Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and Atmospheric
This is, to my mind, the very best of the Past Doctor series. The non-linear and first person narratives work brilliantly in what is, essentially, a multi-layered gothic novel. The characterisation of the Fourth Doctor is excellent, and the Leela is also well realised. The supporting cast seem to jump off the page, and there is a neat, meaningful resolution at the end...
Published on 6 Jun 2001 by P. Rees

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Idea, but not done right
A very good idea, which had the potential to be one of the better Doctor who novels. However, the way that this story has been written is terrible. The whole thing is based on various diary entries from various characters, this means that you have no idea which character is talking until the end of their diary entry. A dissapointing read.
Published on 19 Feb 2009 by Mrs. Ann Miller


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Idea, but not done right, 19 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Eye of Heaven (Paperback)
A very good idea, which had the potential to be one of the better Doctor who novels. However, the way that this story has been written is terrible. The whole thing is based on various diary entries from various characters, this means that you have no idea which character is talking until the end of their diary entry. A dissapointing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eye of Heaven, 5 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Eye of Heaven (Paperback)
Eye of Heaven is the first 4th Doctor novel in the Past Doctor range and as such I felt it should live up to the glory days of the TV series. Sadly it falls short.

Mortimore has a fairly decent premise going on, but his writing style really lets him down, making what could be an entertaining romp an absolute chore to make sense of. Eye of Heaven is written in a series of diary style entries which are not in chronological order. So one minute everyone is on a boat sailing to Easter Island, the next they are yet to charter the boat, then they are back on the boat again in the next one. It is almost as if Mortimore dropped the chapters then picked them up in the wrong order. It is confusing, adds nothing to the story, and would have been better written as a linear tale. There is nothing worse than a chapter ending with someone in peril, only to wait another 3-4 chapters to find out the conclusion.

The Doctor in question is the fan favourite 4th. Jim Mortimore thankfully gets his characterization right, but he doesn't see much action at all, which is a slight let down. The bits he is in are well done, there just isn't a lot of him. Leela on the other hand is a totally different story. The majority of the book is written from her perspective which from the outset seems like a good idea but she was never my favorite character, and her constant savageness grated on me. Mortimore also seemed keen to show her lack of knowledge, yet also has her knowing things she couldn't possibly comprehend. For example when she meets Stockwood, Leela struggle to understand basic things such as a "glass" and a "newspaper". However 9 days later she is able to list a pretty wide array of nautical terms, including some I didn't even know. It's easier to have her know it of course, but to me it's very lazy writing and a bit of a let down given how much Mortimore seems to like mentioning her lack of Earthly knowledge.

In short Eye of Heaven is a mediocre Doctor Who novel which struggles to pique this fans interest. Whilst the story is entertaining and has the potential to be a truly great novel, it is badly structured and often lazily written which detracts from the enjoyment the story does offer. Had the novel been written in a linear fashion then I might be able to forgive the bad characterization and gaping plotholes but I really struggled to read this novel, which is never good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and Atmospheric, 6 Jun 2001
By 
P. Rees "Paul Rees" (Whitstable, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Eye of Heaven (Paperback)
This is, to my mind, the very best of the Past Doctor series. The non-linear and first person narratives work brilliantly in what is, essentially, a multi-layered gothic novel. The characterisation of the Fourth Doctor is excellent, and the Leela is also well realised. The supporting cast seem to jump off the page, and there is a neat, meaningful resolution at the end. Buy it now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly Written and Inconsistent, 14 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Eye of Heaven (Paperback)
The only thing going for this book is that it is better than Jim Mortimore's previous efforts. After a promising start the book leaps all over the place and ends up going nowhere. The abrupt and puerile ending is unsatisfying. As to characterisation I think Mortimore needs a few lessons. For a start, Leela seems to know a lot of nautical terms and many other things besides yet we are led to believe that these are all new experiences. Worst of all, when we first meet Leela in the book she ponders over the fact that no-one in her tribe was over thirty. I seem to recall a few elderly people in her tribe in the TV series. The book has its moments, eg the prologue and the occassional sentence. Buy something else, preferably by a writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is a best one for Leela fans, 7 Oct 2000
By 
hakki808 (Aurora, Colorado USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Eye of Heaven (Paperback)
At first, I was bit uncomfortable about characterization of strongly savage nature of Leela at the first half book. However, I realized that this book is uniquely based on Leela's story telling. The reader may have to adjust the attitude of very unique and innovative structure of all chapters. As the reader keeps reading carefully each of them, each of them will reveal very vivid charcterizations as well as motives of all main characters from her point of view.
And I admire the long-term DW writer, Mortimre took a chance to write a very dramatic as well as innovative story tellings from Leela's point view. As I was reading the second half of the book, I found myself amazed about the best characterization of Leela and her relationship with other characters beside Doctor himself.
I will recommend all Leela fans to read this book. Moritmre successfully researched her personal history, that is the highlighted key for resolving the mystery happening in Easter Island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heavenly, 31 July 2006
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Eye of Heaven (Paperback)
Jim Mortimore has written bad books. Such as beltempest.

He has also written great books. Such as this one.

You wouldn't think that a book with multiple first person viewpoint characters and shifting timescales would be easy going. But it is. An absorbing read that gives us a fresh look at the tardis crew, and provides a great story with it.

Why can't you write like this all the time, Jim?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, dull, dull...find something else!, 17 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: "Doctor Who": Eye of Heaven (Paperback)
A brave and ambitious attempt to try something completely different, which sadly fails miserably in every way. Leela's first person narrative is unusual, but never sounds remotely like her; she is far too civilised and knowledgeable after only a couple of adventures with the Doctor. As for the plot itself, well the first half is just about comprehensible, and the rest is incredibly convoluted and virtually impossible to sort out in the mind. And the ending... well what ending? What was the point of any of it? Like so many others, dull and incomprehensible. Painful garbage, and a strong contender for worst Doctor Who book of recent years (in my opinion)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Doctor Who": Eye of Heaven
"Doctor Who": Eye of Heaven by Jim Mortimore (Paperback - 2 Feb 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews