Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tour de force
Boy was I happy.

I'd read Hereward by James Wilde recently and, while I had a couple of issues with the book, on the whole I'd thoroughly enjoyed it. So now that the sequel (Hereward: The Devil's Army) is out, I was intrigued to see how the story went on and whether the writer's tack or style had changed since the first book.

I read it in four days,...
Published 24 months ago by SJATurney

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes exciting, but not much better
This second volume on Hereward has some limited improvements when compared to the first one, but suffers from very much the same problems. The topic is anything but original - there are four or five other novels out there on Hereward, his rising and his guerrilla warfare against the Normans.

To make a great piece of historical fiction, I tend to believe that an...
Published 23 months ago by JPS


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars books not to miss, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read and roll along action. cant wait to read book three.
Historically I think it is quite accurate and true to those times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting saga continues, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hereward: The Devil's Army (Hereward 2) (Paperback)
I love Mr Wilde's characters as they are really down to earth and realistic. Plenty of fighting interspersed with historical reenactment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise for Hereward, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant. Please see my opinion expressed in the rating of the third sequel.

I hope Wilde will come back with the next unforgettable story soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hereward, the last great English hero, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great read, this book is so exciting. It moves fast and keeps the reader engaged. It really gives an insight as to how tough life could have been in the fens. Can't wait to read the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story and a great read and hard to put down. The next book awaits this true battle of who will win. Recommend this to anyone who loves this history and the old shield wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read., 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hereward: The Devil's Army (Hereward 2) (Paperback)
As with his previous, a very good read. Factual very good as well.
did not take long to rewad, as a not put downable book..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Coleve (Angus,, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes as good as the first and has kept the theme running which I enjoy immensely. Will be looking forward to next read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hereward: The Devil's Army (Hereward 2) (Paperback)
Great book, a very good read, second in the Hereward series. Fully recommend. Look forward to the third out soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hereward: The Devil's Army (Hereward 2) (Paperback)
its a must read for people who want to read about a mythical figure of our history, that very little is known about, but this opens your eyes to what this period of our history is all about and how certain things in history has a bearing on what we do now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Follow Up, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read. Some writers licence is obvious, but nonetheless a good novel. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes historical fiction, a serious contender to Bernard Cornwell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hereward: The Devil's Army (Hereward 2)
Hereward: The Devil's Army (Hereward 2) by James Wilde (Paperback - 20 Jun 2013)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews