Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a good exercise book for the best language course
If you bought the main course book and cassettes this item is a must for a successful learner. It gives a diverse range of exercises that engage you to improve your skills, mostly grammar and vocabularly. It also give some additionali pieces of information to complete you Italian knowledge.
However, I cannot find a similar book for intermediate level.
Published on 29 Oct. 2003 by Yuryr

versus
29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning
Don't confuse with the 'core' text of the BBC course, also called 'Italianissimo 1 (beginners)' , author De Rome.
Published on 14 Oct. 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a good exercise book for the best language course, 29 Oct. 2003
If you bought the main course book and cassettes this item is a must for a successful learner. It gives a diverse range of exercises that engage you to improve your skills, mostly grammar and vocabularly. It also give some additionali pieces of information to complete you Italian knowledge.
However, I cannot find a similar book for intermediate level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benissimo Italianissimo Beginners, 1 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Italianissimo: Beginners No.1 (Paperback)
This is an attractively produced coursebook which makes language learning a real pleasure. It combines chapters on Italian culture and lifestyle with an emphasis on grammar, and realistic and easy to follow dialogues.
You may even feel like picking it up to have a casual browse at your leisure, and you can't say that about most language textbooks.
As an EFL teacher I wish there were coursebooks of this quality available on the English teaching market.
Highly recommended, I hope this book will make language learning as enjoyable for you as it was for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy to follow and inviting book, 8 May 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italianissimo: Beginners No.1 (Paperback)
I started learning Italian the same way I began Spanish, with the Linguaphone PDQ CD course and then followed on with the BBC's more thorough books and CDs. The BBC's language books are more suited to a UK/New Zealand/etc English speakers, as opposed to North American books. The relaxed "BBC" style is refreshing and unpatronising and avoids the usual "how to ask for directions to the nearest McDonalds" trap of many american books. It also discusses many interesting cultural links between Italy and the UK. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good pack which includes everything for the beginner, 30 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This language package works well as the contents of the cassettes follows the chapters in the book. As well as introducing the basics in speaking and listening to Italian, it also introduces the grammer neccessary to understand all aspects of the language.
At first the speakers on the cassettes seem difficult to understand, but as you re-listen and repeat, they become clearer and you can chart your progress with the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning, 14 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't confuse with the 'core' text of the BBC course, also called 'Italianissimo 1 (beginners)' , author De Rome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good text to start learning Italian to a more challenging level than other books for an English speaker, 29 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good text book to learn Italian and to listen to tapes but it would be great if the BBC version on video couild be put for sale too in order to have a complete learning pack. Overall is a good text and easy to study in a class setting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars unexciting, if useful, 20 Jun. 2011
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is the book I started Italian with - it covers the basics very well, and like most treatments of the basics, is work and not pleasure to get through. I don't know if it is possible to make such a thing fun, but this wasn't much. Nonethelss, it was very useful and I read it several times and took detailed notes and it got my on the way. You can use this alone, without a class if you wish.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars italian 1, 6 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italianissimo: Beginners No.1 (Paperback)
This book is in great condition. Its perfect for my needs which is mainly practice. I wasn't willing to pay for a new copy as I am doing revision, so this is perfect. Lots of exercises which is what I need, so, yes its a great buy.
Italianissimo: Beginners No.1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful but out of date, 30 Jun. 2013
By 
M. K. Johnson (Durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italianissimo: Beginners No.1 (Paperback)
Whilst this book appears to be a standard self learning book, complemented by the BBC CD. this edition is out of date (lire ?). The speech on the CD is very fast and difficult to relate to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ITALIAN REVISION, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Italianissimo: Beginners No.1 (Paperback)
Arrived rapidly; both book and CDs as new better than original tapes!. Value for money excellent. Familiar with BBC course but ideal for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Italianissimo: Beginners No.1
Italianissimo: Beginners No.1 by Denise De Rome (Paperback - 29 Oct. 1992)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews