Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unknown Classic
This stuff goes under the listing of "things most people don't know Tolkien wrote," along with things like "On Fairy Stories," "Bilbo's Last Song" and the charming bedtime story "Roverandum." It's a good collection of Tolkien's lesser-known material, including some cute short stories and poems.
In this slim volume is: "The Adventures of Tom Bombadil," a collection of...
Published on 24 Jan 2004 by N. M. D. Lancaster

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, not great
I'm a big fan of tolkien, but I wasn't sure about these stories. They were alright, but for short stories, they took a long time to get anywhere. I think this is more to do with personal taste than the quality of the writing, because I love lots of description in books and novels, but not in short stories, I prefer them to be a bit more blunt and to the point. Worth a...
Published on 4 April 2010 by Larewen Evenstar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Tolkien at His best, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I personally rate The hobbit and Tales of the Perilous Realm far higher than any of Tolkiens other work, even Lord of the rings.

-This book is Brilliant for Children and Adults akin, the first copy I had was simplistic and with no illustrations (which I would reccomend for any children as it is good for the imagination to invent your own version of tolkiens realm)

-This edition is stamped by the genius of Alan Lee (concept Artist of Lord of the Rings movies, I reccomend his artbook sketches from middle earth) and is brilliant for a collector, or as a gift for any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - simply charming., 4 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. D. Walker "grokuk" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gives a high quality airing to some of Tolkien's lesser known works. 'Leaf by Niggle' in particular is quite a surprise for those who only know The Hobbit & The Lord of the Rings - superbly performed by Alfred Molina in the lead role.
'Smith of Wootton Major' is another enchanting tale of the realm of faerie and the 'Adventures of Tom Bombadil' is essentially the chapters of the Lord of the Rings most usually dropped from dramatisations (The Old Forest & Barrow Downs). Well, the BBC Radio and both film versions have skipped over it anyway. The USA radio version did cover it, but that production is best forgotten.
Only 'Farmer Giles of Ham' is a little bit below par, with Brian Blessed giving his usual booming performance and a sligthly irritating dog.
But all-in-all this is an essential item for any Tolkien fan and any lover of good stories, well told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CLassic Tolkien, 19 Oct 2004
By A Customer
Three short stories and a collection of poems.
Farmer Giles of Ham: Very simular to the hobbit. It's about a farmer that becomes a hero and yes! It does have a dragon.
Leaf by Niggle: Is a must for all. A peice of litterary genius.
Smith of Wooton Major: A humourous story about a disguised fairy.
If you like Tolkiens work but find Lord Of The Rings very heavy, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 13 Sep 2014
By 
G. Greatorex "Razzo" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a huge Tolkien nerd and so had to buy this book. Recommend to any fans that do not have it yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent to be sure, 5 Aug 2008
By 
bairdie "commonly know online as marduk" (manchester, england, great britain) - See all my reviews
this book, a collection of poems and short stories i came across simply in the attempt to gather as much tolkein as i could to myself, has quickly and completely replaced the LOTR and the silmarilion in my esteem, and is certainly the equal of the hobbit. the first story is perhaps the most light hearted, and an excellent example of tolkeins indoubtable powers as an author; it is, however excellent in its own right, a story that pales in comparison to what follows. the adventures of tom bombadil, leaf by niggle and smith of wooton major are truly beautiful, haunting pieces; each time i have read them in the short time ive owned the book they have genuinly moved me, they are disquieting, honestly strange, haunting and so utterly amazing that they are simply beyond comparison. these stories have genuinly changed me, though i cannot quite understand how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. T. Drakett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great stories for those who've enjoyed Lord Of The Rings etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent versions of Tolkien's other tales, 14 Aug 2002
By 
Daniel Martin (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Just to correct the previous review - the original BBC version of Lord of the Rings was released in 1981, and this dramatisation of Tom Bombadil was released in 1993. The cast is COMPLETELY different (except Michael Hordern, who played Gandalf in Lord of the Rings, is the narrator in this production). It is excellent, however, with great music - and Ian Hogg is very good as Bombadil.
The other dramatisations are Farmer Giles of Ham, Smith of Wooton Major and Leaf by Niggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unsure of what's on this CD, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Paul Castle (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm not entirely sure what this listing is for, as the descriptions are either for a paperback book or an unspecified out of print edition (CD or book, I have no idea!)

I'm looking to replace my cassettes that feature The Adventures of Tom Bombadil, Farmer Giles of Ham, Leaf by Niggle, and Smith of Wootton Major. Is this the item I should purchase?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tolkein tales, 7 May 2012
By 
K. Carruthers (cumbria, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
while these tales are very good, they are not for me.these are not the tolkein i expected.they are more suited to the six to twelve year age group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent stories and beautifully illustrated, 9 Dec 2009
Excellent stories for children and good for adults too.

Not part of the LOTR world but well written and beautifully illustrated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales from the Perilous Realm (BBC Radio Collection)
Used & New from: £9.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews