Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The nations favourite Comic Poems
This selection of Humorous Verse is excellent. Thoroughly enjoyable and is really funny. Some old and some new some heard before and some by well known poets. Pam Ayres and Joyce Grenfell brought back memories . Keep by and read to bring out a special smile on your face. Margie of Cheshire
Published on 23 May 2011 by Margie

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dismal failure.
Too much 'musical' padding. Long drawn out and utterly boring intro by Griff Rhys Jones. Poor selection of verse read by a group of incompetent amateurs. Definitely not up to the standard I would expect from the BBC. A resounding 'thumbs down' for this one!
Published 11 months ago by gordon fowler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dismal failure., 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Too much 'musical' padding. Long drawn out and utterly boring intro by Griff Rhys Jones. Poor selection of verse read by a group of incompetent amateurs. Definitely not up to the standard I would expect from the BBC. A resounding 'thumbs down' for this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patchy with some giggles, 25 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Nation's Favourite: Comic Poems: A Selection of Humorous Verse (Paperback)
While there are occasional glimmers, the book was rather a disappointment. Old favourites like the 'November Pig' are there but many of the poems beg the question of why they are included at all, especially some of the song lyrics. A reasonable selection of off-beam verse, certainly, but not the gem I had hoped for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The nations favourite Comic Poems, 23 May 2011
This review is from: Nation's Favourite: Comic Poems: A Selection of Humorous Verse (Paperback)
This selection of Humorous Verse is excellent. Thoroughly enjoyable and is really funny. Some old and some new some heard before and some by well known poets. Pam Ayres and Joyce Grenfell brought back memories . Keep by and read to bring out a special smile on your face. Margie of Cheshire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tee Hee Hee, 22 May 2003
This review is from: Nation's Favourite: Comic Poems: A Selection of Humorous Verse (Paperback)
I sat in my local bookstore for a good half hour the other day just giggling at this book and recieving odd looks from other shoppers. This is great. OK, some of the entries are a little obscure, but I challenge anyone to read Roald Dahl's little red riding hood without smiling. Especially when it gets to "the small girl smiled, one eyelid flickered..." Pure Genius. This book is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a fun poetry introduction for my 10 year old, 28 July 2010
This review is from: Nation's Favourite: Comic Poems: A Selection of Humorous Verse (Paperback)
Some very amusing poems which my 10 year old enjoyed. Many are very "old english" and a bit complicated in theme for a child but there are enough to keep them interested and amused. The boys thoroughly enjoyed the more suggestive ruder poems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gift, 1 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nation's Favourite: Comic Poems: A Selection of Humorous Verse (Paperback)
my grandson is really pleased with this gift as he has an interest in poetry and has a great sense of humour so this compilation ticks all the boxes for him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comic Poems, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the book! The poems were very funny and I could not wait to recite them to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Termundrydge, 18 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nation's Favourite: Comic Poems: A Selection of Humorous Verse (Paperback)
lots of peoms that can be read aloud at gatherings. Good for a fun evening. A feel good book of fun and giggles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent value, 4 Jun 2010
By 
Mrs. M. L. Clark "margie clark" (northampton,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nation's Favourite: Comic Poems: A Selection of Humorous Verse (Paperback)
I bought this so that i could read some poems to my 95 year old Mum,and she loved them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A National Fun Gem!, 28 Nov 2009
By 
G. A. Loftin "Hiking Tony" (Sacramento, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nation's Favourite: Comic Poems: A Selection of Humorous Verse (Paperback)
This will leave you feeling good. I laughed out loud reading most of these wonderful comedic gems. If you have trouble getting going in the morning, keep a copy of this book near the loo to read during your 'morning constitutional' and you'll be feeling 'up beat' for the rest of the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nation's Favourite: Comic Poems: A Selection of Humorous Verse
Nation's Favourite: Comic Poems: A Selection of Humorous Verse by Griff Rhys Jones (Paperback - 24 Sep 1998)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews