-imagining of a Trojan warrior as an inept Carry On imbecile; he reminded me of Hugo in The Vicar of Dibley, actually, crossed with David Hemmings' Dildano in Barbarella ("I'll put it round your secret neck"). I particularly like Paris' "Now I suppose I'll have to drive you like a Grecian cur into the city, won't I... Come, dog!"

All the derogatory stuff about Cassandra was entertaining too ("Oh, go and feed the sacred snakes or something"). Her, "You're not putting THAT in my temple!" of the TARDIS tickled me too.
Also: the comment about "galloping religious mania";
"It seems there's a man lurking behind that flaccid exterior after all!";
"Catapults? Sounds like a vulgar oath to me."

Not being particularly action-packed (although, thanks to the wordplay, it never drags either - if anything, four episodes felt too short), the story transfers wonderfully to audio, which is particularly nice as it emphasised the links between this and Marc Platt's grown-up-Vicki Frostfire audio. I'm not particularly sold on the idea of the audio adventures, so I've never become very involved with Big Finish - well, I say `very'; Frostfire is the only one I've actually listened to. (Audio just seems like a slightly clumsy medium to me - compared to novels and televised stories, it has the worst of both worlds... But I digress.) I could really feel the links between young Vicki leaving the TARDIS here, and the older Vicki/Lady Cressida in the catacombs in the Companions Chronicle story. Maureen O'Brien even sounded exactly the same. Having listened to the audio first, there was a nice sense of continuity (not in the fan sense) between the two stories.

It's also amazing how far Vicki has come since The Rescue. It's often said that there's little character development in the companions, so it's wonderful that Vicki really has matured by now - and she's completely charming. Even her romance with Troilus is sweet and well played, and doesn't become trite. Also a nice ending for her - I wasn't convinced at first (it just seems as if she's been forgotten), but her telling the Doctor that she has decided to leave off-screen is really effective; it fits with the frantic events of the Greek attack, and is slightly less 'literal' than the thinking that these scenes always need to be shown.

Whilst on the topic of companions: Katarina - what the hell?! I've previously listened to The Daleks' Master Plan (ooh, I love a Doctor Who with honest-to-god grammar in the title...); I wasn't expecting miracles from her debut (in fact, I'd forgotten about her until she randomly showed up), but I thought she might at least have some part to play here. Ah, well... she'll soon be a space popsicle.

The other main thing that strikes me: Hartnell, wonderful as ever - but why has no-one ever really picked up more on the whole `the Doctor is responsible for the fall of Troy' element?! I know he regrets giving the Greeks the idea for the horse once he's actually in it, but it sounds like it's motivated more by self-preservation than guilt at instigating a massacre! Very strange how sometimes the Doctor'll emote for ages about one little character (or whatever... can't think of an example off the top of my head. Erm, Lytton), and then doesn't trouble himself about causing the fall of an entire city! Not to mention The Aztecs' patented `messing around with history' thing.

All in all, The Myth Makers is deeply underrated; it feels very effortless, loads of fun, but with a pleasingly dramatic ending, which stops it feeling too inconsequential.
(I've got The Massacre primed to go next - ooh, expectations are sky-high!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is there a Doctor in the Horse, 27 Jan 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Myth Makers[1965](Original BBC Television Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
The prospect of spending an hour and a half with Doctor Who, especially the Hartnell black and white vintage, and not even on television, but some off-air recording of a 'junked' story, tarted up by a bit of narration, can't fill many people's hearts with excitement. So, I assume, this release is meant for the die-hard fans. The same people who dismiss this, and the writer's other contribution to the programme, The Gunfighters, as among the worst stories ever in the series, and you can imagine the stiff competition. So, who is this meant to appeal to? Anyone with a sense of fun and an appreciation of clever dialogue. Set during the Trojan War, the story rattles along with a casual disregard for historical, or literary, accuracy and is all the better for it. The events are restructured to fit the Doctor Who world in the same way that Shakespeare was more interested in telling a good story, than give a history lesson. Featuring a line up of stage and screen stars, notably Max Adrian as King Priam and Francis de Wolff as Agamemnon, this is still Hartnell's show. Seeming to delight in the freedom from technobabble and the historical stories usual forced gravitas, he puts in a comedy performance the right side of tongue-in-cheek and send-up, something that future Doctors could have done well to echo. The story is by no means light, especially the more down-beat final episode, and it contains a fair amount of Doctor Who 'business', namely the departure of a long-standing companion. Not being made for an audio-medium, however wordy the script, can make listening to an adaptation of this sort hard work. Although cleaned up magnificently, these amateur mono recordings are of poorer quality than would normally be expected of a professional product. Still, due praise should be given to the fan who had the foresight to record it way back in 1965. And boos and hisses to the BBC for not recognising the programmes significance. This is never going to appeal to anyone but a Who-fan or TV nostagist but it does deserve a better reputation even amongst that scene. And a wider appreciation too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A super reading of a top Target novelisation..., 16 Aug 2008
By 
D. Mason "David" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stephen Thorne gives a fantastic reading of one of the finest ever Doctor Who novelisations from Target books. Since reading it on first publication I have studied literature (including Homer) at university, and I have to say that whilst a knew Donald Cotton's book to be good as a teenager revisiting it as an adult was again a fantastic experience. Mr Thorne - now a less prolific audio book reader than was once the case - gives a spirited rendition of each character, including a suspiciously West Country-sounding Odysseus! It is such a shame that BBC Audiobooks chose to follow this gem with a feeble offering like Black Orchid. But as the Trojans in this book would doubtless tell you (were they not the stuff of myth), you can't win 'em all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Myth Makers[1965](Original BBC Television Soundtrack)
Used & New from: £17.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews