Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

109 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost (but not quite) the best version of the radio series, 12 Dec 2003
This review is from: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Collector's Edition (CD Box Set) (Audio CD)
The radio version of Douglas Adams superb Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy is arguably also the best incarnation of the series to date. The sheer breadth of Adams freewheeling imagination is exhilarating, yet the humour never feels particularly forced. There’s a lovely flow to the dialogue that belies the fact that the production was made in something of a panic as Adams fought to keep up with his writing deadlines.
This collector’s edition is probably the best release of the original radio series we are ever likely to see. It contains not only all 12 episodes but also an excellent and informative “making of” documentary and a full-length interview with Adams. These really reinforce what a loss his untimely death was.
The sound quality of this CD set is superb. Every bleep and blarp is clearly audible. Some people have noticed a slight pause between some of the tracks but I have listened to it several times and have never noticed any problems.
The one slight problem with the set is that due to rights clearance problems, a tiny section has been trimmed where Marvin hums like Pink Floyd. This has also been absent from every other release of the radio series and it is a situation that is unlikely to change any time soon. A shame but sadly unavoidable.
All in all, I cannot recommend this release highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - bloody brilliant!, 20 Oct 2004
By 
Pete (Adelaide, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Collector's Edition (CD Box Set) (Audio CD)
P>I picked up the first cd release of this back in either the late 1980's or early 90's (somewhere around there..!), and found it to be a very satisfying visual experience. I lost that copy (at the second-hand shop where I sold it..) and had recently desired to have it again for my archives!
This beautiful edition, made up of both the "Primary Phase" and "Secondary Phase" episodes, includes 2 additional discs of 'special features'.
Disc 1 is the VERY listenable "Guide to the Hitchhikers Guide" containing interviews with the author Douglas Adams, 3 members of the original radio cast and those who had a hand in bringing the Guide from concept to product. It is narrated/hosted by Peter Jones in a cleverly scripted psuedo-reprisal of his role as the book in the radio series!
Disc 2 contains a more formal interview with Douglas Adams, which we can only imagine was recorded around 1998 when the "Guide to the Hitchhikers Guide" was produced.
The sound quality is pristine and flawless, it doesn't appear to have been remastered in any way from the first cd release (the copy I owned I mean!), simply because it didn't require any technical upgrading. All 8 cd's are individually packaged in illustrated cardboard 'sleeves', with a total running time of 7 hours 40 minutes. The recording is in stereo.
Totally worth your money if you are browsing for an 'ultimate edition' of the first Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy BBC Production :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belgium!, 26 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Collector's Edition (CD Box Set) (Audio CD)
As an american airman stationed in the UK, I had the incredible good fortune to listen to (and make a very bad tape of) the original BBC radioplay broadcasts off the airwaves. I shared this tape with friends from around the world over the years.
The books made from the original radioplay were ok, and the TV series made from the books were ok, and the audiobook readings of the books were ok, but....
NOTHING compares to the vibrancy of the original BBC radioplays. If I remember correctly, at the time of broadcast some critic called the radioplay "astounding technicolor mind pictures", and I must agree.
Buy this brilliant piece of comedy. Savor it for decades to come. After 20 some-odd years, it's still sweet and juicy and side-splittingly funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still brilliant after all these years!, 5 Jan 2002
By 
A. J. Trickett "ajt" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Collector's Edition (CD Box Set) (Audio CD)
The original Radio series has been available on CD for some time, indeed it has been recently re-issued. However this edition has both radio series in one box and two extra bonus CDs, featuring an interview with the late Douglas Adams.
The new inlay and notes are very colourful, and add and improvment over the previous twin volume release.
The quality of the recordings is excellent, it sounds better (so far) than my previous CD copy - if that is possible?
For those who do not know, the radio series pre-dates the books, and as any decent copy of thebook will tell you the books are very loosly based upon the radio series, and as such diverge quite considerably from the plot therein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Must!!!!!!!!!!!!, 9 Sep 2004
This review is from: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Collector's Edition (CD Box Set) (Audio CD)
I first had the pleasure of experiencing this incredible radio drama in 1991, on cassette tapes that I borrowed from a friend. I have looked off and on over the past few years for the CDs' in the U.S., and on the internet with no success. I read in several different reviews and websites where to get them - but still came up empty handed. I guess I just wasn't looking in the right place. Finally during one of my random searches I found this set here. I was unsure if this was indeed the same radio drama. The great reviews that were posted answered that question, and I ordered it without hesitation.
In reference to the content being separated into tracks, and some pauses in the playback during track switching, I have only noticed this on a couple of occasions, and I think that it is due more to the player being used - not the media. I have played it on several different players, and only one of them produces that result.
On the other hand I quite enjoy the media separated into tracks, as I can access any part of the story at any time. Having the material on digital media, with exceptional quality, clarity, and usability far overshadows the few little inconveniences found with this package.
It goes without saying that any HHGTTG fan, sci-fi fan, drama fan, etc. will more than enjoy this treat. Overall I am extremely pleased, and I would encourage anyone who has not had the opportunity to experience anything created by Douglas Adams to get this set. If you do not enjoy it perform a random act of kindness and give it to the first available fan, they will Love you for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost, but not quite, entirely unlike the BBC raio series, 23 Jan 2003
This review is from: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Collector's Edition (CD Box Set) (Audio CD)
... This does contain the full measure of the radio series along with a 2-CD interview with Douglas Adams, so it a definite must for any serious HHGTTG fan, but for this edition they decided to break each episode into tracks of 1-3 minutes each so that each CD containing 2 episodes has a total of 17-24 tracks. There is an occasional skip when transitioning from tack to track, but they seemed to have spent a little thought on making them painless. And be sure that your player is *not* set on "Shuffle"! (This kind of feels like an anti-piracy measure that does detract some from the listening experience.....)
My advice: (unfortunately) buy this edition so the BBC knows there's still fans out there willing to support HHGTTG, but also look for a way to stitch the tracks together to get something more sutiable for transfer to a player for portability....
Overall I'm going to rate this 5 out of 5 for style, but minus several million for the retracking of the episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is wonderful to hear again., 21 Sep 2004
By 
Andreas Graham (Englishman in the USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Collector's Edition (CD Box Set) (Audio CD)
I listend to this on the radio with my Father, when it first came out. It was also one first books I ever read. It was a wonderful program to have. I had the tapes and now i have it in this format. I bought this just after hearing the first episode New 3rd season. It is just as wonderful. The BBC have done it again and I was transproted back 25 years. The new season will be out at the end of this year and there ia fourth already inthe can. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Answer, 12 April 2009
By 
D. G. Turner "42" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Collector's Edition (CD Box Set) (Audio CD)
To put this into perspective, this radio production is over 25 years old and yet, for those willing to disconnect the logic circuits in their btains and let their imaginations loose, it still has the ability to make you smile, laugh out loud and make you think 'is that really possible?'. The genius of Douglas Adams was to take a genuine scientific principal, twist it, and create an idea that sounds perfectlt feasible but is very obviously completely impossible and probably insane.
As an epitaph to a man's body of work, there can be few better ones. Entertaining, thought provoking and pure brilliance in a box.
If you are a fan, it is a must have and if you aren't, it's a great introduction to Adams' work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 10 Sep 2012
By 
Ms. E. R. Munsey (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Collector's Edition (CD Box Set) (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed listening to these, all of the voices are the cast from the original movie which gave this an extra spark. barnstaplebookshop is selling this at the best price on Amazon too - Worth every penny, and costs less than mine when I got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Collector's Edition (CD Box Set) (Audio CD)
This is a classic piece of original comedy, was lucky to get new at this price.
Would reccomend to any old or new fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Collector's Edition (CD Box Set)
Used & New from: £125.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews