Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
88
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2013
Contrary to the previous review, I can assure you that this (the Latham/Matthews edition) is the unedited, uncensored, complete version. The reason for the confusion is that the Amazon 'Look Inside' feature on this product page is currently taking you to a different, earlier version (Wheatley) which did have passages and words censored which Wheatley thought could not possibly be printed. You can verify this by going to Look Inside and checking the front cover - you will see it is not the Latham/Matthews version.

If you want the complete, uncensored Pepys don't worry, this is the only edition to get - all nine volumes of it (11 with the index and commentary). Highly recommended.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
I have always wanted to read Pepys diary specifically the entries about the plague years and the great fire of London. For these two topics alone this was worth reading. You get a real sense of the fear and emotion of the time. I loved it when Pepys described burying his wine, money and parmesan cheese in the ground to protect it from the fire.

On the down side it's still a diary and not everything is interesting so some bits can be dull from time to time. Overall this is an ideal book for anyone interested in this period and looking at the day to day life in 17th century England.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2005
There could never be a better translation and publication of Pepys' wonderful diary. Lanthem and Matthews have put a lot of time into translating this series.
In the first book there is an introduction of several essays - a short biographical piece and information on the use the diary has for both literature and history, as well as a history of previous publications of the diary. These come in very useful and are also extremly interesting foreground reading before beginning the actual diary itself.
The editors explain how they have translated the diaries and the difficulties and have tried to present the diary how Pepys' would have wanted it. They have tried to make it authentic as possible - only changing bits they absolutely have to and the reader is always informed of such changes.
Pepys is an extremly important part of English history as he was witness to the restoration of the king after the death of Cromwell as well as the plague and the fire of London. His diary is wider then that - it is a record of humanity. It is unique in that it is very honest - a graphic detailed account on a man's life both public and private.
Such history from a first hand account and not regergitated by modern day historians is invaluable for anyone interested in the history during this period.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
Samuel Pepys is a human, funny, moody man who has his ups and downs like the rest of us. His narrative during the plague records his concern about neighbors, and his real sorrow when people he knows succumb to it. He also records his experiences during the great fire of London in 1666 and his first mention of it strikes me as entirely human - he says that his maids wake him as they have heard of the fire and as it is not near his doorstep he simply goes back to bed as he's tired. He has arguments with his wife, and has cast a lusty eye upon the kings mistress for years! He also has, what I call 'mini affairs' where he kisses and fondles women quite regularly, (including his own maids) and seems to have no guilt about this whatsoever. Most mornings he 'drinks' his breakfast and at one point is outraged that his new wig is teeming with nits! An historical and very human read. Makes me realise that after 450 years we are all no different at all
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2012
Of course this classic 1875 text is fabulous, but someone hasn't thought about readability on the kindle, and this kindle edition is made unreadable by the insertion of the original 1875 footnotes in with the text. Very, very bad. My advice - spend a quid and get a better edition.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
My knowledge of history would not get me 1% of a GCSE, so I may not be the best suited to comment, but I find this book absolutely fantastic. Much has changed since his day (e.g. Science and Medicine) but one thing hasn't (human nature).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the version of the Complete Diaries of Samuel Pepys that does not have the annoying notes breaking up the narration. If you want the notes, get this version. Check out the 'Look Inside' options on both versions to see which you prefer.

Unfortunately in this version there are no notes at all, so you will probably also need to buy this in paperback, as it is not available on Kindle.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is another fascinating historical biography that reads more like a novel than a stuffy factual book. Virtually everyone knows the name of Samuel Pepys. Ah yes, he's the man who wrote the diary. This is of course true, but do they actually know anything about the man behind the name of Samuel Pepys. What for instance were his feelings on the politicians of the day. What were his own ambitions and aspirations.

Pepys was a naval administrator and friend and confidant of some of the most famous and powerful people in London . Sex, the plague, music, marital conflict, naval life, public executions and incarcerations in the Tower of London. These are just some of the colourful events in the life of a man famous for his writing of a diary.

The book contains a wealth of interesting material about the life of a man who's name goes before him. Everyone knows his name, but few know of the life of the man himself.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Once you get used to the difference in English - this is an amazing first hand account of 1600s England. The stories are facinating, full of intrigue and the intricacies of daily life in the higher echelons of British society. The main gripe I have relates to how the work is transcribed on kindle - is not possible to move from year to year or month to month in terms of the diary. So although I've had the book for some months now even though I don't read it all the time - I am still only 30% through as I am not able to dip in and out very easily ie.. to specific points in time such as the Great Fire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
Having read the free Kindle edition I find that I have read the sanitised 19th century edit, complete with annoying but sometimes helpful notes about the lineage of persons of quality mentioned in the text and identifying most of the plays that he goes to see. No rumpy-pumpy allowed in the Victorian version!

Now, is there a free Kindle edition of John Evelyn's diaries The Diary of John Evelyn? Every time I read his name I felt ever so curious as to whether Evelyn thought it worth mentioning that he had bumped into Pepys.

Glad to have read it, although beyond the Restoration, the Plague, the Great Fire and the war with the Dutch, and the handy markers in the development of Restoration fashion (of which he is a dedicated follower), the book has much that can only be described as dull and self-serving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)