Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good acting, and enjoyable
This audio often doesn't seem to get particularly good reviews, but I really can't say why. I am very critical of my Dr Who and I really enjoyed this (and The Paradise of Death). Its not perfect, but it is very enjoyable. Jon Pertwee and Elizabeth Sladen are both very good. The latter is a superb companion, whom I always enjoy for her enthusiasm and enjoyment which...
Published on 23 Aug 2000 by T. Gomes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun But Flawed Third Doctor Radio Adventure
CD Info.
3xCD of a 6 part adventure, Running time 180 minutes Approx.

Trivia.
1)This was recorded in 1994 & was eventually broadcast on BBC Radio on the 20th January-24th February 1996 the same year, Sadly Jon Pertwee passed away in May just a few day's before the tv movie was shown on tv making this his final performance as the Third Doctor...
Published 3 months ago by Timelord007


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good acting, and enjoyable, 23 Aug 2000
By 
T. Gomes (Moledo Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghosts of N-Space. Starring Jon Pertwee (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
This audio often doesn't seem to get particularly good reviews, but I really can't say why. I am very critical of my Dr Who and I really enjoyed this (and The Paradise of Death). Its not perfect, but it is very enjoyable. Jon Pertwee and Elizabeth Sladen are both very good. The latter is a superb companion, whom I always enjoy for her enthusiasm and enjoyment which somehow succeeds in not seeming out of place even when stories are unpleasent for her. The baddies may seem to parody those (mad meglomaniac) expected in Dr Who, but are very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite of mine, 11 Aug 2007
By 
A. Morgan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghosts of N-Space. Starring Jon Pertwee (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
I don't understand why this audio production has so many bad reviews. I guess you either love it or hate it.

Paradise of Death was abominable indeed, but Ghosts of N-Space is excellent (for audio, that is; it couldn't possibly work in any other medium). It's wonderfully atmospheric, contains more than its fair share of historical and cultural allusions, some great lines, and nice plot twists.

Sure, some aspects of the plot and characters are silly, but in the GOOD sense of the word "silly". Despite the depth of some decorative aspects of the production (such as the allusions), Ghosts of N-Space is at heart light entertainment, not meant to be taken too seriously. Just lie back and enjoy the ride.

I am one Doctor Who fan who believes that Ghosts of N-Space represents Doctor Who at its very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Adventure, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghosts of N-Space. Starring Jon Pertwee (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
I bought this originally on audio cassette and I was gutted when the machine chewed it up!!

The Doctor, Sarah Jane and the Brigadier are drawn to a small island. Sightings of ghosts and other ghastly apparitions have been increasing and the very fabric of time is under threat. Can the Doctor and his trusty companions save mankind and the universe?

I have waited quite a while for this adventure to be available and I'm very glad it's on cd!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun But Flawed Third Doctor Radio Adventure, 7 April 2014
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghosts of N-Space. Starring Jon Pertwee (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
CD Info.
3xCD of a 6 part adventure, Running time 180 minutes Approx.

Trivia.
1)This was recorded in 1994 & was eventually broadcast on BBC Radio on the 20th January-24th February 1996 the same year, Sadly Jon Pertwee passed away in May just a few day's before the tv movie was shown on tv making this his final performance as the Third Doctor.
2)Plans were made for a third radio adventure but were cancelled when Jon Pertwee passed away.
3)Sandra Dickinson appears in this radio play who was once married to Fifth Doctor Peter Davison & is the Mother of Georgia Moffat who starred in Doctor Who as Jenny in the episode The Doctor's Daughter & has also appeared in several Big Finish Doctor Who audiobooks as various characters who is also married to Tenth Doctor David Tennant.
4)Stephen Thorne (Max) appeared as Azriel, Omega & Eldrad in the classic tv series & has also featured in several Big Finish Doctor Who audiobooks.

Synopsis.
Brigader Lethbridge Stewart goes to visit his great uncle Mario in Sicily who discovers is being threatened by a Mobster named Vilmio & also finds ghostly apparitions in his Uncles castle.

The Brigader sends for the Third Doctor who arrives & investigates when he comes across a ancient force he has never seen before.

The apparitions circulate around Marios castle due to a fracture of the N space barrier, If the barrier fails Earth would be overrun with monsters from the N space universe.

The answer to this mystery lies in the 16th & 18th Century as Vilmio is actually a corrupt alchemist named Vilmius a black hearted evil sorcerer rumoured to have been buried alive for his evil deeds.

The Doctor & Sarah Jane Smith travel back in time to unlock the key to this mystery & must face the many dangers that await them from fiendish spectres to the fire demons of hell as failure would have apocalyptic consequences for the planet Earth.

Timelord Thoughts.
I actually prefered this story over the previous radio play The Paradise Of Death as the The Ghosts Of N Space seems to have a more Third Doctor type feel to the play & although deemed by many fan's as a poor adventure I kinda enjoyed it but that's not to say it's without it's flaws.

The late Jon Pertwee seems more settled in this story & delivers a better performance than in the previous play & gets a lot more involved in the events of the story.

The late Elisabeth Sladen is always good as Sarah Jane Smith & shares a great chemestry with Jon Pertwee & shares more time with the Doctor than in The Paradise Of Death.

The late Nicholas Courtney once bgain is superb as Brigader Lethbridge Stewart & takes the front line against the strange forces that are attempting to rip apart the N space barrier intent to wreck havoc upon the Earth.

The late Barry Letts who wrote both radio plays captures the third Doctor era's tone in this story & the plots narrative flows better throughout.

Sadly Jeremy Fitzoliver just seems a tagged on character & doesn't adapt well as a character in either of these two radio story's.

Yet again the plot stumbles at the midway point dragging the pace down but it does deliver a better conclusion to this adventure than the previous The Paradise Of Death.

This is an above average radio adventure that has a good beginning a flat middle & a satisfactory conclusion & while it's not a patch on the recent Big Finish Doctor Who audio adventures it's enjoyable enough to listen to for a few hours.
3.5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "Yes, Sarah Jane, I'll just sit down at this desk and type out this review with my fingers on this keyboard.", 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghosts of N-Space. Starring Jon Pertwee (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
This seems to be taken up with endless scenes of one character either describing in detail what another is doing like some sort of demented John Motson ("oh, Maximilian's knocked the Doctor to the ground! Now he's getting up...") or else talking to themselves about what they're doing. Worst, probably, is where they're obliged by the script to mutter under their breath their thoughts about the person next to them, while the other characters gamely plays deaf. The decision to have some characters switch accents as the story progresses is also a bit odd (especially as a couple of Americans revealed to be really Italian signify this change by... adopting English accents). I followed it though but I imagine it caused problems for many.

The rather empty positive to this, is that at least it's not marring an otherwise good story or plot. Straight from the off, we're basically on a six part, three hour, trek through the fundamentals of the Buddhist conception of the afterlife (or, rather, the Buddhist interim stage where souls are purged of their negative emotions and regrets, through suffering, before being reborn to the world to try again). Delivered more subtly, this might have worked, but it really is laid on incredibly thickly.

The supernatural has always been a troublesome story topic for DW anyway. It works well when allowed to effectively be a supernatural menace with some pseudoscientific rationale thrown out and then, effectively, ignored (as with the 'alien' werewolf in Tooth and Claw) and best of all when the Doctor basically hangs a lampshade on it (such as Girl in the Fireplace and his admission his scientific explanation is simply his avoiding having to call it a 'magic door'). But N-Space falls into the same irritating stance as The Daemons, where the Doctor routinely tuts and chides people for believing in Hell, or demons, then goes on to describe what is, in every possible way, the exact same thing.

There's some attempt at innovation, structurally, but it doesn't really come off. In a stroke on Proto Timey Wimeism, Sarah Jane finds a book that describes, pretty much exactly, the next three episodes' worth of adventures for the Doctor. Then the Doctor goes back in time and spends three episodes acting them out, just as described. This is... not terribly exciting or dramatic.

On the plus side, the older Pertwee continues on from Paradise of Death is being a kinder, gentler, more lovable figure and the greatest shame is that he didn't get more of a chance to bring this vision, so to speak, of his Doctor to more, and better, stories. Traditionally, I really strongly dislike the Third Doctor as a character so it means a lot when I say I'd have loved more from Pertwee after this. And, again, the version of the Brigadier appearing here is a no-nonsense, unflappable man of action; courageous, smart and adept at dealing with the most bizarre situations with a no nonsense attitude. He's great. It's a shame it's spoiled by him spending quite so much of his gun battles against gigantic interdimensional fiends and ghostly monks talking to himself to describe what he's shooting at. Oddly, Jeremy is one of the best things in the play. He still seems faintly pointless (you could excise him from the script entirely and it wouldn't change a thing) but he's had a natural evolution from a coward to an unhappy coward - one of those characters who is self-aware and hates their own limitations. It would have been interesting to see where Letts would have brought him next had this strand of plays continued. I suspect his character arc would have been as a kind of posh twit version of Mickey -- inspired to greater heroism by the Doctor and Sarah's examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three and a half stars..., 5 May 2014
By 
R. NEIL (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghosts of N-Space. Starring Jon Pertwee (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
I've just revisited this story for the first time since its original release. A touch of nostalgia at hearing Jon Pertwee in the role again after so long - I am familiar with most of his TV stories from watching VHS/DVDs a few times each so revisiting this story for the first time was fun. Doctor Who these days is mostly "a complete adventure in one sitting". I approached this one rather like it was originally intended - listening to it in episodic form with a few days between each one. The negatives of the production are captured by other reviewers but here are the positives...

Jon Pertwee was a natural radio actor and I think he excels and revels in this story. His dialogue is spot on as well - Barry Letts did not let him down with his lines. They are classic third Doctor. Many other writers provide generic lines which could be uttered by any of the incarnations but Letts gives us very specific Pertwee patter. Elisabeth Sladen and Nick Courtney slot back into their roles with ease too.

Aside from the creative issues which, as I say, are covered elsewhere in these reviews, I have a download version of the story and the sound is not that great. I'd be tempted to buy the CD if it was re-released at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Story, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghosts of N-Space. Starring Jon Pertwee (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
I agree with the previous positive reviews. It is well acted, a professional BBC production and an enjoyable listen. I have listened to this story several times and still enjoy it. One for any Doctor Who collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A far from great swansong for Jon Pertwee, 30 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghosts of N-Space. Starring Jon Pertwee (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
I'm afraid this story has very few redeeming factors. I certainly do admire Barry Letts television work. The Daemons is one of my favourite Doctor Who stories, however he doesn't quite cut it with the audio medium. The Paradise Of Death is marginally better than this but I wouldn't recommend that either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ghosts that should have rested in peace, 23 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghosts of N-Space. Starring Jon Pertwee (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
To celebrate Doctor Who's thirtieth anniversary, the BBC commissioned a radio serial entitled "Paradise of Death". In the hub-bub surrounding this, things seemed to go to the BBC's collective heads and they commissioned a follow-up, "The Ghosts of N-Space". It features the Third Doctor, Sarah Jane Smith and the Brigadier. Where "Paradise of Death" missed the mark, it did a far better job than this serial.
"The Ghosts of N-Space" suffers from an unduly complicated plot, where the Doctor and Sarah travel back through time to a couple of past times to try to discover where the threat to the present and prevent it from coming to pass. At the same time, the Brigadier and a diverse supporting cast (including the feckless Jeremy Fitzoliver) defend the Brigadier's Italian uncle from the attentions of a particularly vicious Mafia don. (I mean, the Brigadier's Italian uncle - what were they thinking of?)
Even using the term "N-Space" is problematic - this term was used during the shows seventeenth season to describe our normal space (N-Space) as opposed to this stories null space.
I can only imagine that people listening to this over six weeks on the radio would have been horribly confused. Being able to listen to the almost three hours in one sitting (if you wish!) and to check back on details will assist in bridging the excessive interlacing of story elements.
"The Ghosts of N-Space" is probably more for Doctor Who fans than casual listeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh my gawd, 16 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Ghosts of N-Space. Starring Jon Pertwee (BBC Radio Collection) (Audio CD)
Buy this to complete your collection... Not much else to recommend it alas. Pertwee puts in a good performance. The plot is fairly incomprehensible - and not very 3rd Doctor-ish. And the Brig's connection with the story is highly contrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Ghosts of N-Space. Starring Jon Pertwee (BBC Radio Collection)
Used & New from: 28.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews