Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bouquet Residence...
This is a brilliantly warm,well-written, funny book which all fans of the comedy series will appreciate. It builds on the characters of the TV show and even reveals more about them, even hinting at a touching reason for Hyacinth's snobbery at the end of the book.

It's an easy read and you really will not want to put it down for too long. Brilliant!
Published on 28 May 2006 by Superfred

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice present
I bought this book an whim as a present. As such it is nice enough. Otherwise it is a shameless attempt to make a buck off the television series.
The book is well published; hardcover with nice pictures and the one I got happened to have an autograph by mrs Routledge. The content is a bit cringe inducing though. But then again: so was the old series back in the...
Published 20 months ago by Kaye


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bouquet Residence..., 28 May 2006
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances: Hyacinth Bucket's Book of Etiquette for the Socially Less Fortunate (Hardcover)
This is a brilliantly warm,well-written, funny book which all fans of the comedy series will appreciate. It builds on the characters of the TV show and even reveals more about them, even hinting at a touching reason for Hyacinth's snobbery at the end of the book.

It's an easy read and you really will not want to put it down for too long. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lady of the House speaking, 27 May 2005
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances: Hyacinth Bucket's Book of Etiquette for the Socially Less Fortunate (Hardcover)
I have to admit that the BBC sitcom is one of my favorites. When I got "Keeping Up Appearances" Hyacinth Bucket's Book of Etiquette as birthday gift I was pleased and sceptical at the same time as seeing Hyacinth, Rose, Violet and Daisy and all the rest in flesh on the telly is quite different from a book. Well, I should not have worried because when reading this most amsuing book I could nearly here them all speaking. It is great to read all these famous lines which one has heart before and one can actually keep thme in mind and use them if one is in one's Hyacinth's mood.....like I love my sister Daisy dearly, but I am just not very fond of her cracked mugs...
So for all the Bouquet fans this is a must... enjoy it on your settee(hoping that is is an excat replica of the one in Sandringham house) with a nice cup of coffee and milk (which hopefully will come from the cows on the Eral of Crawford's estate).... already forgotten these line.... well look them up in this book !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 Jun 2012
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances: Hyacinth Bucket's Book of Etiquette for the Socially Less Fortunate (Hardcover)
Product was in exact condition described and arrived exactly when it was meant to so I'm happy :). As for the product itself, great read, would recommend it to any keeping up appearance fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good !!!, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Durande Ayme Annie "ada the bookworm" (antony, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best companion for the serials. A must ! I advise fans to read it with the following 'Hectic social calendar.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice present, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Kaye (Somewhere over the rainbow) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances: Hyacinth Bucket's Book of Etiquette for the Socially Less Fortunate (Hardcover)
I bought this book an whim as a present. As such it is nice enough. Otherwise it is a shameless attempt to make a buck off the television series.
The book is well published; hardcover with nice pictures and the one I got happened to have an autograph by mrs Routledge. The content is a bit cringe inducing though. But then again: so was the old series back in the nineties!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs. Bucket never fails to amuse, 11 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances: Hyacinth Bucket's Book of Etiquette for the Socially Less Fortunate (Hardcover)
The classic BBC1 series "Keeping Up Appearances" is relived in this hilarious text and guide for the socially unfortunate. The authenticityof Patricia Routledge's portrayal of the indomitable Mrs.Bucket ("It's pronounced Bouquet! ") is notably preserved. It is a must have for anyfan of the series and/or Miss.Routledge. Buy this book or 'Youmust know I am very powerful in localauthority circles.' Good reading and best wishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping up ... smile, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances: Hyacinth Bucket's Book of Etiquette for the Socially Less Fortunate (Hardcover)
I love that book. That explain everything what happened in the series :D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for boss's retirement, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant Book, brought for my boss's retirement. She likes to think she is up worldly mobile. Went down a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected!, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a good book, and made for an excellent joke present for my dad (whom myself and my mum always made fun of for being 'common') however I was expecting the book to be lighthearted and jokey, but it was more non-fiction, with factual information about etiquette. Great for a joke though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Keeping Up Appearances: Hyacinth Bucket's Book of Etiquette for the Socially Less Fortunate
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews