Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The trip that started Michael Palin's new career
"Around the World in 80 Days" is the book based on the TV travelogue that Michael Palin made for the BBC in 1988. This travelogue was such a success that it started a whole series of TV programs over the following years: "Pole to Pole", "Full Circle", "Hemingway Adventure", "Sahara" and "Himalaya".
The trip was intended to follow the route traveled by Phileas Fogg in...
Published on 9 Jan. 2006 by Rennie Petersen

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars travel
Disapointing as there is just an added updated chapter and nothing different to the original books script and fotos. I was expecting something more.For first timers though this is an excellent account of his travels around the world.
Published on 23 Sept. 2009 by Anthony J. Gleave


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The trip that started Michael Palin's new career, 9 Jan. 2006
By 
Rennie Petersen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Around the World in 80 Days" is the book based on the TV travelogue that Michael Palin made for the BBC in 1988. This travelogue was such a success that it started a whole series of TV programs over the following years: "Pole to Pole", "Full Circle", "Hemingway Adventure", "Sahara" and "Himalaya".
The trip was intended to follow the route traveled by Phileas Fogg in Jules Verne's novel from 1872. The self-imposed rule was that airplane travel was not allowed so only trains, buses, ships and cars could be used. This was problematic for Michael Palin because in 1872 there were many passenger ship lines, while in 1988 there were almost none because of air travel. As a result he had to obtain passage on various cargo and container ships that normally don't accept passengers.
All of Michael Palin's travel books (and DVDs) share the same qualities. Mr. Palin's wit and charm and exuberance are evident, and he has a knack of meeting interesting people and getting involved in amusing situations wherever he goes.
This trip is, however, unlike the others in that there is a pre-defined route involving a lot of sea travel, and a "race against the clock" element because the trip must be completed in 80 days. The time limit provides a bit of excitement, especially when Michael Palin passes through Singapore 10 days behind the fictitious Phileas Fogg.
The large amount of sea travel is a negative aspect because it's limited how many interesting things can be done aboard a container ship, for example. In fact, a significant number of the 80 days are spent on board ships, and it gets rather boring.
Still, there are many interesting experiences reported and photographed from the various cities passed through, as well as the countryside. The cultural differences are amazing and Michael Palin reports on it all in a way that makes you feel like you're there with him.
The pictures are beautiful, even though they were not all taken by Basil Pao, who became Michael Palin's regular stills photographer on all of his later trips.
My only criticism is that I would have liked there to be some maps in the book so I could follow the trip more exactly.
The audio version of this book is read by Michael Palin himself, which is a plus. But beware: There are both abridged and unabridged versions of the audio book.
In summary, a great start for what became a great series of travel books and TV programs.
Rennie Petersen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete box-set of Michael Palin's travels., 2 May 2001
By A Customer
This is the complete set of 3 paperback books from Michael Palin's travels around the world, packaged in a nice slip-case for protection. Having read all three books before (Around the world in 80 days, Pole to pole and Full circle) I wanted to be able to display the books in my bookcase in a nice manner, and protect them. This set is also good value if you are considdering buying all three books.
All favourites on a long journey, this is the set to take with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original and Best, 29 Oct. 2008
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Having read Pole to Pole & Full Circle (as well as watching various bits of his programs courtesy of the history channel!) I thought this particular one would be another case of Mr Palin using a tawdry, overly ambitious idea and not much enjoying the result.

However I was wrong! As this was supposedly his first expedition it has that wonderful virgin territory quality and has all the joy and very little of the occasional malaise of his later trips. The sheer happiness Michael finds in visiting India and China (which he'd never visited before) and his teasing, slightly mocking tone towards Phileas Fogg's own experiences make this book an absolute joy to read.

And the best thing? Because this was written when the author was predominantly a comic actor and not a travel writer, it has a wonderful humour to it that helps the trip seem a breeze.

My one criticism would have to be the latter part of the trip - in America. Although bits of it are fun, one gets the impression the author was out for camera shots at this point and had lost interest in new horizons. However, the train trip is interesting...

Anyhow, as an book for a holiday reading this is one of Palin's best combining both his skills as a comic and as a traveller in perfect balance. Oh and, if you like this, do try A Piano in the Pyrenees or Long Way Round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Palin, 28 Aug. 2009
Michael Palin Books What can i say they are a must have for the travell book lover.
They are funny and they show lifestyle's from all over the world.
Around The World In 80 Days is the first TV journey Palin made and also with the most suspense.
This book that comes with the TV show is beautiful, great pictures and stories
and the book itself is of high quality (paper,binding etc.)

J. van der Heijden
The Netherlands
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 6 Oct. 2001
By 
stephanie greenwood (reading, berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Michael Palin shares his experience of going around the world in 80 days, like the fictional character Philias Fogg, but he explains everything in an easier way. You can understand ever word, as he takes you through his exciting journey you know exactly how he feels & as an ex python there are some funny parts as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Audio book, shame about the American packing, 7 Nov. 2010
By 
FussyMissus (Uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before I witter on about Michael Palin and his adventures, I shall point out that this item is American (check out the dollar sign on the front of the packaging pic) and is NOT a standard size. The CD's are a standard size, but the packaging and box are NOT so do not think you can slot it onto any standard CD stand. It is larger and more unwieldy and sadly cardboard. I am purchasing a jewel case as we speak to rectify this.

That aside, there is nothing else that can fault this product. It has the music from the series, is well narrated by Michael Palin and rather than be a simple spoken diary, it has elements of acting in it as Michael tries to add voices and expressions of the people he has met on his travels.

If you have seen the series, then this ADDS to it as there are things he expands on in the audio book that are not in the series, descriptions, and comments on immodium that are downright hilarious!

Great to listen to in the car or just before bed, this cd is a perfect production all round and despite the silly packaging still gets five stars - it really IS that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous !!!, 20 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
Fabulous - the ideal travel guide for us armchair tourists !! Within the comfort of your own living - room/bedroom or commuting to and from work, you can safely navigate yourself literally around the world !! Mr Palin is the best travelling partner for your journey - guiding you around the complications of world travel & humour abounds,with his humourous annecdotes !! A true "must" for the bookshelf of any traveller/Palin fan !! I'm just off now to book myself a ticket on the next Dhou that leaves port -- fancy a journey Mr P ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still makes great reading, 13 July 2012
I read this book when it was first published, which was in the late 80's and re-visiting it was fun. I have always had a soft spot for Michael Palin and avidly followed all his travel TV programmes (as well as his nutty Monty Python days that came before)
The narrative is written as a day by day diary; there is only a snapshot of each country travelled as he moves with an increasing sense of urgency. Of course, this journey is against the clock.
The descriptions are fun, the people interesting and all observed and commented upon with the author's superbly dry wit.
When I went back to this book after so many years I had remembered it as primarily a picture book with captions so I was surprised (and absorbed) by the longer descriptive passages. It was also interesting to note how much the world has changed since the 1980's and the hugely sad circumstances that led to such differences as a modern world without the existence of Yugoslavia or the Twin Towers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Read, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a keen traveller and reader of anything travel-related, I found this book enjoyable mostly. It offered an insight into travelling perspectives that most, or many, conventional travel stories fail to mention, such as taking a barge along the canal corridors of Venice or on a ship crossing vast oceans. Though I prefer stories that are written in the third person, it kept me entertained, partly because I have always been a Palin fan, mostly because some of the countries he passed through I have visited myself and I was able to paint a clear picture in my head of the places mentioned. All in all, a great travel memoir...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Around the World in 80 Days, 10 Feb. 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is another brilliant account of a Palin journey. It has the usual beautifully reproduced photography and is written with Palin's wonderful sense of description and humour. He visits such varied places and culture on this trip that there is something for everyone in this book. A great piece of travel literature.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Around the World in 80 Days
Around the World in 80 Days by Michael Palin (Hardcover - 26 Oct. 1989)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews