Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good adventure, and the return of some missed characters!
As always, John Peel manages to write a cracking Dalek book - admittedly, it's very thin in plot depth, but then most Dalek stories are - they're all about some megalmaniac cyborgs who want to take over the universe and exterminate everything they come across - and the twist of having my favourite character of all time (who I won't name but if you've read the Amazon...
Published on 12 Aug 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather dull - not a great Doctor Who story
I approached this book with great anticipation of an exciting tale involving the Eighth Doctor and, obviously, the Daleks. The book blurb promises that the Doctor's granddaughter Susan is involved in there too somewhere.

So, dive into the story - starts slowly with the story of a young girl chasing a cat being chased by a slyther; she's saved by a knight (?);...
Published on 27 Mar 2012 by Keen Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good adventure, and the return of some missed characters!, 12 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Legacy of the Daleks (Mass Market Paperback)
As always, John Peel manages to write a cracking Dalek book - admittedly, it's very thin in plot depth, but then most Dalek stories are - they're all about some megalmaniac cyborgs who want to take over the universe and exterminate everything they come across - and the twist of having my favourite character of all time (who I won't name but if you've read the Amazon review, you'll know) just gives it a little something more of interest. The return of Susan clinched it for me; all this time I've been waiting for him to revisit her, and although as you'll see it's not that simple, I really enjoyed the return of the character and the changes she has undergone. Lastly, much as I love Sam to bits, it was nice to get rid of her and give the Doctor time to breathe for an installment after all that fiasco last time! Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather dull - not a great Doctor Who story, 27 Mar 2012
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Legacy of the Daleks (Mass Market Paperback)
I approached this book with great anticipation of an exciting tale involving the Eighth Doctor and, obviously, the Daleks. The book blurb promises that the Doctor's granddaughter Susan is involved in there too somewhere.

So, dive into the story - starts slowly with the story of a young girl chasing a cat being chased by a slyther; she's saved by a knight (?); the Doctor lands on Earth and meets said knight. And that's where it all started to go downhill for me. The Doctor's characterisation is terrible - he is mean and nasty, small-minded and bitter - doesn't sound like the Eighth Doctor at all!

The (apparent) surprise of one of the other characters involved in the Earth factions is no surprise at all. The Earth faction characters are shallow, cliched bullies. David and Susan sound horrible. The story flounders and seems to be a mishmash of several stories prodded into some sort of shape and published.

Really, by the time I got halfway through I found I just didn't really care what happened to any of them any more. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - but a disappointment, 11 Jan 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who: Legacy of the Daleks (Mass Market Paperback)
ok. This isnt a bad book, but it is disappointing compared to John Peel's vastly superior War of the Daleks. The Daleks simply arent in it enough and by the end you cant help but feel that this could have been so much better.But on the plus side The Master is well written and we finally learn what happened to him on Tersurus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN ENJOYABLE READ, 20 Feb 2001
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: Legacy of the Daleks (Mass Market Paperback)
When I first purchased this book I didn't know what to expect, but I read the first chapter and I couldn't put it down. The whole story was well put together, Susan and David experiencing marital problems because of Susan not ageing, the Doctor having a tempory companion to replace Sam, in the guise of Donna and of course the realisation that that Estro is in fact the Master. You could really feel the presence of the Master as portrayed by Roger Delgado. The story answers some questions that were asked about the Master in the fourth Doctor story "The Deadly Assassin" how did he end up on Tersurus? Why was his body so mutilated? You'll have to read it to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average story with some intriguing ideas, 4 Jun 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: Legacy of the Daleks (Mass Market Paperback)
*SPOILERS BELOW*

It is virtually impossible to say much about this book without giving something away. This is because it is one of those Doctor Who novels that engage in an effort to link several of the television stories together. Thus this novel simultaneously acts as a sequel to both `The Dalek Invasion of Earth' and `Frontier in Space' and as a prequel to `The Deadly Assassin'. This means that it has a tendency to be a little continuity obsessed at the expense of the story. Some of the links are also a little tenuous.

The Daleks are their basic selves and there is little offered that is new or interesting about them. They spend their time acquiring the resources to spawn more of their race. This time it is an underground `hatchery', but it basically serves the same purpose as a `genesis ark' or a `progenitor'.

Despite the book being named after the Daleks, this is more of a Master story. It must be pretty obvious to any reader that Estro is the Master. It is the same ruse the Master always uses so no knowledge of Esperanto is needed. The events concerning the Master that precede `The Deadly Assassin' are an interesting conception but they feel a little too contrived and convenient.

There are several characters that exhibit potential but many are unfortunately killed off before they can really develop and make and impression on the reader. The Doctor is a portrayed in a somewhat lacklustre manner and occasionally comes over a little irritating. The older and more mature Susan is quite believable, however, and revisiting her is an intriguing concept. Unfortunately the issues that are touched upon involving Susan and David's marriage are pushed into the background with events making it conveniently unaddressed. It is also a shame to re-introduce Susan but not really let her have a re-union with the Doctor. However, the role of companion is ably covered by Donna.

There is enough to make the reader think in this story; especially if they are familiar with the referenced TV stories. But the plot is a little basic and not particularly gripping, being more concerned with its continuity links.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legacy of the Daleks, 4 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: Legacy of the Daleks (Mass Market Paperback)
War of the Daleks was like Marmite when it was released. You either loved it or hated it and I loved it. Now John Peel is back with another Dalek story, Legacy of the Daleks, in a book which is again is likely to divide fans.

The Doctor goes back to Earth 30 odd years after the events of The Dalek Invasion of Earth in search of Sam. There he finds the human race under populated in a Britain which is divided into Domains and littered with Dalek artifacts and sites. Two of those Domains are clamouring to be top dog, and one side has been gifted the use of Dalek weaponry from the mysterious Estro and instructed to power an old Dalek artefact. The story is very good, and it doesn't try too hard making Legacy of the Daleks a very lightweight and easy to read novel.

Characterizations are OK, with the Doctor reading more like an 8/3/4 hybrid and the 2 returning characters written for very well. The Daleks are a little underused, which if you want a Dalek novel might be a let down but it didn't really bother me that much.

Whilst not as accomplished as War of the Daleks was, Legacy of the Daleks is still an entertaining story from a very good author. Suitable for fans of the TV series and also the casual fan, it is a lightweight adventure which doesn't take a lot of concentration to read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trouble in the Mine, 24 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Legacy of the Daleks (Mass Market Paperback)
The Doctor returns to London, about thirty years after the Dalek invasion. London has recovered from the attack however some dalek sites still remain and are thought to be highly dangerous. Susan Foreman, the doctor's first assistant, has become a peace officer and her job is to investigate these sites if there is any cause for concern. The Doctor has returned to Earth to find Susan, to discover that a dalek army hidden deep in the old mine is once again taking control of Earth, with help from his long term foe the Master. An enjoyable read however I was more impressed with John Peel's other BBC book, War of the Daleks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Whatever Happened to Susan Foreman?, 15 April 2011
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Legacy of the Daleks (Mass Market Paperback)
One of the great untold stories of Doctor Who is what happened to his granddaughter, left to marry a human in the aftermath of the Dalek invasion of the Earth. After decades of wondering the story is finally told by John Peel. The Doctor returns to Earth searching for his missing companion: David Campbell is now in his 50s trying to come to terms with a wife who still looks 18, Britain is at war as Domain fights Domain, and an almost forgotten Dalek installation is covertly being fed power. This is a much better effort than Peel's previous Dalek book, the characterizations are much stronger and probably benefits from the absence of the usually one dimensional Sam. It still has a superficial feel to it as I never really got to find out what post Dalek Earth was really like beyond the military factions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Death to the Daleks: Disappointing, 1 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: Legacy of the Daleks (Mass Market Paperback)
Well I've got to admit I bought this after reading the fantastic War of the Daleks, which was simply amazing and was expecting another classic Dalek/Doctor Who story. I have to admit though it didn't live up to my expectations as I would liked as unlike the previous dalek story this takes some getting into. After a while though the book does start to get going with the revival of the daleks left behind from there invasion with a nice reappearance of the master which is what i felt saves this book. The book introduces some nice new elements to clarify what happened to the master in between the frontier in space and the deadly assassin, the out come of which i found most satisfying.

However this doesnt seem to work for me as the Daleks arn't as exciting as in their previous installment when showed the pure brilliance of the daleks as well as a very epic ending.

I reccomend this to those who are already aquainted with the series who wish to see the whole story, otherwise i reccomend you buy war of the daleks instead which is the best of the series in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have., 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Legacy of the Daleks (Mass Market Paperback)
If you like the Daleks, and something that keeps up to continuity (Talking to you 'Stolen Earth/Journeys End). Legacy of the Daleks is for you.

It's a must have for any Classic Doctor Who fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa902d2f4)

This product

Doctor Who: Legacy of the Daleks
Doctor Who: Legacy of the Daleks by John Peel (Mass Market Paperback - 6 April 1998)
Used & New from: 3.67
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews