Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully creepy!
From the team that brought you the Third Doctor story "Devil Goblins of Neptune" switch gears and bring you a Seventh Doctor novel that is so well written, that it's a shame that it's not a television episode. A somewhat sequel to "The Daemon" the Doctor and Ace land in a town of Evil where blood runs thick. So much to the fact that it's not uncommon...
Published on 23 Feb. 2000 by Bret M. Herholz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining 7th doctor novel
This is a really good novel with a very creepy setting that simply oozes a chilling atmosphere. The characterisations of The Doctor and Ace are very good. This novel is not quite as good as "Illegal Alien", but then that would be a very difficult novel to match. But it is still highly entertaining and every Who fan should read it.
Published on 5 Jun. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully creepy!, 23 Feb. 2000
By 
Bret M. Herholz (Worcester, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Hollow Men: The Hollow Men (Mass Market Paperback)
From the team that brought you the Third Doctor story "Devil Goblins of Neptune" switch gears and bring you a Seventh Doctor novel that is so well written, that it's a shame that it's not a television episode. A somewhat sequel to "The Daemon" the Doctor and Ace land in a town of Evil where blood runs thick. So much to the fact that it's not uncommon for cousins to sleep with cousins in this town. There is an evil that is taking away the town folk in the form of hideous scarecrows and the Doctor believes that whatever the forces that haunt this town are, it's not as simple as a case of ghosts and gobins but perhaps something alien in origin. Probably the best Seventh Doctor novel in the series thus far. A tale that will keep you on the edge of your seat reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Doctor Who novel I have ever read, 27 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Hollow Men: The Hollow Men (Mass Market Paperback)
A stunning novel from these two excellent writers (and nothing like their previous 3rd Doctor Novel which was amusing and well characterised but lacking in plot; The Hollow Men, on the other hand, is a John Wyundham-style story of a village with a terrible secret. A classic evocation of the traditional Doctor who story of spooky going-on in an English country setting. The depiction of McCoy and Aldred are terrifically accurate and the villagers are so well drawn one can almost picture this novel as a TV adventure. Simply beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Scarecrows are coming...but they do more than that!, 13 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Hollow Men: The Hollow Men (Mass Market Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and i'm sure once you have picked it up you will find it hard to put down. The Doctor and Ace travel to the small picturesque village of Hexen Bridge, a place that has been cursed for centuries. After making some investigations they discover that Jack the Green is behind it all, an alien force that is using human being's psychic energy to conquer Earth and other worlds. The Hollow Men are simply his foot soldiers. The story is well written and scary, and the characters in it are delightfully deep and well decribed. The other strong point to this book is that there is constant suspense and the story is not predictable at all. One to purchase for Who fans and Horror fans aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A superbly written book for every fan of the 7th doctor!, 12 Feb. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Hollow Men: The Hollow Men (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was written by an author who obviously knows what he's talking about. Sylvester McCoy's 7th doctor (aka the professor) and Sophie Aldred's character of Ace are beautifully realised in this mesmarising novel. It is recognsible Doctor Who at its greatest; you can almost hear the theme tune!
It is frightening, dramatic, poignant and touching, beautifully crafted. A wonderful and intelligent tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Creepy Page Turner, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first Doctor Who novel I read and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised! The creepy story was well written and got under my skin; it became a real page turner. Some of the themes and events in the book were a lot more adult than I was expecting but it always felt like Doctor Who, I could easily believe this took place in the classic series' darker, final season.
The authors perfectly captured the characters of the Seventh Doctor and his companion Ace and all of the other characters felt fully fleshed out and believable.
Also with this novel being from two of the three authors of the famous Discontinuity Guide expect lots of nods to other stories, as well as a few moments that the new series seems to have "borrowed" from this adventure.
A very promising start to my exploration of Doctor Who novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent Seventh Doctor book very consistent with its latter era, 10 Jun. 2014
By 
Tony "mezzaninedoor" (GREAT YARMOUTH, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just re-read this book on my kindle, thoroughly enjoyed it. Lots of plot and a clear through line for all the characters. Hope more and more books are re issued for kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining 7th doctor novel, 5 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Hollow Men: The Hollow Men (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a really good novel with a very creepy setting that simply oozes a chilling atmosphere. The characterisations of The Doctor and Ace are very good. This novel is not quite as good as "Illegal Alien", but then that would be a very difficult novel to match. But it is still highly entertaining and every Who fan should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terribly Creepy, 1 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Hollow Men: The Hollow Men (Mass Market Paperback)
You have got to remember that this book was published for adults and therefor there are more ADULT references inside i.e drugs. This book has a very high death count as well, so be warned, if you are squeamish I would not recomemed this book for you.

The Plot

The Seventh Doctor and Ace go to a west country village, where there is a high population of inbreeding (Everyone is related to each other in bazar ways). Plus there is a school where all the pupils are wierd, an force that landed in Hexcon Bridge in the 17th Century and still lives there.

The Narative

This book is highly describtable and very good enjoyment, the discription very specific. It takles Racism and a evil drug barron gets his compupence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this one - thrilling, 24 July 2004
By 
R. A. Robinson "rarobinson" (tilburg, the netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Hollow Men: The Hollow Men (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of my top-favourite DR WHO novels, great scifi, thrilling to the end, nice 3-D characters. and its got ACE!!!!
this was really a "read as fast as i could to find out how it ends' book for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was good, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Hollow Men: The Hollow Men (Mass Market Paperback)
I did enjoy this book, it's just that some of it went in one ear and the other. That said It made me want to read Illegal Alien. This book is still very good. Ace's character is expertly written and the Doctor seems more mysterious than when he was on the telly! This book even mentions loads of old companions! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Hollow Men: The Hollow Men
Doctor Who: The Hollow Men: The Hollow Men by Keith Topping (Mass Market Paperback - 6 April 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews