Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous !
I thoroughly enjoyed this, and am sorry that the novel seems to have attracted so much negative attention. In my opinion, the book is an excellent introduction to the Paul McGann incarnation of our favorite Time Lord, following the events of the 1996 TV Movie. Admittedly nostalgic, I thoroughly enjoyed the revisiting past Doctors, and agree with another reviewer that...
Published on 28 April 2000 by R. Chagouri-Brindle

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lives up to it's name
This book starts the whole ongoing saga of the eighth doctor post the tv movie off. And in trying to start the range and introduce the past history of the show to new readers, we have a rather contrived story that nonetheless succeeds in doing what it set out to do, and lets the eighth doctor meet his predecessors in the process. Some of the encounters are more...
Published on 9 Aug 2006 by Paul Tapner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous !, 28 April 2000
By 
R. Chagouri-Brindle "RickCB" (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eight Doctors (Mass Market Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this, and am sorry that the novel seems to have attracted so much negative attention. In my opinion, the book is an excellent introduction to the Paul McGann incarnation of our favorite Time Lord, following the events of the 1996 TV Movie. Admittedly nostalgic, I thoroughly enjoyed the revisiting past Doctors, and agree with another reviewer that the rapport between the Sixth and Eighth Doctors deserves to be revisited, perhaps in a novel of their own ? All in all, well done Mr Dicks !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More nostalgia please, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eight Doctors (Mass Market Paperback)
This is Terrance Dicks' way of trying to make the Doctor Who movie make sense. And fill in the plot holes (Thanks Terrance), and it has a lot of Nostalgia, featuring all of the classic Doctors and some interesting enemies. It also introduces Sam, who is a student at Coal Hill School (Along with Susan)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story is good, but either the writer didn't use a proof reader or whoever adapted it to Kindle didn't try. Spelling and grammar mistakes are rife plus sentence structure is terrible at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Familiar and heartwarming reminders of the classic Doctor Who, 4 Nov 2011
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eight Doctors (Mass Market Paperback)
Well, with Terrance Dicks you always get what it says on the tin, there's no doubt about that.

This story, published in 1997, picks up directly after the Eighth Doctor movie with Paul McGann. The Eighth Doctor now finds himself the target of a plot of the Master, and must visit each of his former selves to regain his memories. That's no spoiler, as it's obvious from the start that that is what's going to happen.

This is like a trip down memory lane for those of us who have watched Doctor Who over so many years that the stories all feel so familiar, as do the various Doctors. That's no bad thing, particularly in a light, entertaining novel like this, and it's an enjoyable read as you progress through the various incarnations and revisit familiar scenes with the added twist now of having the Eighth Doctor pop in and out of them.

The only bit I take slight exception to is the Fourth Doctor episode. In this, the Eighth Doctor meets up with the Fourth Doctor when the Fourth Doctor and Romana are in E-Space. I found that a bit odd, given that I have recollections of E-Space being particularly difficult to get in and out of, yet the Tardis just trundles in there with the Eighth Doctor and trundles out again. Ah well, perhaps the Tardis had it all figured out? Just seemed to me that there were plenty of other Fourth Doctor stories that could have been more readily suited to this type of `fleeting visit' story. A slight niggle, only.

This is not great literature; it's not meant to be. What it is, is a story incorporating memories and familiar tales of the Doctor and various companions, introducing the Eighth Doctor, and all done by an author who has made a career out of novelising Doctor Who stories. A light, entertaining, very enjoyable read and one that can be dipped in and out of a bit at a time, while you absorb the story, and the overarching Gallifrey and TimeLord story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn-fest, 19 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eight Doctors (Mass Market Paperback)
Quite a self-indulgent story from the pen of Doctor Who legend Terrance Dicks; the seal of Rassillon on the front cover tells it all really. Increasingly self-referential and coming after the disappointing TV Movie, the novel details the Eighth Doctor's eventual return to his home planet of Gallifrey after falling foul of a booby-trap set by nemesis The Master.
Pedestrian in the extreme (is that a contradiction in terms?) this is one to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear., 28 July 2009
By 
Becca (Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eight Doctors (Mass Market Paperback)
In an effort to introduce the 'new' fans to the 'old' Doctors, Terrence Dicks has created a mess. Moments after the closing of the TV Movie (or, "The Enemy Within"), the Eighth Doctor once again gets amnesia and most go to meet his past selves in order to reclaim his memories. Bad characterisation follows bad characterisation, Eight gets himself turned into a Mary-Sue who is forced to help all of his past selves, who have seemingly all become a bit rubbish for some unidentifiable reason (the scene where he is trying to explain something to an increasingly dense Sixth incarnation is utterly appalling), and a new companion is introduced in one of the most rushed scenes ever to grace a book. It's truly awful. New fans, if you want to have an introduction to the old Doctors, watch their serials! Far more canon than this tripe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lives up to it's name, 9 Aug 2006
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eight Doctors (Mass Market Paperback)
This book starts the whole ongoing saga of the eighth doctor post the tv movie off. And in trying to start the range and introduce the past history of the show to new readers, we have a rather contrived story that nonetheless succeeds in doing what it set out to do, and lets the eighth doctor meet his predecessors in the process. Some of the encounters are more interesting than others, particularly with the third who does something unexpected but in character.

Terrance dicks writes his in usual style, which is a long way from being great literature but is nonetheless clear and readable. The book also gives the doctor a companion, who is a rather generic modern teenager at this stage, but there's potential there.

Not great literature, but a decent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eight Doctors (Mass Market Paperback)
I only bought this book about a week and a half ago and I'm now half way through the second reading of it. I love it! This would have to be one of THE BEST Doctor Who novels I have ever read and I am glad I was able to buy it. Revisiting the Docor's prevoius selves was fantastic. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 2 Mar 2000
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eight Doctors (Mass Market Paperback)
Why do people hate this book so much? It is the best Who book that I've ever read!Paul McGann is my favourite Doctor and the team up was amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Links to the 1996 TV movie well., 6 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Eight Doctors (Mass Market Paperback)
Terrance Dicks was probably the best person to start off the new range of BBC books. The Eight Doctors starts off quite weakly with the 8th Doctor's meeting with his first 2 selves. With Doctors 3 to 6 things hot up a bit but it's only where the subplot of the Trial of a Timelord links in that the story gets interesting. Dick's explanation of the Master's transformation in the TV Movie is a nice touch too. Pretty good, but it goes over old ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Eight Doctors
Doctor Who: The Eight Doctors by Terrance Dicks (Mass Market Paperback - 2 Jun 1997)
Used & New from: 4.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews